Reviews and Ratings for Mantis TA-2 Seymour Fixed 3" Skinner Blade, Tire Rubber Handles - TA2

Mantis TA-2 Seymour Fixed 3" Skinner Blade, Tire Rubber Handlesrated 4.778 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Mantis TA-2 Seymour Fixed 3 inch Skinner Blade, Tire Rubber Handles

 

Price: $23.95

Save $16.05 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Mantis TA-2 Seymour Fixed 3" Skinner Blade, Tire Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gabor L
Szekesfehervar, Hungary
Nov 28, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Pretty
Great shape, good grip, thick blade, well wrought material. It can fall out of the case.
Mantis TA-2 Seymour Fixed 3" Skinner Blade, Tire Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tyler C.
Saginaw, Mi
Jun 05, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Fantastic EDC Knife
I have carried this knife basically everyday for the past year and its has performed flawlessly. It came sharp out of box, with a well honed utility edge(not shaving sharp but close). The grip has lasted and has proven to be extremely durable, and even though the sheath has broken in a bit there's still no problem with blade retention. Usually I'm a bit of a steel bigot and I don't normally like companies that use any 420-440b series steels, but Mantis is a company that gets it right and knows how to properly heat treat their blades......for the price you cant beat the value!
Mantis TA-2 Seymour Fixed 3" Skinner Blade, Tire Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jm_Snell
Cleveland, OH (Kabul, Afghansitan)
Dec 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Average fixed blade with Tactical applications
There aren't very many amazing points to this knife, but it doesn't really have any faults either. The blade size is a good alternative to your average tactical KA-BAR. The handle's size, though larger in comparison to a smaller blade, fits comfortably in your hand with room for muiltiple grip positions and mobility, while staying in place with it's no slip grip. It's full tang construction offers dependability and strength. The sheath, though a little on the cosmetic side, offers versatile placement options. The clip on this sheath is very strong and can be secured in a variety of locations without worry of hindering the release of the knife when it is needed, so quick access is a plus as well. The sheath's tactical design also allows for easy placement on armor or otherwise using paracord or zip ties. While I can't say there is really anything extraordinary about this knife, I can't seem to find a single notable fault. Dependable, effective and highly recommended. It can do jobs with it's smaller, more controlled blade that an otherwise larger blade would have a hard time with, and it's nonreflective finish makes it easily concealable when stealth is required.
Mantis TA-2 Seymour Fixed 3" Skinner Blade, Tire Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris R
O
Aug 22, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
nice grip
EDC, LIGHT GREAT GRIP, ONE SOLID PIECE, DECENT SHEATH, FAIRLY TIGHT, REVERSIBLE CLIP/ WITH MULTIBLE CARRY OPTIONS, GREAT FOR SELF DEFENSE, SURVIVAL, HUNTING/SKINNING. GOES ANYWHERE. RECURVE BLADES CAN BE A PAIN TO SHARPEN, FOR THE PRICE, I STOLE THIS THING. I COLLECT KNIVES AND MAKE CUSTOM BLADES FOR MY SELF AND OTHERS, I'VE BEEN AROUND A LOT OF BLADES, NO BRAGGING JUST A TRUSTED SOURCE.
Mantis TA-2 Seymour Fixed 3" Skinner Blade, Tire Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Natural-Outlaw
Northern WI
Oct 10, 2012
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Good Knife, Good EDC
This knife has become an EDC for me along with a sodbuster type folder. Does everything I ask of it. I do not understand the 420-440 steel reference from another buyer; it is Japanese 8AUS steel. A good knife steel.
Mantis TA-2 Seymour Fixed 3" Skinner Blade, Tire Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rick H.
North Florida
Aug 29, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Compact and Sharp
The feel of this knife is exceptional. It has a real cool factor to it and is really hard to beat for the price. The sheath fits the knife well and makes it easy to carry. This knife is light and compact yet sbustantial. I give it a true thumbs up!
Mantis TA-2 Seymour Fixed 3" Skinner Blade, Tire Rubber Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peterbuilt
otr
Aug 01, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great Backup Knife & Priced Right
Picked up this knife at SMKW(smokey mtn.knife wrks)because i liked the looks,and $.and i needed(wanted) a backup to my Esee 6.i was gonna get an Esee 3,but didnt want to pay $100.I'm certantly glad i got the mantis instead,saved myself well over $50,and this little knife is excellent for a backup.I do chores i dont want to put my Esee thru.If i accidentally messed this one up,no big deal,though if you take reasonable care of this knife your fine,will last decades.sharp,compact,great feel,resharpens good(Recurved blades can be awkward at first).but at this price,buy it,u wont b disappointed
Mantis TA-2 Seymour Fixed 3" Skinner Blade, Tire Rubber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sean B
Cleburne, Tx
Aug 24, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Finish
Cons: None
Second Kind of Cool
This is my first Mantis knife and I'm impressed with the quality. This knife feels good in the hands and I really like the feel of the rubber grips. Definitely the most eccentric knife in my collection.
Mantis TA-2 Seymour Fixed 3" Skinner Blade, Tire Rubber Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cheezburglar
NC
Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good all around
I'm very impressed with the quality per cost ratio with this knife. Edge: Came with a sharp edge ready to use (no changes to the bevel needed). Ergo: Carried through the woods working on putting up a deer stand and the edges are a little sharp on the handle for non gloved hands (bull nose on the metal sticking out would work nice, future mod) Sheathe: For a plastic sheathe it's alright. Clip is coming loose after probably 2-3 weeks use; after tightening the bolts, it seems to be fine. Would be nice to cost maybe $5 more to get a cooler one to be honest. The lock of the sheathe is adequate. Haven't had any issues but it could get looser over time. Durability: Haven't used enough to really tell. Keeping in mind I got it on sale for mid twenties I've been impressed this far. The rubber handles make it easy to clean All in all, great quality for under 30 dollars. I've got a Benchmade DejaVu 4" and the edge is nowhere near to the benchmade, but that AUS-8 is some pretty awesome metal. Cold Steel uses the same. I would buy as a workhorse and have my other one as my main knife