Reviews and Ratings for Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles

Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handlesrated 3.971 stars out of 5 (34 reviews)
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
18
3 star
4
2 star
3
1 star
0
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125 inch Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles

 

Price: $39.95

Save $20.05 (33%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zac
Maryland
Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Weight
Great product for a compromise between quality and price
I am not a very good bali user...I like them but have nowhere the skill as most users. And I don't mind that as I EDC a Sebenza. Balis are more a knife I simply enjoy flipping. I've noticed most less expensive balis are of low quality. The handles break, the inlays fall out, the blade chips when dropped, the pins break and back out, the T latches fail, etc. At the same time, I didn't want to spend $200+ on a knife I don't EDC. The reviews for this looked good and I gave it a go. It's nice...but it is extremely heavy as it uses stainless over aluminum or titanium. Some people may like that and others may hate it. It is robust and survives being dropped. The blade also is good at taking impact without severe damage. The finish on it is awesome (I would have gone for damascus but it isn't available anywhere!) The texturing gives a nice amount of traction which is noticeable but not too much for bare skin. The biggest cons are arguably the ones most balis have...the pins are not easily user replaceable, nor is the blade or T latch. The other is arguably edge geometry. I don't think the grind on this would be great for EDC usage, and I don't think the edge would be great at resisting deformation from utility work involving cutting fibrous objects. I also wish this came with a pocket clip or sheath...I would have gladly paid a few bucks more for one or both.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lucius
N. Canton, OH
May 18, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Lock Type, None
Build to Last
I give this a 5 star review because of its value. I have had this knife for well over 10 years. I had some fun with it in the first year and off and on ever since. I have been flipping with it daily for the last 6 months and am still very happy with it. I know it's not the quality of a Benchmade or Bradley, but for the price, you can't go wrong.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jonathan
South Carolina
Jun 09, 2019
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, Sheath, None
10/10 knife best one I own!
I use the knife for literally everything, after 3 years the knife still gives me the satisfying flip it gave me on the first flip, definitely worth the price. This knife could easily be in the $100 price range due to its quality, it feels better than a beginner level knife.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Df
MA
Oct 03, 2011
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Feel
Good Start
Having never used a butterfly knife or Bali-song before, I was looking for something inexpensive. The only complaint I have is that the handle is kind of slippery. That is easy to get over though. Definitely worth it for a beginner.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Morebeef
Seattle, WA.
Apr 08, 2010
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
surprisingly good.
I use this as an EDC and a flipper. Came razor sharp. Flips smoothly. I did have to put a rubber band around the base of the bite handle to act as a latch gate, I feel like this is something that could be cast into the handles with very little effort, there is plenty of room in the ends for it. Some people have reported the coating on the handles chipping off, but I haven't had that problem. Locks up nice and tight open or closed. One of the better balis on the market, and the best in this price range. A sheath of some sort would be nice, but again for the money, who can complain.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bam
Alabama
Dec 23, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife
Great knife for the price
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris Goodson
Statesboro, GA
Dec 30, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Excellent buy for the money!
This "balisong" (Butterfly knife) is an excellent buy for the money & made in USA. The blade is good quality steel, and the action of both handles is quite smooth. Overall, excellent item.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Clint
Texas
Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Good Knife
This is a modestly priced knife, but is a good value for the money. Generally, this is a regular carry knife, and has proven useful and serviceable.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John Doe
Denver, CO
Mar 14, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Great
Bought a crappy eBay practice butterfly knife, broke after a day or so. Decided I would rather get another trainer so I ordered the B&S trainer, the KC was out of stock, but they sent me an email to inform me quickly. I then ordered this knife, the customer service was great and I received my item within 3 days. The quality of the knife is great, it is very solid, and I have not had problems with it so far.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Don't Worry About It
United States
Feb 19, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Good beginner knife
This is a great beginner knife! The price is good for a knife of this quality. When you first get it it will be stiff so you will have to break it in. Now it glides exceptionally. The blade is very sharp and will cut through skin if you mess up on a trick. The only tiny problem I get sometimes is that the latch gets caught when I do a certain trick. In conclusion this is a great knife and I recommend it.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dillon
Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
Great, would buy it again
I think that it is a great knife for a beginning flipper for sure. However after only a few hours of flipping it became very loose and the latch wouldn't lock in the open position. I was able to fix this with a simple o-ring. I have found that the blade doesn't hold a very good edge for very long.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kxjcghdbishjhkh
bradenton fl
Aug 31, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
great
it flips awsomly
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Me
here
Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material
great first butterfly
i loved it. it was my first butterfly knife it was extremely durable because i used it roughly every day until the handle broke
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matthew S
Ohio
Oct 19, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Feat Value Balisong
Overall this is a great balisong for only about $35. It flips nicely and has a decent handle and blade material. However, the lock doesn't have a stop so it gets in the way sometimes and the knife is a little heavy. Other then that it is a fairly good knife.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Phil
Houston
May 20, 2010
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
solid knife
this knife is a solid beginner butterfly knife.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Anon
Granite Bay, Ca
Feb 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Son loves it.
Son loves it. A little more wobbly than our other butterfly knife.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joshua
US
Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Interesting Knife
This was my first time buying a Butterfly Knife, and I am happy with it! It came with so much grease on it that I had to wipe some off, but that also presented another problem. The handles are made out of a very heavy material and have a weird texture. That means that when flipping the knife, the handles will build up a huge amount of momentum. It doesn't help that along with the slippery texture the knife was covered in grease. It almost had the knife fly out of my hands several times. I do have a metal bench made knock off trainer that I use, so this is what I was comparing the knife to. Overall the knife was really good, just heavy and slippery.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jacob
United States
Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Ehhhhh
The product is great! Just how my trainer is. Onky bad thing that I can say is about the shipping. My knife was delayed about 2 days. It just came today even tho I ordered it about 9 days ago. Amazing know bad shipping. All I'm going to say.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joshua Van H
Denver, CO
Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Type, None
good butterfly knife
very good knife. I've been using it often and it maintains a nice edge and the pivots haven't loosened up too much. This is a good knife for someone wanting to learn how to use a butterfly knife.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Justin
Andover, KS
Mar 01, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None
Already rusting
I like the design and the durability of the knife. It also came very sharp which I appreciate. But the "high carbon rust resistant steel blade" is already rusting on me after only a few times exposed to water for cleaning. This is very disappointing
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bucko_02879
Charlestown, RI
Mar 06, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material
5" silver vein steel handles
A little disappointed that the finish started peeling almost immediately.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ric
florida
Jan 09, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
great butterfly knife for beginner
shipping time was horrendous....but knife is great
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daniel
Georgia
Dec 05, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Decent
The only con here is that the edge grind is SO unmatched. One side is like 15° and the other is like 43°. Other than that it seems like a good balisong for the price.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jake Siltberg
Dresser, Wisconsin
May 28, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Awesome knife... for the first 2 weeks
For the price this knife is awesome but I used it heavily for 2 weeks straight and the handle ended up cracking in half. If you get this dont drop it.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lou
Merica
Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Handle Material, None
Great deal!
Great knife for the price. Only thing that could make it better would be a harder handle material. the stop seats for the blade wear out making it no longer properly lock while open. Still a great buy!
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ben H
VT
Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great
It flips well, a bit heavy at first but easy to get used to. I had a problem with the latch, though; when I flipped, it fell down and got in the way of the blade, so I had to put elastics around it to stop it from doing that for now. Other than that, I had no troubles with it and love the knife.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Earnie
USA
Jun 04, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
Not Bad
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chad
PA
Sep 01, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Material, Handle Material
Decent
The knife is ok. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone but beginners. The handle is a soft steels so the blade pins indent it and that causes looseness in the blade. That being said it'll still flip just fine. It's 440c stainless which isn't anything special. All in all. If youre a new guy to balisongs this is a good starter. For the price it's a decent balisong.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
William L
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Apr 03, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, None
Cons: Lock Type, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
average knife, nothing special
The knife came as ordered and operated properly. I bought in case my son loses the one he has now. I find it to be an average looking knife and would look for a nicer one if I were to buy another. It operates as it is suppose to. You might just describe it as ho-hum.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Peklngduck
CA
Jul 09, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
It's Decent.
I got this blade just to see how fun flipping is. This was my first blade. Well, it's ALRIGHT. It's VERY lose, which isn't bad per say, but just make sure you get use to it because you flip like there's no tomorrow. It gets kind of wobbly. The blade looks nice, the handle looks nice. The latch it's easily fixable(youtube bear and son review). Overall it's fine for the price. Once I got a knifekit I've really realize how crappy this knife was compared to my kit. But this will do for a beginner. However, I still recommend a knife kit over this.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Brian
United States
Oct 03, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Ok, you get what you pay for.
Ok, so here's the skinny, I put a bunch of cons down and no real pros, but you can't argue the price. It's an ok knife for what you pay. Good to practice with.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Ben H.
Vt
Feb 14, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Type
Poor Quality
I made a previous review of the knife and said it was great. I take that back; I've had it for about two months and in that time, the handle has fallen off about four times and today, the handle fell off again and then snapped when it hit the ground. It worked well and flipped well for the month and a half that it worked before it started to break, but the quality is poor overall.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Steven H
New York, NY
Apr 08, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Frustrating latch
There is no spring holding the latch out of the way when you're flipping. It flops around as you twirl the knife and inevitably ends up so you can't close the handles without first moving the latch out of the way with your other hand. I don't think it's broken: there's no way for this not to happen with this design. And as others have said, the handles are heavy so the back of your hand really takes a beating.
Bear & Son 114 Balisong Butterfly Knife 4.125" Satin Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Ben
Winchester, Va
Jan 28, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Good flipper, but not very durable
I bought this knife to flip with, and it did fairly well in the beginning, especially for being at a lower price range. I mainly flipped it over my carpet and grass. Although I didn't put it through a lot, it was not long before the blade went from sharp to dull. After that it lasted for about a month, and then one of the handles broke off. It definitely did not last as long as it should have.