Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath

KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath rated 4.600 stars out of 5 (30 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath

 

Price: $117.95

Save $39.69 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
traversecity
Jun 08, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
tough as nails
this knife will stand up to anything great finish, great edge, a great knife for the bush
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
George
Boise, ID
Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great Tool!!
This knife is great for processing wood in the wild. You will only break this knife is if you are trying to break it!! The handle bolts get loose with time, but lock tight will fix it. I wraped my handle with athletic tape and then stretched a piece of bicycle inertube around it.....Works Awesome!! 1095 is the steel you want for survival.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pizzapaiute
agoura hills ca
Jan 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
nice blade
chopping branches in the field. good size and heft for intended purpose steep angle on grind
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brent A
United States
Jun 02, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
beast of a knife
Ive had my bk 9 for almost a year and i rarely have to sharpen the blade .the blade holds a razor edge its a beast of a knife it balanced good over all the other big knifes on the market id go with this 1 i highly doubt that this knife would break on you it is very solid my only complaint is the sheath its a let down for such a good knife
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard
Argentina
Sep 06, 2016
Pros:
Cons:
one big knife
I bought the BK9 for a gift but after seeing it I may buy one for myself. I have been using a BK2 that is much smaller but almost as heavy. I really like the positive grip of these knives but as others have said the handle scales are a little slippery. I don't think this is a problem with the double hooked handle. Scabbard of the BK9 is very nice. It has a velcro closure on the loop to allow fixing to a belt without taking the belt off. The stone pouch on the front would hold a small diamond hone. I found another plastic sleeve behind the stone pouch that looks like it would hold a very small skeletonized knife but could not find information on what fits. Becker doesn't provide any instructions.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Infinity Blade Dancer
Seattle, WA
Sep 27, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Rambo might be jealous
Wow, perfect tool/blade. Heavy where it counts but easily slices and dices. Sharp as a mofo. Have fun, worth all the money.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Co_Fisherman
Southwest, CO
Nov 03, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Survival Ready!!!
This is a big knife suitable only for those trained or experienced in the use of such a tool. This is a great chopper as long as the handle is prepped a bit to make it easier to hang on to. More likely to fit a large hand, stays sharp under hard use and easy to resharpen, this knife is a great tool to add to your survival gear. As usual, the Knife Center offers a great product at a really great price.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
7.62Perfect
ohio
Sep 16, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
godd value
very good all around knife
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Twinstick
Western NY State
Jun 23, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
I own a boatload of knives & this is one of my favorites. You can not go wrong here. It chops WAYYY better than you think & can handle batoning with ease. Scary sharp in less than 10 min. Will shave after batoning. The lightest big knife with machete performance. Simply AWESOME !!! Ethan Becker KNOWS what he is doing !!! Sheath is imported & knife WILL fall out if unsnapped & tilted-be carefull. I had a custom sheath made & makes me like it even more.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ringer459
Big Bear CIty, California
Jun 24, 2011
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight
Tyrannosaurus Rex
Six inch trees? No problem at all, want to go straight through the earth to China, this will do it. Cut shrubs - you bet!! But be sure wear wear suspenders, or your pants will be down around your ankles while you are doing whatever. A Sere belt will help, but the combined weight will not only have your pants down, but you on your knees for the sheer weight of the two. The only negative with respect to this magnificent knife, is the size of the sheath. Were it trimmed to be more compact, this knife would provide you with the best of both worlds. Utility and tactical tool. I'm happy to own this little beauty and I do use it. But not backpacking, the weight is too much for long distance via foot. I take a kukri when I have too go long distance since it outdistances the blade length on this one. Worthwhile owning without a doubt whatsoever!!
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Otávio F
Belém- Pará- Brasil
Apr 21, 2013
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Grata surpresa
Ja conhecia a qualidade dos produtos KA-BAR, tenho a muitos anos uma D2 e mais recentemente uma BK2 e BK11, portanto já esperava excelentes produtos. Minha surpresa ocorreu quando notei que a Ka-bar havia mudado o acabamento da lâmina. Ela vem com acabamento granulado e com gravação do fabricante e modelo de uma forma que aumenta a robustez da faca. Parabéns KA BAR, coseguiram o quase impossível, melhorar um produto de excelente qualidade. Already knew the product quality KA-BAR, have many years one D2 and more recently BK11 and BK2 therefore now expect excellent products. My surprise came when I noticed that the Ka-bar had changed the finish of the blade. It has been finished granulate and recording the manufacturer and model in a manner that increases the strength of the knife. Congratulations KA BAR, coseguiram almost impossible to improve a product of excellent quality.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Weymouth MA
Jan 06, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Tough cookie
This blade is a tough one. I have chopped several trees with it and never once showed signs of becomming dull. I skip the hatchet and go for this blade. The overall weight and handle design is great for long term use. Rounded handle scales never left me with blisters or pain points. Just be cautious with thick gloves. Maybe set up a lanyard to avoid it firing out of your hand. Sheath is fine, could be a little more rugged but it is straight to the point. I have nothing to complain about with this knife.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wayne Smith
Midwest
Jul 02, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
great value
The day it came in, I took it out back and chopped through a five inch piece of a downed tree... and then it still silently went through newsprint and shaved hair off my arm. Great knife... great price. It was a father's day present and it's one of my all time favorite gifts.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ak
Kansas
May 02, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
One tough mother....
This blade is a beast. I dont know what i was thinking when i ordered it cuz it was much bigger than i anticipated but once it was in my hands it was over. Hacking. Chopping. Slicing.Prying. It is a great camping/outdoors tool. The balance is so well distributed i even use it for mid range throwing. Extremely durable. I have beat the heck out of it almost every day this past month and it's still going strong other than it could be resharpened but thats expected with as much wear and tear I have put on it, although it's sharp enough to shave with out of the box. Excellint buy.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Filimon
Beluran, Sabah, Malaysia.
May 28, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
grear design for camping
this knife very suitable for camping or any outdoor activities. It not so heavy and the handle is comfortable in my hand grip. thanks to the kabars company for this great design of knife.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael R
Scotland
Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Outstanding service at every stage of my purchase. Outstanding quality.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ram S
Texas
Jan 07, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Good bargain -- Highly recommended
Good knife for the outdoor. Well built. Great value for your money.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anthony
UK
Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
That's not a knife.....Thats a knife,
I'm a fussy guy when it comes too knives, But after seeing Chris Tanner's "Preparedmind101" youtube channel, and how he raves on about "Becky" (his BK9) I got curious and checked out the knifes stats, seemed solid enough so took a shot and purchased the knife from here, Its a big knife, (almost a short sword LOL) Wa? combat knife.....maybe if you were going to take on a T Rex....who was driving a tank... Anywhoo..the length and weight of the blade make it a solid light chopper (I would have preferred a thicker blade, and the extra weight would have made it a better chopper, but I understand the weight concerns of long term/distance carry) One of the advantages of buying a popular and modular knife (its very easy to strip down in too its basic parts) is that there are a lot of customizable options on the interwebs for people, so should your scales or sheath not be your "cup o tea", then you have the option to remedy your concerns, nice, I was impressed enough by this blades quality and value for money I went on to buy a further three models of KA-BAR BK's Cheers Chris,
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adrian G
Elko, Nv
Aug 01, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Good knife for the price feels great on my hand has a good weight to it overall Amazing knife extremely impressed i will definitely keep buying at knifecenter
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alejandro Ponce De Leon
Sango Tennessee
Sep 05, 2017
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Four trip to Afghanistan combat bowie
The product came in handy when chopping wood for kindling. The blade is thick and heavy allowing for a controlled swing. The sheath handled various torture test in the field. Survived!. Many thanks to this maker.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lawrence A. Kurfiss
WA
Dec 13, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
When You Need a BEEEEG Knife...
Having bought and used and LOVED the Becker "Campanion" shorter "camp" knife, I was surprised at how light and nimble this big blade feels in the hand. It is a thinner, longer blade, with the balance point positioned near the high point of the upper edge gimping. It would do equally as well at chopping onions or branches from trees. The sheath is nice and light. The knife has a similar feel to the Ka-bar 1277 Large Bowie, another great blade in the wonderful Ka-bar lineup. In both cases, it's great to have all that chopping power in what is still a fairly lightweight knife. Five Stars Plus!
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff S
NWCT
Nov 04, 2019
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Long term "test"....
I've had my BK-9 for almost 20 years now; it was built by Camillus. I have abused this tool in all manner of ways. Carpentry demo, it's been used as a chisel, a pry bar, and a hammer. It's built shelters, fires, and laughs off the dreaded batoning. I'm writing this review today because I had a semi frozen turkey that wasn't playing nice with our kitchen cutlery yesterday. The BK-9 settled the argument. Still using the original sheath too. If you're in the market for a BFK that won't ever let you down, look no further
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rita Shearer
Indiana
Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
KA-Bar BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9"
This was purchased for a Christmas gift for my son.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Disduster
central pa
Jul 29, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
best buy
recently picked up a bk9, i have been a fan of the becker line for a few years now, great knives. i feel for a large knife suitible for many tasks the bk9 is well worth it's price and more. fantastic knife and a excellent value in a production factory blade. pick one up today.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steve B.
Ontario, Canada
Jul 03, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
This is the knife your looking for!
Purchased the BK9 on Wednesday and it arrived that Friday, very fast shipping. After holding this in my hand I cannot see how anyone could dislike such a badass knife. It is light, comfortable and sharp right out of the box, and not to mention GIGANTIC!!! Only downside is the sheath that it came with. After putting the knife in and out of the sheath a few times the stitching on one of the velcro straps that holds the handle came loose. For that I give this buy an overall 4 but the knife is definitely a 5/5.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ryan
British Columbia
Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
5/5 Blade, 3/5 Sheath.
This knife is a very well rounded knife for what i use it for. Great for processing wood, chopping, whittling, etc. Very light for the size which is a big plus IMO. Amazing camp knife! The sheath could've been made better. Love the carrying options but the quality is a bit poor. I had mine for a week of very light use and the velcro on the retaining straps that hold it away from the edge came right undone. So i cut the straps right off and put some shock cord through the top lanyard holes to hold the handle tight. Much better. So yeah, Blade gets a 5/5, but the sheath gets a 3/5. Worth the buy regardless. Amazing knife!
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
David
Borger, Tx
May 13, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material
Great knife, cheap sheath.
I would give this knife 5 stars, however, much like many knives today, the sheath is cheap, with very little thought put into it's creation. I am looking for a replacement, or I will make a new one myself. Can't complain about the knife. It will definitely work for what is was made for, and for whatever else one could think to use it for. This is my second, my first went to my son after some modifications. First modification, have the rough finish bead blasted off. It is too rough for any type of smooth cutting. Second modification, replace the scales with Micarta. The scales sold by Knife Center are a great replacement. After that, the knife is just about perfect for a large work horse.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Philip E
Texas
Feb 11, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
An excellent tool
The Becker 9 is really an excellent knife. The blade will do all of those things that they tell you never to do with a knife. Chop, pry, hammer, whatever. I've had mine for six months and only lately needed to sharpen it. Hard to beat carbon steel. It is always razor sharp and honing was a matter of a few strokes on the silicon carbide and then a few on the hard Japanese water stone. I cut a willow sapling with five or six strokes. The cons are minor. For my hand, the handle could be a little meatier and a guard would make this knife perfect. This knife was worth every penny I paid and outperforms some more expensive products.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Retired Logistician
Cleveland, OH
Aug 31, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Finish
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Poor value for the $
After reading the great reviews, I had to have one. I was disappointed this thing made it past the QC and into my hands particularly in view of the many quality Ka-Bars I've owned. The blade was bowed noticeably to the left and the tip, where the false edge meets the cutting edge, was properly finished on the left side but not on the right. It looked like the tip was bent to the right because insufficient metal was removed. Maybe mine was made when the QC was on coffee break because the mini-blade was bent as well. Save your cash on this bog standard product and get yourself a proper Bowie from Case or the Marine Raider Bowie from Ontario - both are properly finished and arrow-straight. Before the punters start in about returning it, I must admit that my temper was on the short side today. The blade no longer exists in one piece.
KA-BAR BK9 Becker Fixed Combat Bowie Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Zytel Handles, Nylon Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
John Japan
Japan
Jun 13, 2009
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Overall Quality, None
A big delight at first and big disappointment afterward
This is thinner than Ka-Bar large heavy Bowie knife. The weight is almost same and has extra pocket and small stainless knife in the sheath. I thought this was ideal in outdoor activities. But a pin which connects handle with blade was lost in woods and the the knife starts to make clattery sounds when using. Yes, this is full tang and thought to be tough knife. But quality is very poor, I hate to say.