Reviews and Ratings for Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife - 113B

Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Kniferated 4.043 stars out of 5 (23 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
8
3 star
5
2 star
0
1 star
1
Bear & Son 4 inch Butterfly Knife

 

Price: $33.95

Save $18.05 (35%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 5 stars out of 5
Austin
Glen Burnie MD
Jul 07, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
AMAZING
This knife is awesome. THe action on it is incredibly smoothe. It is very easy to use. The weight is great the blade is great i love everything about this knife. I have nothing bad to say about it.
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 5 stars out of 5
Someone
New Hyde Park, Ny
Jul 09, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality
Really good knife
I got this knife and drop on Concrete still works
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jerry C
San Antonio
Apr 04, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Been having the the knife for about a month , it has been dependable, NOT made cheap , blade is sharp right out the box !!!
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jayel
Ilinois
Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
awesome knife
it was pretty hard and smooth butterfly knife
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gerr A
wisconson
Feb 04, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
get it
i absolutely suggest getting this bali its small which makes it harder for people to see it if you want to quickly draw it out.
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack
Winnemucca
May 12, 2017
Pros: Sheath, Weight
Cons: None
Had one for years still flips amazingly
I love it
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 5 stars out of 5
Seamus
Western PA
Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, None
Best bang for the buck
This knife is excellent for the price point, no frills, sharp enough to slice paper, no blade wobble, and a smooth action. The handle texture has the right amount of grip, and while the latch is loose it is not an issue to me.
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Bull Head, AZ
Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Good for the price
Good knife for the beginner, handled well out of the box. Latch could be better..
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 5 stars out of 5
Morebeef
Bothell, WA.
May 10, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Cute lil thing
I bought this for my youngest daughter after she played with my Bear and Son model 114. It's a nice little knife, came very sharp, locks up nicely. It did have to be worked in a bit to be smooth enough for consistent manipulation, but that's to be expected for a pin construction balisong. I actually prefer the black finish to the silver streak finish I have on my 114, it provides a slightly better grip and is still attractive. My only complaint is the lack of a latch gate, but again for the price I do not suppose I can gripe too loudly. An easy fix for the latch gate is to wrap a small rubber band or O-ring around the base of the bite handle, this will prevent the latch from smacking into the blade. you will have to replace them periodically, but it's a cheap fix. Overall I find that the Bear and Son butterfly knife line is of very good quality for the money, and I recommend them to anyone looking for an inexpensive, durable flipper.
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 4 stars out of 5
Eric
wisconsin
Jul 11, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material, Lock Type
good for price
nice solid knife but the finish on the handle chips very easily
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 4 stars out of 5
Inevitablewalrus
US
Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Practical knife, good for its price.
It's worth its price for sure, but it's not phenomenal quality. Very smooth action, quite nice to flip around, but it has some drawbacks. The lock is pretty flimsy, and it can come unlocked in pocket quite easily. It's sharp but not crazy sharp, so I'd actually prefer a slightly beefier knife for an EDC, and the lock also kinda puts it out of that category. It's pretty well-balanced though.
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 4 stars out of 5
Luisb
califonia
Aug 04, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material
ok
it's ok for the price
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sportcat Fire Medic
Atlanta, GA
Jun 01, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, None
Very nice knife
This is a nice beginner knife. Its small compact and made of quality materials. Once lubricated and broken in has a nice movement. In fact off duty this may find itself in my pocket more than my other knives. I wish I could find a kydex sheath to carry on duty though.
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 4 stars out of 5
Josh
South Carolina
Jan 25, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Good little bali for the price
Build quality is good but nothing amazing. Also the bite handle is pretty stiff and takes a bit of force to flip open, even after lubrication. It should loosen up after more use though. Overall it is very nice and well worth the price I paid.
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 4 stars out of 5
Stumpy
OR
Aug 27, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: None
Solid.
Pretty solid balisong for 20 bucks. All steel one piece handles. No problems yet, it's holding up great to drops and such.
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daniel
Maryland
May 27, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None
Little butterfly knife
Take note that this is a 4" butterfly, and butterfly knives are typically 5". It looks cute, and would be good for carrying around in a pocket or for smaller hands. It is a little heavy for its size, but its price can't be beat for the quality.
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cliff
Phoenix, NY
Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Great Knife
This knife handles great, I like it's smooth operations and simplicity.
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dd
NoVA
Jan 12, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening
Cons: None
it works
a good starter balisong for a good price. The blade is actually useful as well...
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dimothydobis
colorado
Oct 07, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, None
ok knife
It doesnt flip very well even with wd40. But it does have a farely sharp blade. overall it looks perty awesome though
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chris F.
Texas
Mar 07, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Lock Type, Blade Sharpness
You get what you pay for.
About what I expected. No blade play out of the box and it handles well. It's not very sharp but that can be fixed. For $25 I expected the T latch to work out of the box. It's too loose to lock the blade shut and it opens in my pocket. It also tends to get caught between the handles when it's being flipped around. Unfortunately there aren't a lot of better options under $100.
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mtndan
San Francisco, CA
Oct 22, 2012
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Overall Quality
Nice small balisong to carry around.
Nice small and tough EDC balisong your not afraid to loose. Basic flipping is good, but too small for twirling. Handle is thinner than standard larger Bear & Sons balisong. Poor grind on hollow point blade toward choil. Machinery must have paused causing deeper cuts. American made quality could be better for the price you pay. Would buy again.
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bogus
USA
Apr 06, 2013
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Lock Type
Decent for the price
I got one of these some years ago at a knife shop. The construction is very rugged and it's got a good solid blade, but it cuts a lot of corners--loose fitting parts, cheap pins, nothing keeping the latch from swinging between the handles, that sort of thing. If you look through video reviews you'll see that a fair amount of time is spent covering various modifications needed to make it work correctly as a flip knife. While it works just fine as a knife it has enough issues to turn off an enthusiast. Overall, this is an adequate middle-of-the-road balisong in a market utterly polarized by $200 Spyders and $5 tacticool junk, but quality issues really hold it back. It's too bad Bear doesn't make one for $40-50 with improved hardware.
Bear & Son 4" Butterfly Knife
rated 1 stars out of 5
George T
bergen drive, ca
Oct 30, 2009
Pros:
Cons:
very poor quality not worth for the price
very poor quality not worth for the price