Reviews and Ratings for Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2" - AC71

Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"rated 4.524 stars out of 5 (21 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2 inch

 

Price: $1.95

View Product Details
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tony
California
Feb 09, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great ceramic sharpening rods

I needed to find some ceramic rods to sharpen my serrated knives. I looked online and everywhere they were from 15 dollars to 30 dollars. These are very inexpensive, high quality, and work great. Instead of buying just one I bought several to give to my family. Highly recommended.
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ran
Wisconsin
Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Was exactly what I was looking for.

I had an old ceramic round stone that was ceramic over an iron rod that was worn out. So was looking online for a replacement and ordered this to see what it was really like. Perfect ! Have to look no further.
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mrs. Sarah J. H
El Dorado, AR
May 29, 2012
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

very pleased with product

very pleased with product
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
Miami
Jan 15, 2016
Pros: None
Cons: None

Shipped quick

Ordered item and received confirmation immediately and item within days. As described.
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob C
St Petersburg,Fl
Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great sharpner

After you've got your knife as sharp as you can strop it on a ceramic rod like you would on a steel and it will get even sharper, been using one for years and this eight and onehalf inch one is a good size,,,,,,,just don't drop it cause it will shatter into little pieces, but other than that it is a great way to finish off your sharpning. Get one there not expensive you'll like it if you like your knife sharp.
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Portland
Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Sharpener at a Low Price

I bought a couple of these a while back, I cut one in half to use as pocket sharpeners. One section I keep in my Nite-Ize Pock-Its that I carry at work. A couple swipes keeps the blade sharp, I used it last week to sharpen my neglected Ontario RAT and my coworkers long neglected folder to arm hair shaving sharp in less than 5 minutes each. I'll be ordering more to make some pocket sharpeners with a handle for Christmas gifts.
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ellie E. P.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

A Quality Product at an Attractive Price

I bought eight ceramic rods from which I made three knife sharpeners. Two of the rods were purposely broken in half to make two devices 4 1/4 tall. Two more rods were used full length for a third sharpener. One rod shattered before I discovered they must be notched first before breaking. All are mounted in wooden blocks at 20 degrees each to produce the proper 40 degree included sharpening angles. Ceramic rods are hard and shatter easily, but work well for this purpose if well supported. Overall, I'm very happy with my purchase and would order from this company again.
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pete K
Troy Va
Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness
Cons: None
Real good ceramic rods for the price...
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pony
Tn
Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

amazing tool

I am somewhat compulsive about having sharp tools I mean EVERYTHING got this and went to work on some blades that needed fine tuning including 2 throwing axes Razor sharp in no time at all even put a shaving edge on my camp axe
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
hokitika nz
Dec 09, 2009
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Durability

great gear

hi i use these ceramic rods to make steels including them in my kitchen sets they work great and clean up fantastic after excellent product highly recommended
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 5 stars out of 5
Carl F
Springville, Ny
Dec 09, 2016
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Home made turn box!

piece of hardwood or any wood you want. Drill holes at desired angles done. give them as gifts to people who you sharpen for to maintain edge
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fred Eberhardt
9003 CHINON SAN ANTONIO,
Jun 09, 2011
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None
I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THE PRODUCT I BOUGHT FROM YOU. I HAVE A KNIFE SHARPENER WITH CERAMIC RODS. I BROKE ONE OF THEM. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO FIND YOU AND GET A REPLACEMENT. THANK YOU, FRED EBERHARDT
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 5 stars out of 5
Big Jerm
Tennessee
Jan 03, 2018
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: Ease of Use, None

Ceramic sharpening rod

I purchased these to make crafts with. I add deer antler handles and lanyards. The length is good to add a handle and still have enough to sharpen with. They also clean up easily. I know how to use the product, but I would like to see mentioned that the product is not for sharpening. I would add information about how they are good to use for honing, and light touch ups. There is a slight learning curve, as there is no guide for a beginner to use. Also, the small diameter can cause problems if pushing to hard.
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthew
utah
Feb 09, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

works great

I really like this ceramic rod it makes the final touch on making a knife sharpest
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 4 stars out of 5
Big Dave
New Zealand
Jun 28, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Durability, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Not bad

Super cheap so can't really expect much but not completely smooth. Slight bobbles on surface which seem to wear down quickly after a few swipes with the blade so i'mm thinking they'll be better over time. Quite course compared with the ceramic rods from Edgepro. Don't mind that though, got it for the field.
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 4 stars out of 5
Aphobos
PA
Apr 07, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Durability, None

Works well

My new preferred sharpening method. Inexpensive. I wrap one end with some paracord for a better grip. Not for dull knives, you need the edge angle in place, then use this make it sharp. Finish with a few stropping strokes on a piece of leather. Will break if dropped. Easy and lightweight for carry in edc pack. Clean with a good pencil eraser.
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 4 stars out of 5
Celso N
São Paulo SP Brazil
Sep 18, 2012
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use, None
Cons: Durability

Nice sharpening stick - just put a handle

Just put a handle to make a nice and cheap ceramic sharpener. Ceramic rods give a smooth edge to knifes.
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 4 stars out of 5
Andy
New York City
Feb 18, 2013
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Good cheap tool

Great tool for the price, it works great, you can actually feel when it "peels off" the "crest" from your blades, I like it a lot, I would reccomend as a good buy, remember it is ceramic if you drop it you loose it !
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ken L
San Diego, CA
Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Durability, Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: Overall Quality, None

Really good for the price, not perfect

These are awesome for this price. The only con is that they are not completely smooth; there are some small ceramic bumps or inclusions on the surface that hinder the blade flowing smoothly along the rod. Was able to remove them with a small diamond sharpener I have. They are pretty finely grained and leave a nice sharp edge. Would order again.
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 3 stars out of 5
Justin
Utah
Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

I ordered 4 and none are straight.

I ordered 4 of these and not one is straight. You can see the bends with your eye and if you lay one down on a flat surface it is obvious. Still even with being not completely straight they do work fine and at the price you will get your monies worth.
Ceramic Sharpening Rod 8-1/2"
rated 2 stars out of 5
Bspofford
Denver, CO
Feb 02, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness

Very affordable.

I bought these because replacement Lansky crock sticks are four to five times as much and these are USA made. First, they are larger, but they can be used freehand or with 3/8" holes drilled in a hardwood base. Second, they seem to be much less abrasive than Lansky fine crock sticks, so maybe they're better at honing than sharpening.