Reviews and Ratings for Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade

Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Bladerated 3.579 stars out of 5 (19 reviews)
3.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
6
3 star
5
2 star
1
1 star
2
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5 inch Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade

 

Price: $47.95

Save $24.55 (34%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
John S
USA
Oct 05, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Great product to have, very well made and would buy again!
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dae
Ocala, Fl.
Mar 26, 2011
Pros: Weight
Cons: None
It was an excelent service very please Thanks
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Loves_45S
Saginaw, MI
Feb 24, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
Best 30$ value out there
No, this isn't a lock black, uses a latch. If you use a butterfly knife you're fine with it. Yes, there are some paint chips that come loose, no big deal. The blade is totally flat on one side which is fine, looks great, great stabbing power and cutting power. Blade is superior quality. I can't believe it cost 30 bucks, what a value. And no, this isn't a Benchmade. What this is is an American made tanto butterfly knife of superior quality and value that could easily go through kevalr. I don't feel sharpening it any further than how it comes from the factory would be necessary. This a very nice knife by all standards. Could be a boot knife, bug out bag knife, console of car, pocket, it is just a great weapon. When open and latched it is study and has no play. The tip is wickedly sharp and angled, kind of like a stealth bomber. Its pretty cool. For 30$ if you don't have a butterfly knife get one of these before you buy a 300$ one. Im very happy with it. Doesn't have a pocket/ belt clip though, my one complaint.
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel A
San Jacinto Ca
Mar 22, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip
great knife
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeremy
Chicago
Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, None
Great knife, good handling, I also like the look and feel of the knife.
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ray R
va beach VA
Aug 31, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Lock Type
Great for the price
Good balisong for the price
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Alex H
Hillsboro wv
May 13, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: Blade Material, None
Love it
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt
Colorado Springs, CO
Sep 23, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
Good Utility Knife
The knife arrived, and is of sturdy workmanship. THe pins are solid, and it came well-lubricated. That being said, the knife is heavy, so it's not made for flipping. It works, but it hurts your fingers. It's made for being used, and it does that job marvelously. The locking pin has begun to flake, exposing the steel underneath. Other than that, it stands up to wear and tear great.
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris
Ca
Oct 26, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Weight, None
Solid knife
Great knife I use it mainly as utility it is real solid a bit stiff out of the box just wish I knew it was sharpened only on one side so it looks a bit funky but if you want a fun solid utility knife with out the thought of using it as a fast flipper its great I carry it all the time blade comes sharp enough to shave hair on my arm out of the box if you csn get use to the weight you can flipp it fast but you will feel it after a bit due to the weight
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Motion
North Dakota
Feb 15, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Not bad
Fairly inexpensive, but a real sturdy knife. As long as you don't pay any attention to the awful little latch. The paint on the latch started to come off within the day that I got the knife, and the latch can get stuck in awkard positions interfering with fully opening or closing the knife. The latch also has nothing preventing it from impacting the cutting edge of the knife itself. I like the weight, and the feel of the handles is esspesially good. I may just remove the latch and end up with a very nice little knife.
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Garrett
Ararat,VA
Oct 02, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Bear & Son Silver Vein 5
I use this knife every day for my work or to be amused by it. I really like the blade style and sharpness. The knife has a good feel to it and it has a very pretty color and texture to it. But the only thing I do not like about it is the lock because it could come open in your pocket. But other than that it is a very good knife.
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Kellen
Great Falls, MT
Jul 14, 2011
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Lock Type
1st Butterfly Knife
The knife works great for a first time butterfly knife, however it does get quite loose after just a few uses.
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Brian
Schenectady
Aug 04, 2015
Pros:
Cons:
ok
Was not what expected. It's a 1 sided blade, but it flips ok for a butterfly knife.
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Spencer
Hampstead, Nc
Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Handle Feel
I liked it till it broke.
Hey guys I've owned this knife for about two months now and I loved it... Up until the handle cracked about a week ago and it just snapped off. Now I have dropped it on some hard surfaces so I won't really blame it all on the knife but judging on how it broke it is clearly not a strong metal. However while it did flip well but the handels get greasy easily and are really slippery.
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Some Guy
Raleigh, NC
Mar 12, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Ok
This is a good knife for what I'll use it for-familiarizing myself with butterfly knives. It's a bit heavy and I like that. As was said before, the clasp gets to be annoying.
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
George
Cape Town, SA
Nov 03, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Cons: Lock Type, Handle Material
Good to start with
This is a good beginners butterfly and at the price well worth it. The closing mechanism is a bit stiff. Overall workmanship is acceptable but the paint at the closing mechanism chipped off after only 2 months.
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 2 stars out of 5
Connor
Maryland
Dec 26, 2012
Pros: Handle Feel, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality
Dont buy if you can afford a kimura 5!
This balisong is ok. Just ok. I used it for about a week and a half. It was pretty good! I even made a review on youtube about it saying to buy it. That was before i was flipping it and the handle popped off the knife and went flying. The pins just fell out. There is no way to loctite these pins because if you dont fully loctite them they fall out and if you do the knife glues shut. If youre buying a knife to use but not for flipping all the time sure buy it. But if youre gonna use it and flip it a lot, get a kimura V. It is such an improvement over this knife and its worth the 92 dollars. And there are screws that go in an insert that arent in contact with the pivots so loctite is safe. My suggestion is to buy any kimura.
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 1 stars out of 5
Sucks
your mom
Apr 22, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
it sucks
its really bad
Bear & Son 114A Silver Vein 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 1 stars out of 5
Will
Georgia
Dec 20, 2012
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use
Don't buy!
The back side of this tanto blade is completely flat. This not only gives the knife a very cheap feel, but because of the tolerances when flipping the knife the blade gets caught on the sides of the channel chipping the blade. I bought this for a present but when I saw it I decided to keep it as I was too ashamed by its cheapness to give it as a gift. Other than that the flipping action feels okay, weight is good and despot the awful grind its shipped with the steel feels marginally better then what I would have thought.