Reviews and Ratings for Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone

Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stonerated 4.519 stars out of 5 (27 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
8
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05 inch Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone

 

Price: $27.95

Save $19.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank
Carleton, Michigan
Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Great Knife
Received my SCHF36 a couple of weeks ago and finally was able to take it to the woods this past weekend. The knife is exactly what I needed. I used it to cut kindling, did some minor chopping with it and some batoning. The weight of the knife is great for all of those chores. It held its edge very well. The handle is comfortable and the jimping is in the right places. The Ferro rod and sharpening stone are very good. I used both of them. The only drawback to the kit is the nylon sheath. In particular the strap that holds the handle of the knife. The fact that it's adjustable is a nice feature however, the snap is not very robust. That being the only negative I would definitely recommend this kit. You can;t beat it for the price.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woodsman
SC
Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
SCHF36
The knife was exactly as described. It is a great woods/survival knife. Woodsman
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
B
Colorado
Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material
Nice knife
very nice knife, almost as thick at BK2, made with 1095 steel. What's not to like!
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Walt
south west Fl.
Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Awesome knife , outstanding quality, and very modest price. Just the ferro rod and diamond stone are worth the 26.00 bucks alone ! It's like getting the knife for free!
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spicy
torrance
Mar 21, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: None
good knife for price
I Try cut wood and everything hard work knifeis strong so for me good knife for price i use highend knife also no diffrent between this n highend knife
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joseph
kc ks
Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
knife
Great knife for bushcraft batoning chopping etc. Decently sharp out of box. No complaints
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trond
Norway
Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Exellent
Incredible knife to a very good price. Came with a very sharp edge and the knife feels very good in the hand. Feels like a very good product. Service and shipping was exelent. My highest recommendation for product and peoples at knifecenter.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Darin
Whitby, ON, Canada
Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Rugged and Practical
Really great value. It has the weight and robustness to take a punishment. Really appreciated the excellent scabbard and extra items like the sharpening pad and fire striker. Bought it as a gift for my girl who is a field work environmentalist who spends her time outdoors for days at a time. She loves it and uses it dayly. The blade wasn't delivered the sharpest, but it dressed up in no time to be razor sharp. Handle is really grippy and it has a heft you can rely on time after time...btw I bought two! I couldn't help getting one for myself.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Texas
May 15, 2015
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Cons: None
huge bang for your buck
This is a beast of a knife and the price is awesome. Feels heavy duty!
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jerrold
Singapore
Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Material
Cons: None
Terrific value
I have to give this 5 stars for the price and value. Schrade really delivers it with this model. Free sharpener and striker are a bonus though not the best. The knife did not come shaving sharp but the edge was oiled and clean. Coating is too rough for my liking but ergonomics and steel are good.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dantheman
Alberta, Canada
Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, Finish, None
No other compares to this bushcraft/ survival knife.
This knife is a best as both a survival and bushcraft kinfe. The chole on the blade is by far my most favorite part about it becuase it allows me to really do some fine work in bushcraft tasks. The high carbon steel is great just make sure to maintian with oil and wipe away any moisture. A lot of people dislike the gimping on the knife but really it's not an issue. Just man up and get over it :) its not the painful unless u got girly hands to maintain. It shops well and batons great for kindling. All and all its a versotlile knife system that works amazingly. The sheath well have to be replaced over time but it works for now. Give this knife a try and you'll know all about the hype!
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gmoritz
Harrison, OH
Jul 07, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
Stout very durable blade
Before buying I knew the blade was about a 1/4" wide and was a full tang but I was a little surprised at how heavy and stout the knife was. I was trying to decide if the weight is a plus or a minus. Obviously a minus for carrying, but the weight really helped with chopping and the width of the blade was great for batoning. I had the boys go out back with me and start hacking away at fallen limbs and logs. We really abused the knife and it took all of the abuse without a problem. My only complaint so far is with the jimping on the handle. Especially on the bottom where your last three fingers grip. They dug into my fingers too much while hacking. So much so that I took the scales off and ground the ridges flat. Now it feels almost perfect. I now just need to remove or grind down the jimping on the top where your thumb rests. Its a little too aggressive and is uncomfortable to me when using without gloves. With gloves the jimping is fine. For a relatively small amount of money spent I got a very robust and durable knife with the added benefit of a decent sheath with a sharpening stone and ferro rod. I am very pleased with this knife. So much so that I purchased another to give to my friend for his birthday.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tamara S
TX
Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Super Survival
I purchased this for my primary survival and camping knife. As soon as you pick it up you know this is one heavy duty blade. Not extremely sharp out of the box but that's easily remedied, extremely thick spine, the finish used is very thick but looks extremely durable. Handles feel good and provide a great grip. Sheath is straight forward cordura, the addition of velcro on the belt loop is a nice touch, making it quick to attach and remove. I like the diamond sharpener, but would have been nice if it were two sided. All said, unbeatable price for an outstanding knife.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Homer Y
San Antonio texas
Jan 08, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Schf36 knife
1. This knife was used during an hunting outting. 2. The steel used 1095 is a great steel. It maintain it's sharpness and the type of handle are great for having control of the knife. 3. The knife had what I wanted in a knife. Nothing was new. It all I expected.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Walt
sw fla
Apr 09, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
you will not find better for the green!
the long and short .....schrade as a whole has become a real rising star as of late .when i first heard about schrade making knives in china ,well it was a let down .this idea was very quickly changed .I got to see the model 9 first and was really impressed by both price point and quality of product .next was the model 26 ,again no issue .Lastly after much wait the Model 36 . if you know anything about knives and gear , you are actually getting the knife and sheath for almost nothing .(based on what a good ferro rod and diamond stone cost...by them self). excellent product , excellent price ....you can't go wrong !
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Patrick S
Mid-Michigan
Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Perfect Compliment
I've been looking for the perfect size knife to carry, and use in my Woodcraft/Survival endeavors, this is it. Heavy Duty construction, carbon steel, full tang, thick 3/16" spine, drop point blade is exactly what I was looking for. It should withstand a ton of abuse and hold an edge well, and the blade is long enough for batoning. The complimentary ferro rod and sharpener fits perfectly in the Cordura sheath. An All in One great deal!
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kymouthymom
Kentucky
Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife
This knife is a great knife to be added to my collectiin
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Harold D
New Britain Ct.
Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
Can't be beat for the money.
The rating would have been a 5 however the sheath could be upgraded, however for $30 this knife cant be beat. This knife is full tang, high carbon steel at just about .25 in. thick, I have no worries, this is a great all around knife will it do every task wonderfully? No it will not but it will do everything you ask or need it to do. I have been pounding on this thing since I got it and still no worries and for the price point buy 2 and keep 1 for a spare.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Trace
Cal
Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Materials
Cons: Finish, None
SCHF36 Frontier
Bought one to check out for a truck bag. Wanted a heavy duty fixed blade in this size/materials and the price was right. Mine arrived with a decent edge grind, but will need some work to make it sharper. The spine was square and the blade straight. Even with the heavy blade coating the included ferro rod threw a shower of sparks. The handle is also comfortable and secure. The sheath seems adequate and the pouch holds the ferro rod and sharpener with room to spare. Very satisfied with this setup for the price so ordered a second one for the Jeep. As usual KnifeCenter was spot on.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ole Henry
Va.
Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
Schrade SCHF36
Very sharp initially, chopped and batoned some but either i hit a small nail in doing so OR the 1059 carbon steel had a flaw OR i just happened to hit it @ the right point and caused a tiny divit which can eventually be ground out with re-sharpening. I do like the knife however.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charles C
Lake Stevens, Wa
Dec 18, 2015
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
Fantastic Value if you are willing to put some effort into it
Okay, first, fantastic value. VERY solid construction and a really comfortable grip once you do a bit of work... so here are the cons, and the only cons, 1st) the jimping. Both the upper and lower jimping is EXTREMELY pronounced and aggressive... to the point of being painful. A bit of work with a medium or small half-round file will solve that however. Use the rounded side to round the upper and lower jimping surfaces and the flat side to round the outer edges and you are in business. Alternatively, you can do what I did and just make some G10/Micart grip panels that aren't recessed to expose the jimping. With the jimping even with the top edge of the panel what was once painful is now simply handy. 2nd) the finish. The finish, or blade coating, is as rough as sandpaper and REALLY gets in the way when cutting. While working on the jimping I used a paint stripper to completely remove the coating. Cuts like a dream and it only took about 45min-1hr to get all the coating off. If you are willing to do even a little work this knife is a steal. Oh, and the sheath/scabbard is okay but nothing special... pretty good for something to hold the knife until you can make or get something better. BUT, Schrade throws in a pretty good diamond sharpening stone and a good firesteel with a striker. Super plus in my book.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Leo
Planet Earth
Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good knife
This knife is very hefty. It has a lot of weight. The 1095 steel is a good steel that will bend before snapping in half like cheaper metals. I use my knives for throwing, splitting wood, and a variety of other things. Its safe to say, I put my knive through extreme conditions and am always looking for quality over flash or "sex appeal" in my toys. I have only had this k ife for about a week, but Im really liking it so far, and for the price...its cheap compared to a RAT5 or SE, or a RANGER. In fact, it is very similar to my Ranger Falcon but 1/3 the price. Ill write a more thourough review after a few months of abuse. Time will be the true test! The sheath is junk.... make your own kydex sheath if you want a nice sheath, but, it includes a diamond dust sharpener, and flint & steel for fire starting. Overall, very pleased so far.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Leo H
St. Croix, VI
Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Good heavy and thick blade
I have owned this knife now for several months. The good: Knife is made of good steel and is very thick at 1/4" and full tang. Ir has been used for splitting wood, prying nails, digging and throwing... and is a very good blade overall. I like the heavier weight of this knife, although some others may prefer a light thinner blade. It came sharp, but I gave it a propper sharpening upon recieving it. It has thus far held its blade very well. It comes with a decent diamond dust sharpener, and flint/steel sparker. The sharpener is nice but I dont really have a need or use the flint n steel.... Now the bad: The sheath is garbage. I have ordered some kydex and will be forming a nice sheath for it. I give it only 4 stars because of the sheath... but at only $25, I would certainly recomend this to anyone interested, and I would buy another if I lost this one. Overall, pleased with my purchase.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jerrold
Singapore
Oct 02, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Terrific knife bad coating
Nearly everything is great about the design of this knife. It serves all its functions well for a medium sized wood processing knife. My only complaint is the rough as hell coating on the blade. The coating is so rough that it actually impedes your knife when splitting and chopping wood and so comes off rather easily. Which is why I took a star off my rating, other than that great knife all around.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 4 stars out of 5
Del
Tennessee
Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
fine edge out of the box
I give this a four star rating only because of the sheath. I like kydex. the knife itself is fantastic. it comes with a fantastic diamond sharpener and fire steel. thisis a rugged knife built got s lifetime.I don't like cloth sheaths but the knife is fantastic.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 3 stars out of 5
Grandad2-3
Colorado
Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Finish
SCHF-36
After cleaning off a massive amount of blade covering, grinding the jimping down on the upper handle so it no longer dug into my hand, grinding the spine square (it had a wave) It seems now to be a very serviceable knife. I don't think you can find a much better deal ( 1/4 " spine,1075 carbon steel, good handle material) for the price. Oh yes the sheath is good has a pocket and is made of sturdy material.
Schrade SCHF36 Frontier Fixed 5.05" Black Blade, TPE Handles, Nylon Sheath, Ferro Rod, Sharpening Stone
rated 2 stars out of 5
J
USA
Apr 26, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
Conflicted....
I purchased the SCHF36 knowing about the reports that Schrade had quality control problems with them; there were numerous reports of bent blades. Knowing this, I still went ahead and ordered one hoping for the best. Unfortunately, sure enough, my 36 came in and it was bent. Pretty disappointing that this is happening as much as is reported. I just put in a CS request w/ Schrade to see what they will do about my knife. We'll see if they get back to me or not. I'll update this review as the situation unravels.