Reviews and Ratings for Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade - 7015

Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Bladerated 4.000 stars out of 5 (19 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
4
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8 inch Carbon Steel Blade

 

Price: $12.95

Save $2.30 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Natural-Outlaw
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Dec 23, 2017
Pros: Sharpness, Material Quality, Design
Cons: None
1095 High Carbon-NOT STAINLESS
I have a number of Old Hickory knives and love them. The 1095 steel is traditional and takes and holds an excellent edge. George S. does not seem to have steel knowledge calling this knife rubbish, as he did. It is not stainless. It has no chromium. If not cared for properly it will rust. Simply dry it after hand washing and put vegetable oil on it from time to time. As it turns to a grey patina, this is actually beneficial as it will slow down the rusting. I use this knife for meat carving. Also have one of the butcher knives. Excellent steel
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Curt
Camino
Aug 03, 2015
Pros: Sharpenability, Material Quality
Cons: None
forever cutting
My mother had these in her kithen because her mother and her mother before her had them in their kitchens. Once sharpened they will hold an edge for close to a month of real meat cutting with minor touch up. Not chopping bones but even then they do well till the next sharpening. Love these knives. and I have taken them camping and used them as throwing knives and as long as you stick them they do well. I have bent the tips and then bent them right back try that with stainless. Every one of the knives I have are still working for me thirty years later. I hope one day to inherit my mothers knives which she got some of from her Grandmother in the sixties. I've made a couple of these in to very serviceable bush knives . You could do worse.
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
John Koons
Upstate New York
Apr 17, 2011
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
FOR THE SERIOUS
If you are unhappy with this product, chances are you are lacking in your education of the culinary arts. Stainless steel knives are for the lazy or for those who want "pretty." Carbon steel knives are for those who consider a kitchen their art studio. This type of knife is for the serious who have a high respect for the art of cooking and these prices are incredible.
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Me
VA
Jul 14, 2009
Pros: Sharpenability, Durability, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Fantastic for the price
This is an inexpensive knife made 'the old way". It works well and is really well worth the cost- which is minimal. You can still find old knives made this very same way and they work fine decades later. It's all American made and reasonably priced. Those looking for slick knives at this price will get Chinese made with steel that is so variable that it may be OK but may be real junk. These are consistent carbon steel that is easily sharpened - but it will rust.
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joshua
East Tennessee
Aug 01, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
The knives to have
There has been 2 of these knives in my house since I was well born lol. They are still in use today and are my favorite knives. Once you sharpen one of these to where it should it then it is hard to make it dull. Yes these knives will rust (because they are high carbon blades) just dry them a little when you finish cleaning them, the blades will end up black looking later. All round the best knife I've used in the kitchen.
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom L
pds wisconsin
Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
8" slicing
BBQ MEAT PREP
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alan C
south central Idaho
Apr 19, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
solid knife
I purchased this knife about 40 years ago. I have found it to be durable, easily sharpened and well designed. It does rust but it is not a problem to get rid of when you sharpen it. I am very satisfied with. I recommend it to anyone who wants a serious knife.
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
William K
Clearwater,Florida
Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Construction, Durability, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Compare to Japanese
You don't need an expensive Japanese night, did knife ain't pretty, but neither are tires. Spend your money on the best tires, you need to, but this knife is so sharp and sharpens up easily; Who cares it this knife is ugly, it'll get the job perfectly done. Just buy this knife!
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nicholas
Virginia
Oct 01, 2015
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
This is a wonderful knife as are all Okc products. I use it in the kitchen for everything from chicken and pork to fruits and vegetables. I also purchased an old hickory butcher knife, cleaver, skinning knife, and a boning knife for processing wild game. These are all high carbon blades which must be washed, dried, and oiled after use. If you are not willing to put the time into these knives don't buy them. These are high quality blades that require love.
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Columbus, Ohio
Jan 03, 2011
Pros: Construction, Durability, Overall Quality, Sharpenability, Design
Cons: None
Wonderful
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason P
MI
Jan 03, 2013
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Great Knife!
Glides right through meat, great look, great feel.
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
John S
Westfield MA
Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Design, Sharpenability, Sharpness, Construction, Material Quality, Durability
Cons: None
By far my favorite kitchen knife
Used as an overall kitchen and canning knife. I've used the 8" slicer for several years. It takes a wicked edge and holds it well. I like the steel and find it easy to hone quickly. The hickory handles are easily gripped and do not slip in my hand when covered with sugary juices. I've tried it against ceramic knives and prefer it most always. It is used on anything one might find in the kitchen: cooking, canning, dehydrating, slicing meats and on all fruits and vegetables. I like the way it is made: 8* length, flatness of the blade and how it curves to a sharp point. The only thing I wouldn't use it for is cutting bone. The knife is a joy to use. I've made this order as a present for a kitchen orientated friend.
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Frank
Tarboro, NC
Dec 02, 2018
Pros: Sharpenability, Durability, Sharpness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Old Hickory knives
These are not as my grandma would have she would use them everyday she had a small sharpener in the drawer and occasionally pull it across and then wipe the blade. They're not for lazy people. They work great just like grandmas and great-grandma's cast iron skillets. You have to wipe them with a little oil and you can leave them to your grandchildren.
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
William H
Charleston, SC
Jul 27, 2013
Pros: Material Quality, Durability, Sharpenability, Construction
Cons: None
15 years
I used one of these knives for 15 years until it disappeared. Gets dull, sharpens up and cuts well. If you don't mind working your knife across a sharpening stone several times a year, this is a great knife. Once you've sharpened it nothing designed to never need sharpening really feels the same again. The question is do you want a knife you make sharp or do you want something which saws through things that you don't have to sharpen. Ask a fresh tomato.
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Vegemite
Oakland, CA
Dec 14, 2015
Pros: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Pretty nice!
A couple of things about this knife: 1) it does not come sharp, 2) it will rust if you don't take care. Guess what? That is perfectly fine, because: 1) you sharpen it to your satisfaction. Use a stone, sandpaper, ceramic or diamond stick, accusharp, whatever. Once you get it sharp, you'll know how to keep it sharp. 2) Dry your knife after you wash and use it. Good carbon steel is easy to sharpen and keep sharp. This knife will serve you well for years if you do your part. I purchased this knife as a starter for a bushcraft knife. Its strong but simple construction is well suited for this type of modification. I was able to shorten the blade to 4.5" and round off the handle with only hand tools in an afternoon. I am very happy with the end product. I thank Ontario for putting out this product, and would gladly buy another.
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 1 stars out of 5
Mil Mil
Shelbyville, TN
Jul 14, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Construction, Durability, Material Quality, Sharpness, Overall Quality
OLD HICKORY SLICING KNIFE 8" BLADE
Old Hickory was a name brand that I had used and trusted. I purchased the knife for my canning needs in the summer for peeling tomatoes and vegetables. There is nothing great about this knife. Poor quality overall. Will not purchase this brand again. I am very disappointed with this purchase.
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 1 stars out of 5
Joseph
New Brighton, Mn
May 23, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
nice shape but soft
Takes a razor edge but only holds it for a couple of cuts. Soft steel
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 1 stars out of 5
George S
50588
Dec 27, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: Design, Construction, Material Quality, Sharpenability, Overall Quality, Durability
Poor quality products in two of two orders. Definately unsatisfacory
This was the second of two knives purchased from you this month for Christmas presents. As of today 12/27/16 both knives show substantial rusting on the blades and discoloration on the rivets. Both are definitely substandard product.
Old Hickory Slicing Knife 8" Carbon Steel Blade
rated 1 stars out of 5
Joseph
New Brighton, Mn
Jun 04, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
dull, won't hold edge