Reviews and Ratings for Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles

Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handlesrated 3.667 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
3
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875 inch Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles

 

Price: $75.95

Save $39.55 (34%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handlesrated 3.667 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
3
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Tomahawk
Florida
Mar 31, 2020
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Save your money
This knife is a piece of garbage, someone said it's sharp, it's butter knife dull. Bad build quality and a terrible flipper.
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Michael G
NC - North Carolina
Jan 24, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Sheath
Not a hollow ground blade. Chisel ground.
The knife has a solid feel and the handles look good and the blade Looks good until you realize that the blade is only ground on one side. I guess I didn't know what "Armor Piercing" meant as far as grind. Customer service said it's sometimes called a chisel grind, and fine, but how would I sharpen that? The blade being all diagonal and what has to have some impact on the balance. Looking at the picture I just thought this "armor Piercing" grind was just a beefy tanto style, but I was wrong. I'm trying to exchange it for the same style but a clip point blade.
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tig_Dude
Anchorage, Alaska
Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great first flipper
I'm not amazing flipper and mostly use it as a fidget toy. But definitely worth the money and looks amazing. It also flips super smooth and has stayed pretty tight after 2 months of 30-60min of light flipping 2-3 days a week. Would of likes if the points that contact the spine and kicker were smoother, as to not leave dotted marks.
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Cory
Savannah
Jul 15, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Piece of crap
This was a Damascus dip...not a real Damascus blade. Upon opening this blade I noticed the edge looked like a never had chewed on it. I sharpens it till is was razor sharp (took about 5 hours). Lost a lot of the "damascus" paint. And then it was completely rusted the next morning.
Knifecenter Note: The blade steel is Damascus. It is a hard material but we suspect this reviewer was oversharpening it. Damascus is generally composed of 2 different carbon steels and not stainless and so, it will rust. It generally shipped with an oil coating to prevent rapid rusting and should be kept oiled.
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Daniel
North Providence, RI
Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Was awesome for about a month then catastrophic failure
I bought this knife as a backup knife for my more expensive balisongs. After a month of intermediate flipping twice or three times a week, I realized that out of nowhere there were hairline cracks completely through each handle on all sides! I continued to flip it for a day or two when one of the handles finally gave way near the grip hole and completely separated from the rest of the knife. Only getting a month of light use out of an 70 dollar knife is unacceptable. I have been flipping balisongs for a few years now and I had not dropped this knife on any hard surfaces. Such a shame, because otherwise it would have been a sick knife for the money.
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
General Grevious
Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Another knife
This will make a fine addition to my collection.
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dawson V
Colorado
Aug 01, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
To awesome
Honestly it's heavy not really for tricking unless your really good. too sharp for my own good but how can you complain about a knife being too sharp really nice blade in general the Damascus is real.all I have to say is this knife the best for use
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michelle
Nc
Feb 22, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great service
Great service. Fast shipping. Exactly what was described
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry
NC
Feb 03, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath, None
Good Flipper
The only complaints I have is the lack of adjustability in the hinge pins. Change these to the adjustable brass inserts and this will make it a outstanding Ballisong. And include or make available a nice leather sheath. This knife is too big for a good pocket knife.
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Larry
NC
Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Balisong
This is my first balisong. I'm very happy with the quality of the knifes especially the blade. That Damascus blade is beautiful and deadly sharp. My only criticism , I wish it had the adjustable bearing and screw instead of the rivets. But it is very easy to use and learn on. My next Bali song will have the added features.
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jack J
Cleveland Ohio
Jul 08, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
Great first balisong!
The balisong action is very smooth and it is so damn sharp.
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jizz
Jizz
Jan 24, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Derek S Usmc
Bartow Florida
Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None
Awesome knive
Great addition to my carry selection very sharp and works well.
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Derek S
Bartow,fl.
Dec 26, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Former USMC bad ass knife!!!
Bear & Son 114AD Balisong Butterfly Knife 3.875" Damascus Tanto Blade, Silver Vein Zinc Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Rob Roy
Edmond OK
Nov 27, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality
damascus balisong
After polishing the etching out, so the blade would cut smoother, as the etching looks cool but hampers the function of the blade. Anyway I found flaws in the folds that the etching hid. The flaw in on the tip and could hamper the strength of the point. This is defiantly NOT 512 layers and the quality is very poor.