Reviews and Ratings for Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)

Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)rated 4.742 stars out of 5 (31 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
26
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10 inch High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)

 

Price: $17.95

Save $9.00 (33%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
James H.
Corus Christi, Tx
Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Durability, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sharpness
KCREVIEW
Great butcher knife. Really like the size and shape of this knife. It was sharp but not as sharp as I keep my knives. This knife should last a lifetime. Wash and dry immediately and best store with a light coat of oil or cooking spray.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
David D
S Mississippi
Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Great Knife!
Plan to use this knife around the BBQ. The design and construction are ideal for my needs. Thank you Knife Center for offering a great product at a great price.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
K. S.
New York
Mar 12, 2012
Pros: Design, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Construction, Sharpness, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: Material Quality, None
Old Hickory 10" High Carbon Steel
Feels great in the hand and the hickory wood is really nice. Can be used to chop veggies and slice meat. Even though carbon steel sharpens easily, it rusts, therefore oil after washing with a light swipe of oil on a paper napkin and put it away for the next use.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fanduco
PR
Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Construction, Durability, Overall Quality, Sharpenability, Design, None
Cons: Sharpness
Great Knife BBQ Pit Boys Style
Fast service and delivery. Knife needs to be sharpened & oiled after usage. I've utilized the knife for almost everything that needs to be cut for the grill very handy indeed.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Washington DC
Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Sharpness
Cons: None
As advertised!
Bought this knife for preparing ribs and you wont be disappointed. Extremely sharp, excellent grip and long enough to handle any job!
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ellis
Salyersville, Kentucky
May 23, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Awesome service
I just begun my journey into the art of low and slow BBQ and my friends the BBQ Pit Boys recommended the website and the knife and cleaver.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chester G
Lakewood, Nj
Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Excellent working knife.
I purchased this 10" knife after watching it in use on BBQ Pit Boys. I sharpened it when it arrived and was able to cut very thin slices of tomatos, onions,and pork roast with it. I even gently stirred things around in a cast iron skillet on the grill and it retained its sharpness. This is a Carbon Steel (not stainless steel) knife and must be properly cared for as such. Wipe it dry when done and put a light coat of oil on the blade for storage or it will show rust spots, which will be your fault not the knifes. This is a lifetime knife you can pass on to your children. I am considering purchasing the 7" knife also. You can't go wrong with this BBQ / Kitchen tool.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck H
CHESAPEAKE, VA. 23320
Aug 04, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
I LOVE THIS KNIFE I USE IT FOR BBQ GRILL PERFECT FOR ALL KINDS OF THINGS LIKE CHICKEN WINGS, CUTTIN UP ONIONS AND SIDES FOR BURGERS, I USE IT FOR MY STEAKS AND I AM TOTALLY A SATISFIED CUSTOMER WOULD RECOMEND THIS KNIFE TO ALL PEOPLE WHO LIKE TO COOK OUTSIDE ON CUTTING BOARDS WHILE BBQING, EXCELLENT HANDLE, STURDY CAN CUT UP PORK BUTTS IT'S A MUST HAVE.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jake
Norfolk
Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Solid knife
This is the last bbq's knife you will ever have to buy.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jd
East Tennesse
Aug 03, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Material Quality
Cons: None
Lot of Knife for the Price
The blade on this knife is 1095 carbon steel. It doesn't come very sharp but after sharpening about 30 minutes on a stone, it was sharp enough to cleanly cut a tomato. Because it is carbon steel, not stainless steel, it needs to be cleaned and dried after every use to avoid rust and discoloration. So it is relatively high maintenance compared to most stainless steel knives.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joel Ad.
Colchester, Essex, UK
Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Construction, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Superb knife, great value.
Very sharp, excellent value for money even shipped to the UK. Highly recommended for anyone cutting meat!
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Clinton, MD
May 06, 2014
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
This knife ROCKS!!!
I bought this knife because I saw it on the BBQ Pit Boy's videos. It just looks like a BBQ Pitmasters knife!!! Knife does not come very sharp, however it is very easy to get a nice edge in not time. I find myself coming up with excuses to take this knife out and use it. I bought the 14" one as well. Both excellent products
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
John B
Valley Center, CA
Oct 20, 2011
Pros: Sharpenability, Durability, Sharpness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great old school type Butcher Knife
Great for butchering, I butcher wild game with it.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthijs
Netherlands
Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Material Quality, Construction, Sharpness, Design
Cons: None
Very good knife
Good sice for big meat
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Keith
San Antonio, TX
Nov 29, 2012
Pros: Construction, Durability, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Old Hickory 10" Butcher Knife
Great basic knife with big blade. Does what a knife is suppose to do with no extra frills. As others have said, it is not as sharp as most people like but a short amount of time with a good sharpening stone will get it there.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alan V
Powder Springs, GaPowder Springs, Ga
Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Durability, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Design
Cons: Sharpness, None
great knife
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
Philadelphia
Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Construction, Sharpenability, Design
Cons: None
Good knife - Great pruce
So far so good. Been looking for a nice butcher knife and I found this - and KnifeCenter - doing a search. This is a serious knife, pretty big and requires attention and care. It needs to be oiled after use and cleaning otherwise you will get rust spots The good - nice looking knife, great price, fast shipping. Pretty much a no frills knife but for this that is exactly what I wanted. So far it performs exactly as I expected. The not good - well nothing really but you should be aware it does need a good professional sharpening right out of the box. It is Carbon steel (also not bad) which means it needs care. Overall - a serious knife at a great price for serious cooks.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alan V
Georgia
Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Love it! Order the whole set!
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeremy
Hillsboro
Jul 09, 2016
Pros: Construction, Durability, Overall Quality, Material Quality, Design, None
Cons: Sharpness
Old Hickory Butcher Knife
The feature that I like the most is it is made of high carbon steel which is what I prefer. The Design and quality of the knife is exceptional. The only con is that I would have liked it to have a decent edge on it.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard
Texas
Jun 24, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
Great product
This is a great knife easy to handle and always sharp and ready use it is very durable I use it everyday
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
K. K
Newport News, VA
Jun 29, 2012
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpness, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Great Knife!
When you need to prepare several racks of pork ribs this knife is great! Trims well and can slice through bones and cartilage with ease for shaping those. A must have pit masters knife!
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Inquel G
ROCHETREJOUX FRANCE
Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Material Quality, Design, Sharpness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10"
What a great knife!I use it for BBQ cooking.It has a good grip for chopping and dicing all i need to cook.The shipping has been fast.Dealer with good communication.Hope to deal again.Why not a 7" one for christmas.GreatsThanks from France.Merci!
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Miro S
Karlovac,
Aug 10, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None
That is what I need
I love this product!
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Grizzly
Canada
Mar 15, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Great knife
I'm a big man that loves to cook big meat, this is perfect.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
S.E. Felaye
Kemah, Texas
Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Construction, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Fantastic Knife
Best damn knife for a decent respectable price, and will last two lifetimes plus. Great quality 1095 carbon steel blade that serves well when taken care of properly.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Texasdvm
Central Texas
Mar 18, 2019
Pros: Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Sharpness, Material Quality
Cons: None
Dream Knife
My favorite butcher knife disappeared a while back (We do a lot of cooking with our church, family, friends). It was an ugly thing, with, a stained high-carbon blade and great feel and balance. It sharpened like a dream. Then came a time of celebrity knives: they have to be shiny but they don't sharpen well and I could not find a knife I liked. I recently took a wild pig butchery class and I noticed the Old Hickory Butcher Knife that the class leader was using. Problem Solved! These are great, Old Timey Knives that are ugly, but get the job done!
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
The Netherlands
Dec 28, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Serious knife.
I ordered this big knife together with the huge 14 inch butcher knife. It came in today to The Netherlands. I really love these knives. Old Hickory knives are more basic then the German Robert Herder knives. Further, they are comparable with Robert Herder. The difference is the price. Old Hickory is just one tenth of the price from Herder knives. The shipping fee to Holland was more expensive then the two knives together. It doesn't mather, still cheap for these beauties. They came in sharp. I finished them razor sharp on wet stones. Thanks Knife Center for the quick delivery.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Warren
Miami, FL
Jun 11, 2015
Pros: Design, Sharpenability, Construction
Cons: Material Quality, None
Good knife for the money
Good knife, use it in the kitchen for slicing meat, knife is heavy duty with a good edge, WARNING this knife will discolor and rust, I wish I knew this, the knife requires immediate washing drying and oiling and it came with no warning or instructions for the care of the knife, so my knife discolored now doesn't have a great finish and I'm going to have to take it to be refinished now
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bob
Colorado
Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Durability, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sharpness
Just what I needed.
I was looking for a good butcher knife to portion the bulk meats I buy. I ordered this knife based on the company reputation and these guys had it in my hand in less than a week. The knife has the proper blade length, shape and weight for my use, good old style design. I was a little disappointed in the amount of sharpening I had to do before it was good to use but the carbon steel blade really takes and holds an edge.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 3 stars out of 5
David
Sacramento, CA
Oct 08, 2015
Pros: Design, Overall Quality, Construction
Cons: Sharpness, None
A Great Bush Knife Could Have Been
I intended to use this knife as a Bush knife, Camping, Survival, etc.--not that I would find myself in any of the pressing situation any time soon. I often find myself living vicariously with other adventurers via watching their YouTube uploads. Even then, I expect the knife arrive, ready to use. It did not. The blade was unfinished. Actually, someone polished the blade, even though it could not cut a piece of paper without tearing it up. It is annoying, when you have to redo the sharpening work on a "cheap" blade. Old Hickory line is famous for being a great knife for a great price. This knife, and two other knives I bought, a 14 incher and a skinner, only confirm the adage, "You get what you pay for." Too bad, the knife is constructed in 1095 steel, and is sturdy. Form is great, but function failed.
Old Hickory Butcher Knife 10" High Carbon Steel Blade (7111)
rated 2 stars out of 5
Clayton J
B.C. canada
Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Sharpenability, Sharpness, Design, None
Cons: Material Quality, Overall Quality, Construction, Durability
Not what expected
I use it to cut meat for jerky and after one small roast it needs sharpening. It does sharpen easy. It should stay sharp with simple use.