Reviews and Ratings for Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles - C95GPBBK2

Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 5.000 stars out of 5 (23 reviews)
5 out of 5 stars
5 star
23
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88 inch S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $182.00

Save $78.00 (30%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rldubbya Wanamaker
Helltown, Oh
Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Favorite EDC
The Manix XL is one of my favorite EDCs. The DLC finished blade and hardware (standoffs, liner, backspacer, lanyard hole tube, torx screws) makes for a nice, sexy blacked-out look; the DLC is durable, and the finish of the entire knife is top-notch. "Top-notch" is a good way to describe all aspects of fit and finish; the secondary grind, from the ricasso to the tip is even in angle and width on both sides of the blade. The lanyard tube is oversized, making it easy to fit MilSpec paracord. Likewise, the SpydieHole is oversized, making it easy to use with gloves. The clip can be swapped between left and right hand carry. The blade is 3.85" long .125" thick, and current catalog specs say it weighs 5.2ox. The blade itself is a cutter: 25% thinner than the Manix 2, combined with the full flat grind of the primary grind, make this knife a formidable cutting tool. I have done some food prep with the knife, and am always amazed at the ease and control I have in doing any cutting task. The blade is longer and wider than the standard Manix, which also contributes to positive control, and makes large cuts easier. The Manix grip features gimping on the liners, generous gimping on the spine and choil, and a great design where these two sets of gimping each meet to form one continuous ridge of gimping on the top and bottom of the knife. The texture of the G10 handle scales contribute to a tool that can be held securely in a variety of situations and grip styles. The one knock against the XL grip: while size in terms of width and length and clip placement is good, with no hot spots that I feel, the thickness of the handle is somewhat lacking. This may have been a design feature to prevent the clip from causing a hotspot; be that as it may, the knife feels just the slightest bit too thin in my hand. For reference, I think the thickness of the Szabo folder gets it right - the Szabo is about 3/32" thicker. Deployment: out of the box, deployment was, in a word, smooth. The blade pivots open with no hang-up, no roughness; the detent pops into place with a positive feel. With just a couple practice attempts, I am able to flick the blade open with just a thumb. Opting for more control and keeping my thumb in the hole for the duration of the act (that's what she said) shows good spacing of the hole in relation to the natural grip my fingers adopt on the handle. Closing the knife is easy: the XL handle is large so that the butt of the G10 liner snugs up against my palm, and my thumb and forefinger work to pull the lock tab back towards me; keeping my fingers out of the way, the blade drops down, swinging freely, and I am able to complete the closure against my leg. The XL is an attractive knife; the black blade, with a silver edge and gold engraving, are one of my favorite combos. That Spyderco went the extra mile and made sure that all visible parts are coated in black shows a good attention to detail. If there is a downside, it is that the DLC coating shows finger oil easily. This is quick remedied by wiping the blade down with an alcohol based cleaner; I prefer the paper lens cleaning products from Zeiss for this. I typically open a packet containing one wipe, and clean my reading glasses quickly, and then focus on the knife in my hand. 15 seconds of wiping, and the blade is generally clean again; it dries nearly immediately. I like using the lens cloths, as I'm introducing no moisture into the knife, and I'm likewise not introducing any more lube. If, in fact, I want to lube the knife or coat the blade with oil, I can do that separately, which means I control the amount used better. The XL's CPMS30V steel blade holds an edge well, and is easy to sharpen. My sharpening technique uses up to 4 major steps, depending on how much I have to do. If the blade requires a fairly large amount of steel be removed, I use a WorkSharp Ken Onion with the optional Blade Grinding Attachment. Next in the arsenal is a set of Arkansas Oil Stones, which I purchased in 1977. If I don't have to remove much metal, I use a Spyderco Sharpmaker; and if I just have to perform the lightest of touch-ups, I use a leather strop and green (ultra fine) compound. The XL, so far, has just required a light stropping. All in all, I
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill H
Australia
Sep 11, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
I Was A Manix 2 Convert
When I buy this super looking 'blackout' version of the Manix 2 it will be my fifth Manix 2. In fact, for years I just didn't like the look of Spyderco knives in pictures and videos then I held a Manix 2 owned by a pal and I was an instant convert. I reckon I must have 20+ other folders, now they are gathering dust in a draw. I wear a Manix 2 all day, every day and even keep one in my vehicle so I always have a spare when I'm out and about. Needless to say there's one in my bug out bag. When I buy the super cool 'blackout' version that will be my every day carry and the fourth spare will end up in my IFAK. If you have never held a Spyderco folder or a Manix 2 do yourself a favour and get one, or more!
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian
Lakeland FL
Aug 07, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Sheath, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Quality
The knife came incredibly sharp out of the box. More sharp than my ZT300. The knife is light for it's size. It carries much easier than my ZT. The locking mechanism is solid. There is no play in the blade when the knife is open. The handle fits my hand perfectly. I am extremely impressed with this knife. KnifeCenter was incredible again with shipping and customer service. Great company!
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ray
okc oklahoma
Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
great knife
first spyderco I've owned before,really a nice knife smooth and made very well I would recommend it.
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Karl
Wisconsin
Apr 01, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Manix2 XL
Outstanding knife!
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pat T.
Miami, Fl
Jul 01, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Wow!
What a great knife! This is my EDC knife and I love it. Razor sharp right out of the box, fit and finish are top notch. I got the black one and it's beautiful. I originally purchased a Manix 2 Light weight which was nice but felt a little too weak for me. If I had to use it (the Light weight) for an emergency it seemed possible to break it under hard use but the XL knife is a whole different story. It fits my hand perfectly in every grip except reverse p'kal which is fine because that's not what its made for. Opens like butter, no break in, lubrication or adjustment required. I will buy a smaller Spyderco for EDC also where it makes sense to have a smaller, less aggressive looking blade but I give the Manix XL 5 out of five stars. If you are thinking about it do it...you will love it!
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Crofton, Ky
Jan 03, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
The bigger the better (that’s what she said right?)
This knife has a very similar in layout, excluding the lock system, to my all time favorite Spyderco, the Native flat grind version. I really enjoy using this knife just as well as the little native but this thing makes the native look like a toy. I had to get used to the locking mechanism but no big deal there. There isn’t a negative comment I can think of with this knife. I also have an older Manix but the big boy rules the roost. I’m a ZT fan as well and have a X-18 and I find myself using the XL more than my X-18 and that is saying a lot, if you have ever used a real Hinderer spanto you will understand. I really love larger knives they fit my usage better over other smaller EDC knives. I collect several brands but lately it has been all Spyderco from the KnifeCenter and no complaints there as well. If you want a knife that is bigger than some other edc knives there is no way you can go wrong with this Spyderco offering. Only problem is I want just about every knife out there and I need an extra job to support my addiction. Just buy it you will love this knife.
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Philippe
Toulouse - France
Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Dark Knive for Dark Knight?
Another great product from USA to cut another great cheese product in my country : France. Just can be heavier. Thanks to Spyderco and to Knivecenter.
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dylan S
Selangor Darul Ehsan
Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, Weight, None
amazing stuff
I use my Spyderco Manix2 XL as my EDC and have no complaints about it. Works and feels great in my hands and came razor sharp out of the box. Having one of my own affirms what I've heard bout it being perfect for big hands so that's the heads up for everyone.
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Steve
Virginia
Feb 06, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Perfection simply put.
This knife is one that offers great value at a decent price. Nothing about it is cheap or not well thought out by spiderco. I use it as a EDC in a law enforcement capacity and it definitely lives up to the challenge. S30V is one of the best types of steel on the market and it is the sharpest knife out of the box I have ever owner for sure. I LOVE knife center and will not purchase from any other store. Fast shipping great selection and I love how you can search for knives by the steel in which you are interested in. This is a 10/10 both the knife and the store. You are missing out if you do not own one!!!!
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randy
prescott az
Feb 26, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
manix2 xl folder blk plain blade
the quality and workmanship of this production knife is excellent .feels very good in your hand. its not to heavy for its size. comes shaving sharp right out of the box . I heard s30v holds a really good edge but is hard to sharpen. will see in time . I haven't had it long enough to sharpen yet. one thing I will say is knife center does a great job in customer service and pricing .I am looking forward to doing business with knife center in the future.
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zach
AZ
Oct 23, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best there is.
Lost my first one.....cried. Ordering another. Best knife ever.
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack Rich
Maine
Apr 02, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Excellent, knife and super service. Thank you.
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tim H
Phoenix, Az
Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
The Manix2 XL all black
WOW! This is a nice blade. Today is August 24th, my new Spyderco was delivered on Knife Day, look it up, it cant get better than that. Right up front, it's not to big and it's not to heavy. The blade is perfectly centered, there is absolutely no blade movement in any direction. The lock, its perfect. Who are the people that say there is a break in period. I could open the lock one handed and flip that chunk of steel out like I had owned this knife for years on the first try. The jimping is in all the right places and grips your hand firmly without being uncomfortable. The bade action is smooth. The DLC is a work of art, this knife is as dark as midnight without any variance in shade. I grabbed the KnifeCenter invoice and proceeded to check blade sharpness, wow, this is the sharpest knife out of the box I have ever collected. I would also like to compliment KnifeCenter for always operating in the most professional manner. Not to long ago I had to return a knife that had slipped through the hands of the manufacture's QC. The KnifeCenter phone rep took care of things with no question and no attitude. Im always excited when I find that orange box in the mailbox. Of course the wife never sees these boxes. Thanks again KnifeCenter and thanks to Spyderco for an exellent edc blade. That's right, EDC.
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
AOR (Down Range)
Nov 14, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Soldiers Best Friend
I am currently down range and looked into a lot of knives from Benchmade, Cold Steel, SOG, and Spyderco. I picked the Manix2 XL in all black. Got it in about two weeks before I left to go down range in the AOR. First thing I noticed was how great it felt in my hand. Next I liked how well the locked worked and its locked up. Solid!!! What else to I have to say about the steel? Its S30V period, dot, and done. Fast forward a bit to in the AOR. This thing is a tank. Use it daily and still no blade play and holds its edge well. I have had to sharpen it a few times but that is because of heavy heavy use in the harshest of environment (WAR). I depend on this thing to work, to hold up, and defend my life if needs be. If you are looking for a heavy use tactical knife look no further and that is coming from a service man down range using it to the fullest day in and day out. Thank you Spyderco for making a great knife. If I ever lost this thing I would cry then order another one before my tears had dried. P.S. US made and has Earth labeled on it, for I guess when aliens attack, either way awesomeness all around.
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kcromag
California
May 13, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, None
Never gonna give you up never gonna let you down
He**uva knife i cant keep the da** thing in my pocket its a pleasure to use and abuse im not kind to it in the least and it just doesn't quit ergos are great the dlc is resilient i keep buying knives attempting to retire it but they just fall short i always come back to it one of the best knives for your money buy three one to look at one to use and one to give to some one
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aj
California
Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
My new favorite blade
This knife is amazing! It's quite large however due to its overall thin profile it's not to space consuming in my pocket. The lock feel study and secure although it's going to take some breaking in due to how stiff the spring is. The blade came razor sharp and perfectly centered. The shape of the handle fits my hand perfecly and the G10 handle is very grippy. Overall this knife is practically flawless in design and despite the size the weight is not bad so this will be my new EDC for sure. Spyderco is my favorite brand and I gotta thank them for this I like it even more than my paramilitary 2 (previous favorite) and also thank knife center for sending me exactly what I ordered and in perfect condition. It even arrived a day ahead of schedule on standard shipping. I'm fully satisfied with this purchase.
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bradly M
Duncan creek rd WV
Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Manix 2 xl blacked out
The Spyderco Manix 2 xl was well worth the money and is one he** of a knife, it came very sharp and after I put it to my strop it is scary sharp. There is no blade play it locks up tight, it is a solid knife, smooth to open and close and the bearing lock is great the only problem is my Griptilian 551-1 isn't as thrilled about the Manix as I am, but I do try to give them equal love! Thanks for the awesome knife KC and feel free to send me knives just for the he** of it!
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Patrick
Neptune, Nj
Jun 13, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
sweeet
This is my edc on rotation.love the full flat grind and a black hardwear with dlc coated. Shipping was fast and service excelent ifyou like the manix 2 the Xl should be you're next buy.built like a tank Best knife for the Monet hands down.everyone wants a pm-2 I have one but I love my manix2 line much more.pluss you don't have to wait a year for one.
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason
Long Island. N.Y.
May 22, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
Perfection
Great solid knife. ZERO blade play. Perfect blade centering. The G 10 is grippy but not too rough. Smooth and flawless DLC. skeletonized liners to save weight. All in all it was worth the wait and I am very happy.
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Colorado
Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Wicked Sharp, In Stock, Fast Shipping.
I'm a Manix Fan. Great Build, Wicked Sharp. Lighter than the Large Manix 1 Lockbacks. Fast Shipping from KC. Loved this transaction!
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Giovanni F.
Italy
Mar 04, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Spyderco C95GPBBK2 Manix2 XL
The knife that I purchased is fantastic razor-sharp lightweight and sturdy closure system is exceptionally extraordinary opening. The service knifeCenter is formidable fast and reliable. Thank you. will buy again from you thank you very much. sorry my English is not good. Giovanni F. From Italy
Spyderco Manix 2 XL Folding Knife 3.88" S30V Black Plain Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Casey B
Uxbridge, On
Jan 03, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
best workhorse on the market
This kife feels great and performs great in every way. Takes a sharp edge. Good blade steel. Light weight. Very ergonomic. My only complaints would be the blade opens and closes with a little resistance. It dosent open and close smooth, like a Benchmade axis lock. it needs jimping on the butt of the handle, for when retracting lock system (closing blade). The full flat grind is amazing for cutting anything and the quality is perfect. This is the ultimate every day carry, especially for people with giant hands like myself.