Reviews and Ratings for Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade

Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Bladerated 3.222 stars out of 5 (18 reviews)
3.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
8
3 star
5
2 star
2
1 star
2
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5 inch Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade

 

Price: $47.95

Save $24.55 (34%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
S
Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
the best
yea it was alright
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lmspeed
Saint George, UT
Jun 22, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Surprisingly good for the price
This was my choice to add a butterfly knife to my collection. I've always been skeptical of cheaper knives and seeing a lot of people saying there is no middle ground w/ butterfly knives (either you get a good Benchmade Model 42 for $200 or POS for <$100) this one is the exception. It has all the traits you should look for in a butterfly knife; one piece milled steel handles, pivot pins (not screws), and a good solid blade. It's very thick (4mm), wedge ground, and has a very nice edge on it. The only thing I don't like about it is the T-latch. At first is would stay put when locked open/closed but after about a week of use it has loosened and no longer stays put. If you're looking for a solid Butterfly knife for a good price this is it.
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rob D
NC
May 08, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Pretty solid
I sometimes carry this knife out of a random collection of other knives, and I like it. For the price, it's a very solid piece. Some people may find the blade shape a bit odd (Note how the product is always photographed with the left edge up)... Similar to the CRKT Kiss in that way. As an entry level balisong, you can't fault it.
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Birdmann
Central PA
Nov 08, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Bear Butterfly Tanto
I bought his Bear Butterfly because of the very good price and I knew what I was getting for that good price, a decent balisong for EDC. I bought a second one but had to send it back as the quality on that one was not acceptable. Overall, the knife is well made. I really like the chisel ground blade. If Bear comes out with a 3" chisel ground blade version, I will get one.
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Cardiac
ORLANDO FL
Jun 26, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
WELL PRICED BALLISONG
THE ONLY DOWNSIDE IS THAT THE PIVOT LOCK DOES NOT STAY IN PLACE. HOWEVER YOU ARE HOLDING THE HANDLE TOGETHER SO IT IS ONLY A MINOR INCONVENIENCE. THE BLADE IS SHARP,THICK,AND STRONG. A TRUE PENETRATOR OR LIGHT DUTY PRY BAR.NOT TO MENTION IT'S JUST FUN TO OPEN AND CLOSE
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dionysus686
michigan
Oct 28, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight
good solid feel
very solid knife, usable chisel-ground blade, quite heavy, although well balanced for its heft. the paint on handle does chip off rather easily, so don't drop it! overall, a great butterfly to train with, the extra weight takes some getting used to, but once you switch back to a lighter one you can really get em' flyin!
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joseoh C
HIaleah, Florida
May 18, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Durable Balisong
I have been using this knife for my every day I Carry piece. I like the tanto blade,and the feel of this knife. It opens smoothly, maintains the edge well, so far.I don't think I will have a problem with this knife as I have with other balisongs in this price range.I can only use one hand to handle a knife anymore due to an accident which left one arm paralyzed. I started using balisong knives many years ago. Although I prefer autos for personal use, I enjoy balisong action. I have a collection of some pieces that I picked up in Balisong, Phillipines some years ago and I wabted to carry one again for every day use and so far this one fits the bill very we. I am well sastifed with this knife as an every day knife. The only con I have us that sometines the lock disengages in the my pocket.
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Daniel
Maryland
May 27, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Affordable, fun, and cool
I am a big fan of butterfly knives. I love to play around with them and learn new tricks. Ideally I'd love to buy nothing but the best benchmade balisongs, but realistically I look for something more affordable. This knife has a very aggressive look with the tanto blade, and feels very solid. I would suggest taking a look at the BC114BTR if you don't have experience with butterfly knives.
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Roger S
Texas
Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Tougher than others
If your a fan of the butterfly knife ,but don't think it will stand up to the everyday rigors . This butterfly for the money will be worth your looking into.... Roger Smith rSb
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Allhaileris
Fairbanks, Alaska
Jun 04, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, None
Soundly built, but...
The knife is solid, not flimsy like most other balisongs I have handled in the past. The problem is the coating that gives the hanle its black appearance. It began peeling away straight out of the box. When you look at the details of the finish, it looks cheap and clumpy. They should have made the handle with carbon steel and skipped the powder coating.
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Josh B.
GA
Jul 11, 2012
Pros: Handle Feel, None
Cons: Overall Quality
It's ok.
This knife is OK. It's definitely not an expensive knife. The blade is chisel ground and I didn't know that before I bought it, but it will be fine to add to the collection.
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Vincent G.
Deployed- Middle East
Jul 22, 2012
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Good for the price
I'm an avid collector. I collect and train in the use of multi-edged weapons, so it's only natural that I would want a few balisongs to compliment my training. For the price, this blade is not bad. A little stiff out of the box, it moves well and has a good weight to it. I am currently deployed to the Middle East, and the heat and humidity has done a number on the blade itself, quite a bit of rust has collected after only a week or so of environmental exposure.
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chris.
Texas.
Jan 08, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
You get what you pay for.
I wish I knew this blade was chisel ground before I bought it. Bear and son market it as a taper ground blade which is a completely different style. The point is very sharp, however the armor piercing gimmick is a joke. What you get is a pointy knife with a dull edge that is impossible to sharpen. In spite of that it is a solid and surprisingly thick knife that will work well for self defense.
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Scotty
Holland Mi.
Jul 15, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality
solid handle balisong
Its a all right knife for the price as far as construction goes. No sandwitched handles no srews to come loose.The cons are the outer edge of the tang of the blade are not sanded smooth visible inperfection.So i sanded the edges smooth my self with the metal file on my leatherman
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 2 stars out of 5
Fyrehawk
Somewhere
Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Get what you pay for
Pros: It's a balisong knife and acts as such. Weight is nice. Cons: Dull as can be. The knife couldn't cut jello when I got it. It also looked like it had been used a couple of times and wasn't even in the plastic liner inside the box when it arrived. Uses pins for hinges so it gets really loose over time. This causes the T-hinge on the bottom to not easily slide into place, or slide out of place really easy. I don't feel with prolonged use that this knife will hold out that long. Overall, I bought a more expensive higher quality knife to replace this (Benchmade Balisong 63) - not even close to comparison (or price) so not really fair. This knife sits in my drawer keeping everything else company.
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 2 stars out of 5
Agalloch07
Illinois
Aug 02, 2010
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
I wouldn't buy this knife again
I bought the knife for a friends b-day present. It seems to be a good quality knife for the price I would buy another Bear & Son knife again just not this model. The blade profile is strange. The front side looks like a tanto but the back side of the blade is completely flat which is just weird. If i had known this i would have bought the non tanto version that Bear And Son sells.
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 1 stars out of 5
Themfm
LA
Jun 14, 2019
Pros:
Cons:
Worst balisong I’ve ever held.
Overall very disappointing knife. Out of the box the weight feels wrong the knife doesn’t move smoothly the handles feel way too light.
Bear & Son 114AB Black 5" Armor Piercing Butterfly Knife Tanto Blade
rated 1 stars out of 5
Matt
Colorado
Jan 18, 2014
Pros:
Cons:
Do yourself a favor and save up for a Kimura
Broke within 1 month of regular use(roughly 30 minutes a day). Dropped it a couple times but by no means put it through abuse. Very disappointed.