Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall - 80TPB

Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overallrated 4.588 stars out of 5 (34 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
10
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2 inch Overall

 

Price: $22.95

Save $15.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric
AZ
Oct 13, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Cold Steel Throwing Knife
Though the knife was bigger than I expected, it is still a very balanced and very well crafted item. It is everything I expected and more.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert Of Wolf Fork (Sca)
Portland, OR
May 15, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great right out of the box.
This is a very well balanced thrower with a great feel. It's flight is consistent sllowing good scoring opertunities. Overall, it is a great throwing knife at a very reasonable price. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cvigil12
Edwards, AFB CA
Jan 31, 2011
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great knife
I've been throwing this knife for a few weeks now and I gotta say I really like it. It is great for both spin and non spin technique. Good weight, and you know Cold Steel's knives hold their edge even from me throwing at hard wood and it lading in gravel (when I miss).
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Geoff
Eugene, OR
Jun 16, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Great for Throwing, Nice for Camping
I bought three of these for throwing. They are hefty, very tough and easy to stick. I think they would make a good camping knife as well. The knives didn't come very sharp, but I'd have to say that they are extremely easy to sharpen. They chop wood well, and if you need to you can get two hands on it for extra power. I'm rating this knife 5 stars. I have one negative thing to say about it, but all the positives (including the price) make me feel this knife is a 5 star value. The negative... the handles don't hold up well, or rather the screws that hold the handle in place don't hold up well. I've taken the handles off and wrapped them in electrician's tape. Works great.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Hawaii
May 10, 2013
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Solid Throwing Knife For Beginners Like Me
The Perfect Balance was my first throwing knife, and I really love it. Compared to my other knives (Ziel II and Gil Hibben Cord Grips), this one is a real monster -- big and heavy. I love that satisfying THUNK when it sticks deep in the target. I actually started out thowing at an old (partially hollow) interior door I got at a recycling place, and this knife would penetrate all the way through the back. Anyway, it's holding up really well. The tip is good, and the handle scales are still nice and tight. I was worried about them breaking off, but so far (a few hundred throws later) there's no damage at all. I actually was hoping that the blade edge would be sharp, but this one is pretty dull. I mean, unlike the Ziel II, at least the Perfect Balance does have an edge, but it's not really that sharp. But I guess I can just sharpen it. That way I could use the knife as a thrower or for anything else. My first stick was 1/2 spin from about 7-8 feet out. It was perfectly level to the ground, so I was thrilled for that being my first stick! Anyways, I definitely recommend this knife for beginners like me, and also for more experienced throwers too.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck Jones
San Antonio, Texas
Apr 23, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Perfect Balance Thrower
I like this knife, however, I think it is a little heavy for me. I am not a strong robust kind of a guy but I am able to stick it in the target at 7 paces. I am a beginner knife thrower and I need a lot of practice to get any kind of accuracy. I like this knife and I think as I build up my throwing arm it will be easier to throw. I did try others recommendations to find the balance point which you have to choke up on the handle to get to, however, I didnt have much luck with that.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank Pettis
Winter Garden FL 34787
Dec 07, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower
The throwing knife is made of superior materials and is of top quality. Will by more.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ninja Dude
BROCKTON MA
Aug 10, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
NOW THATS A KNIFE
GREAT THROWER GOOD BALLENCE POINT AND GOOD PRICE AND PROBABLY GOOD SURVIVAL KNIFE
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard S
Newfields NH
Sep 26, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Cold Steel thrower
Harry McEvoy would be proud of this blade
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
George
Texas
Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good Product
With minimal thrust the knife penetrates 1/2"-1" into a Fresno tree trunk. Fun toy to practice throwing better. Would be nice if there was a leather or kydex sheath to support it.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rich
Oregon City, Oregon.
Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Best thrower in this price range.
The balance and weight are fantastic for throwing. Great sticking range and can double as a kitchen knife in camp. This is my go to knife for competition and has not let me down yet.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
David M
oklahoma
Jun 19, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
I've thrown knives all my life and this knife is by far the best thrower I have. It always sticks with out fail. when my knives hit each other u throwers know what I'm talking about. it will leave tiny nicks if any at all (easy fix) great for chopping too. a must for throwers you will feel like a pro in about an hour. And in blade throwing confidence is a must. add grip tape to handle. paint is tuff as nails
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ninja Dude
brockton MA
Aug 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
awsome
great thrower and good for a survival knife
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeffd
Cleveland, TN
Nov 11, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Great Thrower
This is a great thrower. The length, weight and balance make it easy to watch the knife's flight path on its way to the target. It is easy to see how it hits and to make the necessary adjustments to get a consistent stick in the target. The penetration is great. I like the way the handle scales fill the palm and make the knife feel good in the hand. I would suggest really checking the handle scales and tightening them up prior to first use of this knife. I failed to do this and one of the handle rivets broke off after only a couple of dozen misses against the target. This was during my first try at using this knife; doing this on my other knives prevented any problems with the handle scales. The black matte finish is OK, but it quickly wears off at the tip. The knife is also heavy enough and sharp enough to be used as a general pupose camp knife as well as a specialized thrower.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alexei
EU
Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Impressive creation
I am still perfecting (for a year and a half now) at throwing knives and I bought this to have something of high quality and strength. The design is very simple, which I LOVE, balance is good, handle is sturdy. The power of the strike is immense due to considerable weight of the knife. Downside however is that you do not get a sheath with it and I had to buy that separately.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
John B.
Springfield, MO
Feb 21, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Hit the mark.
Great throwing knife for beginner or expert. Good balance.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ninja Dude
brockton MA
Aug 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
awsome
great thrower and good for a survival knife
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim K.
Windsor CT
Apr 17, 2012
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Throwing Knife
The two knives I purchased turned to be excellent throwers. They can be used with the spin and no-spin technique. I have stopped throwing these at the same target as I kept hitting the first knife thrown. No major damage though, just gouges in handles and nicks in blades, very rugged knives. I plan to purchase another and a sheath this time.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Easythrow
anderson,sc
Feb 27, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
very good thrower
I use a no spin throw and was not sure this knife would work for me. This knife met all my expectations, good balance, well made, it was a bit heavier than I was used to , but from what I am learning, being a beginner thrower, the weight is a good thing. I would recommend this knife to anyone. Wish it came with a sheath.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
N. Graveline
Selkirk, NY
May 28, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Great Thrower!
I've been throwing knives for almost 20 years and in my pursuit of finding the right set of throwers for me, I have even started making them. For years I considered and reconsidered getting some of these. I didn't want to splurge 100 bucks getting as many as I wanted so I made one and loved it. This year for my birthday, I had my girlfriend gift some of these to me and let me tell you, they are great! The length, weight and balance are great. They come with a very decent workable edge on them and the finish protects from corrosion very well as they are after all 1055. Downsides? Sheaths are sold separately and aren't cheap for the type of sheath (ok, but not great ). The handles are made of plastic, not polypropylene or G10, so the very first thing you are going to want to do is to loosen them and apply Super or Gorilla glue before re-tightening them. The weight of this knife is known to shear off the handles upon impact. Unless you want to keep reordering replacement scales from Cold Steel repeatedly. My only gripe with Knifecenter in the ordering process was this: They were listed as in stock so I ordered 3 and paid for 2 day shipping. Apparently, they only had 2 in stock so four days after I placed the order I'm wondering where my knives are. I contacted Knife center by email and the very next day they called to resolve this issue. My options were to have them send me the two knives they had (already 3 days late at this point) within the two days I had paid for and then I would have to pay extra shipping to have the third knife sent to me. Or, wait until they got the third knife in, refund the extra I paid for 2 day shipping and charge me normal shipping rates so I went with that option. The problem was resolved professionally and courteously in a timely manner. However, I only wish they had listed exactly how many they had available on the website to have avoided a snafu on my very first order from them. That being said, I am very happy with the knives and the service.

Knifecenter Note: We apologize for the inconvenience to this customer. We are constantly improving our methods and he should have been called about the availability.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave S.
Harrison,Ohio
Aug 10, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
This is a very high quality product such as I have grown accustomed to receiving from Cold Steel.An excellent value as well.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Snooksniper
FL
May 11, 2010
Pros: Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great thrower
Well balanced with nice heft. The flat spine allows a no-spin technique. The blade coating and edge have held up well, although the coating came off a bit on the tip. After many throws the screws securing the scales loosened a bit, but were easily re-tightened with a pair of flathead screwdrivers. The grind on the edge becomes slightly duller right at the tip. This sacrifice of penetration for durability seems wise. The grind is otherwise flat and well done. The knife sliced paper cleanly out of the box. It would make an excellent chopper or fighting knife in addition to a thrower. Overall I was very pleased.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Stack
Bethlehem, PA
Sep 20, 2010
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material
Great Thrower!
I've been using this knife to develop my throwing style and technique. Out of the box I was impressed with the size and weight when compared to other knives I've purchased recently. This thing is very well balanced and once I found my sweet spot, I stick them nearly every time. The only downside, in my opinion, are the handles. I've broken them off of three knives now. Mostly due to strikes from other knives and probably from some not-so-great throws. Nothing a little tape and ingenuity wouldn't take care of though...
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris R
oregon
Aug 22, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
lives up to it's purpose, then some
Throws like a champ, heavy, good penetration. I use it for emergency home defense, practice for 10- 12 ft, quicker than grabbing a gun, with practice you can really whiz this thing and put it through 1/2 inch ply wood. plastic handle slabs are a little to smooth and slick to be used for stabbing, can switch them out with leather strips without affecting the weight. Great survival tool, put a better edge on it and clear out saplings, can baton with it all day, can't break this thing.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris K.
Lusby, MD
Sep 13, 2011
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
Quickly learn to throw
I'm just learning to throw knives. The Perfect Balance was easy to learn how to throw by the handle. Between 15 to 16 feet seems to be the sweet spot for me to consistently stick. Usually stick 2 out of 3, but after a week can consistently stick all three. The handle screws broke after a week, so I JB welded and copper riveted them to the knife. No problems with the handles now.Great product for the money.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Pjm
Ithaca ,New York
Apr 12, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material
good value
Great knife for the money. Unlike most throwers. this blade comes very sharp. Would make a good camp knife. Only negative is the handle scales and the screws that hold them on are on the cheap side and don't hold up to repeated throwing.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Herry H P
Indonesia
Aug 15, 2012
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Use for no spin style throwing
No spin style requires a little bit weight to the handle side so I use some kind of counter weight on the handle side, may be I will change the handle with hard wood. The result is amazing compared to other knifes.Good material of steel withstand impact hitting cement wall [unintentionally]. other knifes are floater very dangerous for close range because it bounce back.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Andrew
Socorro, NM
Mar 08, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Great throwing/utility knife
This is a great knife for single spin and double spin throwing. They throw very consistently, are well balanced, and stick hard. The handles on the ones I have thrown are comfortable and have survived repeatedly landing on the rocky new Mexican ground. I am going to break away from the mold here and say I do not like the edge sharpness. It is much too sharp to be thrown by the blade for half spin, as the gash on my finger can tell you. If you are looking for a dedicated all around throwing knife go for something duller. If you are looking for a throwing knife with utility uses this is your knife. The edge it has has also held up surprisingly well.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
NJ
Apr 01, 2013
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material
Not Bad
Not bad overall. The handle broke off the first day (which I kind of expected), but works well as a thrower
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
El Gordo
Bertram, TX
Apr 15, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Hefty and substantial knife!
I had intended to get the Tru-Bal Bowie-Axe, which is the pattern for this knife. I was elated to see that Cold Steel brought out their just-as-tough but considerably cheaper model. Also, I was happy to receive one in black matte, as opposed to shiny steel. I may even throw it!
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Two Elk
Santa Clara, CA
Sep 16, 2010
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material
Classic Throwing Knife
Knife is a copy of the classic Tru-Bal throwing knife. Well balanced and came with a razor sharp edge. Can't beat the value. I will replace the plastic grips with leather to be leagal for Muzzleloading knife throwing.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eric Mueller
Cherry Valley, Ma
Jun 24, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
A sweet knife
This is a great knife. Came very sharp out of the box. Excellent balance and weight.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 3 stars out of 5
Frank
Michigan
Jul 19, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good blade. Poor handle
Great knife made of strong, durable material. I like the weight, feel, and traditional design. However, the composite handle and pins broke off in under 20 throws. Obviously the knife portion is the most important, but the overall product loses integrity when any part of it is poorly made. I would recommend buying something else as there are many other good options on this site that will remain intact.
Cold Steel Perfect Balance Thrower Throwing Knife 13-1/2" Overall
rated 3 stars out of 5
This Guy
US of A
Aug 27, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Material
semi disappointed
I was looking forward to this knife, thinking it would be a quality one that would last for a while. Within the first hour or so of throwing it, the blade began to chip. It's a good thrower, if anything it improved my skills with my lighter knives but I'm disappointed in the quality of steel, especially after all the hype I've heard over Cold Steel. I'll probably move onto another brand, maybe KABAR if they make throwers.