Reviews and Ratings for Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath - GH1168

Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheathrated 4.400 stars out of 5 (20 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
0
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8 inch Blade with Leather Sheath

 

Price: $61.90

Save $55.10 (47%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ricardo
Lake Elsinore, Ca
Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Don't bull the bulls--tter
I use this blade for everything and I actually bought this as a gift and didnt not end up giving it up. Its heavy but worth the extra weight.
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jas
North Texas
Oct 03, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
I'm not a knife collector but someone looking for a competent outsdoors knife that could provide self-defense against dangerous wildlife in an emergency and fulfill the usual camping and hunting tasks. This knife fills that requirement well, and it is good to look at too (some additional finishing at the factory would have been nice, but would only be for cosmetic purposes). The construction is stout. While the knife could use a keener edge sharpening, it looks as if it will hold one well. My preference would be a tough, lightweight man-made sheath, but the basci leather sheath provided is adequate.
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Philip W
Mobile, Alabama
Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great transaction. Fast delivery.
Product as described. Impressive design and quality.
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Armando Dias
São Paulo, Brazil
Aug 28, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
excellent knife
excellent design from Gil Hibben and good manufacturing bu United Cutlery. A good buy.
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charles
North Carolina
Jan 25, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife
Have this knife and I tell you it makes a fine combat/survival knife. The edge holds well through abuse and the handle is perfect with those finger grooves. Great knife
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Slick447
Feb 22, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Outstanding
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carpentier G.
France
Oct 02, 2009
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Very goog knife
It's a very good knife, it 's very good finished. Damage that the sharp edge does not continue on half superior of the blade.
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Armando Dias
São Paulo
Aug 24, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent knife
Very sturdy knife and a perfect finish. Very well produced calls for United. I recommend.
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dutchy Down Under
Australia Melbourne Victoria
Feb 14, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
One of my favourite knives
I started collecting knives some time ago, I have bought some knives that were a let down, but not this beast! I am a tall well built bloke, 6'4' 250 pounds and like my knives heavy, bulky and this knife suits that perfectly. It is pretty, sharp out of the box, well balanced. The sheath is solid but nothing special. It is not the biggest sharpest meanest knife I own, but it is such a nice knife and is well worth the money you pay for it. 5 out of 5!
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Taylor Johnson
Carlsbad, CA
Jan 30, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great blade and handle design, fits very comfortably in hand, nice sheath. overall great knife and i would recommend it to any knife collector, fan, or just if you want an affordable, durable, and long lasting hunting knife
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Isotron
São Paulo, Brazil
Aug 10, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
excelent knife
strong and beautiful knife.
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Armando Dias
São Paulo, Brazil
Jun 24, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife...
is a very good knife ... well done and of top quality materials. the blade is very sharp and very strong and has an ideal size and is very balanced and functional. the cable is perfect, made in Spanish Micarta and well finished. It is a play rich in detail, but it is not only a beautiful piece, one piece is very useful and functional. a beautiful piece designed by the great Gil Hibben cutler
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mighty Kong
Rochester N.Y.
Apr 12, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Finish
Cons: None
Great Knife
Very nice looking , great finish good weight
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark P
Reading, Ma
Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight
Jesus Take the wheel
When I had ordered this I was not prepared for what I got. This is a monster of a blade, with beautiful handles and a great grip. While this blade is on the heavier side, the blade retention is great and the sharpness of this blade was ridiculous, wanted to test it out so i gently slid it across my arm and it took the hair clean off. This thing would be great for hunting and skinning as well. If you buy it, be prepared for one badass knife.
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Andrew H
townsville australia
Aug 30, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Materials, None
Cons: Handle Material
half decent and a bit more
first thing i found, it is good for buttering bread. I use it as a camp knife and a tool it works very well for me, The only thing i have disliked is the point finish on the hand grip, which was easily fixed
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dbljj
WNY
Jan 16, 2020
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
Hibbert Alaskan
I own and LIVE this monster knife! Looks good and feels even better. While Gilbert isn't known for using the greatest steel, 'steal' this bad boy at this price! Chopping, cutting, even skinning whitetail.
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Reg A.
Coquitlam, BC
Mar 11, 2010
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Overall Quality, None
nice but flawed
major flaw, on mine was that it curved to the right from tang to tip.
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Robert K
Goshen, Ny
Feb 03, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material
Good Looking Blade
It truly is a fine looking blade and has a design that would be usefull in the field however if your tasks require a extended period of a sharp edge bring a stone along it will need to be sharpened often. For less precise tasks the weight and re curve aids in constant pressure and movement against the material, The downside to that is it's size leaving it's practical applications for smaller more precise work requiring a more manageable knife.
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
B
Los Angeles
Mar 08, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
This blade is made with a material that can easily lose it's edge after an extended period of use. The main aspects of the Knife vary between circumstance and use, as should be expected. However, it makes for a great camping/survival/outdoors knife as intended, but again it needs progressive sharpening. The size of the handle are slightly oversized for all users, but can give too much wiggle room on for the hand. As far as the sheath goes, it may be "leather," but the belt loop is rather oversized and the button clip on the inside of the sheath that secures the knife can rub against the blade. Despite all of that..it's a decently priced knife and makes for a great Outdoorsman or Survivalist.
Gil Hibben Alaskan Survival Knife 6-7/8" Blade with Leather Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Dan
Spooner, Wi
Sep 28, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Dull, not worth it, "Handcrafted in China"!
I really did like it at first, it was good looking and the sheath was nice. Then, after awhile the knife showed it true colors. Its leather sheath doesn't holster the blade without showing were ND tear and the blade was extremely dull. I'm just going to sell it or keep it as a decoration.