Reviews and Ratings for Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles - 7065

Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handlesrated 3.500 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
3.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
4
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4 inch Blade, Hickory Handles

 

Price: $9.95

View Product Details
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chet G
New Jersey
Apr 05, 2015
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Stupid can't be fixed
This knife is carbon steel NOT stainless steel and if you do not dry and oil it after use it will rust. The knives are high quality, sharpen to razor sharpness. Great for Bar B Que, cutting veggies, meat, bread etc. If you want to throw one away throw it to me. Why do ignorant people leave negative comments about a great product.
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hank
FRED. MD.
Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
CARBON STEEL IS GOOD STEEL
TO ALL THE PEOPLE LEAVING NEGATIVE COMMENTS ABOUT OLD HICKORY KNIVES YOU MUST BE TOLD THAT THESE KNIVES ARE NOT STAINLES STEEL,THEY ARE CARBON STEEL, THEY WILL RUST IF LEFT WET,BUT THAT DOES NOT MEAN THE STEEL IS BAD, CARBON STEEL JUST NEEDS TO BE KEPT DRY AND OILED, IF YOU DO THAT THEY WILL LAST A LIFETIME AND HOLD A RAZOR EDGE.
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Me
VA
Jul 14, 2009
Pros: Sharpenability, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Good for the price
This is an inexpensive knife made 'the old way". It works well and is really well worth the cost- which is minimal. You can still find old knives made this very same way and they work fine decades later. It's all American made and reasonably priced. Those looking for slick knives at this price will get Chinese made with steel that is so variable that it may be OK but may be real junk. These are consistent carbon steel that is easily sharpened - but it will rust.
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew
Texas
Jun 28, 2010
Pros: Construction, Durability, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality
Cons: None
old hickory knives
I own 2 Old hickory 12in Butcher knives a 7in butcher and a few of their smaller blades. in response to the to negative reviews for this product: This knife is made of high carbon steel, it will rust if you don't take care of it. These knives come pretty dull but they take an edge quicker than just about anything out there, again high carbon steel. With proper maintenance they will hold a razor edge. If you a no nonsense working blade this is an excellent option and a price you cant beat.
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hercules
MA
Aug 25, 2018
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Durability, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sharpness
Good Carbon Steel Blade
To address the issue of uninformed complainers, this is CARBON STEEL, not Stainless Steel. IT WILL RUST. It is also the steel used for straight razors and will take a extremely sharp edge and hold it. That is why I bought it. I treat the handle in a mix of 25% Turpentine, 75% Boiled Linseed oil. Put it handle first in a tomato paste can, add mix to just cover the wood, close with saran wrap & wait 4 days. Remove, let dry for 4 days and you are in business for many a year. Pointy 1/3 was very sharp, rest was dull & needed sharpening.
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wolfgang W.
Wisconsin
Oct 11, 2010
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
great, cheap knife
It's carbon steel people, plain and pure. It'll sharpen better and quicker than almost all stainless blades and it'll take on a patina. But remember if it rusts it's your fault not the blades. This is made by the parent company of Queen Cutlery, and they do not make junk!
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam
Northern Virginia
Dec 08, 2013
Pros: Sharpenability, Sharpness, Durability
Cons: Material Quality, None
Great knife for the money
Just today I found my 4" Old Hickory knife in the back of a kitchen drawer. It was still sharp and a little rusty. I used my Work Sharp belt sander sharpener to sand the wood handle which has been replaced twice now over a thirty year period. Then I used the sharpener to sand the rust off the blade and then sharpen it to scary sharpness. This blade has always amazed me how sharp it gets. In fact I have some bad memories of cutting myself with this knife because it is always sharper than my other knives. Now that I have VG 10 steel in most of my kitchen knives they should be equivalent to the Old Hickory. If you don't mind taking care of your knives and not washing them in the dishwasher, Old Hickory knives are an excellent low cost choice. This knife will probably outlast me.
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Faultroy
Eagleville MO
Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Construction, Durability, Overall Quality, Sharpenability, Design, None
Cons: Sharpness
Fantastic Knives For The Money
I own a number of Old Hickory Knives, and as people have said, they will rust. In addition, some of them come requiring major sharpening and reprofiling. These knives sadly while the best value in cutlery today are not for beginners. You need to know how to sharpen a knife, and you need to understand that all of the best steels will rust except those with high concentrations of Stainless. It should be noted that the USA was founded on these kinds of knives. These exact kinds of knives skinned all the Buffalo and the Steers that were used to feed the USA. However, if you will do your part, these knives will give you a lifetime of superlative service. And, as stated, with use, they will develop a Patina. You can accelerate this process if you choose to with Vinegar or Lemon Juice. Wiping it down on a paper towel with a dab of Olive Oil will keep these blades working forever as they are incredibly easy to sharpen and take on a razor edge. I've coated mine with some Tru-Oil Gunstock Oil on the handles since the handles are made of straight grain walnut, and with people constantly immersing them in water, the handles tend to dry out and crack at the cutlery pins requiring replacement slabs. By sealing them with some form of moisture reducer such as Varnish or Tung Oil or even a generous amount of Boiled Linseed Oil, you can preserve the slabs for a very long time.
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Turtle
mn
Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Material Quality, Sharpenability, None
Cons: Design, Sharpness
Nice little paring knife
To start with, this knife was not sharp out of the package at all. It didn't really have a point on it either. I wasn't expecting it to be for the price. Using my DMT diamond stones, I was able to get it very sharp and put a point on it. It is a nice knife for small tasks in the kitchen. I wanted a high carbon paring knife similar (but much smaller) to an old 8" Forgecraft that I have. This knife will patina. it's OK. It's supposed to. It's not stainless. One complaint I might have is I wish the handle was a little longer, and the tang ran the full length of the handle. If you are OK with the patina and you are adequate at sharpening knives, then I definitely recommend this knife. Considering the price, it is worth giving one a try.
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Walter
Garant
May 25, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
The knife blade was rusty.
I tried to clean it but was to embedded. I use the knives very often. I do my own canning etc.
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jo D
Mission Viejo, CA
Jul 19, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Durability, Material Quality, Construction
Very disappointed
Used them once and they started to rust. I only opened two of them. The other two are still sitting in the package, not sure I will ever open them up. Very sad, I really try to buy USA made when ever I can even if I have to pay a little more, but this time I feel like I got took.
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Mil Mil
Shelbyville,TN
Jul 14, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Durability, Material Quality, Construction
OLD HICKORY PARING KNIFE 4' blade
This knife is not worthy of a review. I am very disapointed with this purchase.I will never buy this knife again. I threw it in the trash.
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jim Parson
Navarre, FL 32566
Mar 22, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: Material Quality, Overall Quality
Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade - Rusted
Almost immediately when the knife was wet it rusted and not just a little rust. I searched the internet for the cause and it appears to be a lack of zinc in the casting of the blade. I will be sending the knife back.
Ontario Old Hickory Paring Knife 4" Blade, Hickory Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Frank
,
Oct 18, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpness, Overall Quality, Durability
Junk Alert!
The first time I used this knife, the (partial) tang came loose in the handle. OKC makes some nice stuff, but this isn't nice at all.