Reviews and Ratings for Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle

Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handlerated 3.969 stars out of 5 (32 reviews)
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
9
3 star
5
2 star
2
1 star
2
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5 inch Blade Black Handle

 

Price: $39.95

Save $20.05 (33%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zachary
Everywhere
Jul 03, 2012
Pros:
Cons:
Beginer
Is this a good knife for someone who never flipped before
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eman
New Jersey
Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great value. Nice knife
I was interested in learning how to use a balisong knife and looked at different makes. I didn’t want to invest a lot of money on something I might not like so I decided to try the 35 dollar model as apposed to much more expensive model. The bear and son model received high marks from other owners so I bought one. I am very happy with the purchase. It’s a well made knife and affordable. Another big plus is that it’s made in USA
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Klanman
University Park, MD
Sep 26, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, Blade Sharpness, None
Likely best butterfly knife for under $25.
There are fancier Bear's around, but utility wise, they are all the same. Don't buy cheapo Chinese butterfly knives when you can have this. Those are sandwich handle construction with soft metal and the screws strip easily. This is steel and good quality die cast with well made pins. I bought this in June 09 and used it heavily as I spend the summer in the woods. It has very little wear, other than the latch becoming looser. It requires very little cleaning. I made the mistake of letting someone else try tricks with it and they dropped it, twice onto concrete. Once it landed tip first and it actually was barely damaged. With some sharpening, the damage was gone. The second time, it landed handle first and the finish was fine. It came very dull, but I took a file to it and ground a proper edge to it. Then using a Japanese waterstone, 600 grit I believe, I put a razor edge on it. It holds the edge nicely. The only disadvantage is that it's not the best knife for tricks, as expected for $25. It is heavy and a bit bulky. The latch is also loose, but that can be fixed by slipping a rubber o-ring over it. However, the weight does allow you to train your tricks very well. When I got home I picked up one of my expensive butterfly knives that weigh next to nothing and was able to do tricks even better than before. This is a great utility knife that you can also show off a bit with. Very much worth $25.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe C.
Chicago IL
May 15, 2017
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Excellent Price, Excellent Service
Product was exactly as described, and less expensive than comparable items I'd seen elsewhere. Ordered on a Friday morning, got an email saying it shipped later that afternoon, and received the product the following Monday. Don't buy a lot of knives, but next time I'm in the market for one, this will be my first stop.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tony Cro
miami fl
Mar 18, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
great piece
this is a solid piece - im a martial artist and train with blades in both hands - this is a great left hand piece since i have more liner lock knives of the same blade length. there is no clip so it has to be pocketed - but allows for a quick deployment of palm stick use. i group up with a cold steel ti-lite and a finn bear (fixed). if youre worried about chipping and lose handles then no balisong will work for you - the blade is solid and flows great. if you have ever used a filipino made balisong then the weight should be no problem.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Logan D
Lubbock
Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great knife!
It works perfectly. I just use it to open boxes all day long so it's great. The latch hasn't gotten super loose at all. Would recommend.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matthew
Avondale Az
Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Very unexpectedly high quality.
The knife came in as a gift for my brother. I opened it before I gave it to him, just to try it out, and the action worked really well. The knife was a lot better than I expected for the price. It also came in razor sharp, which was great because I got to make a really funny snap on snapchat about it. The lock on the bottom of the knife took a little time to free up, but works well now.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chuck
Dallas, Texas
Apr 11, 2020
Pros: Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
Cons: None
Buy it!!!
I've owned this knife for 2 weeks. I love it. I take it with me everywhere I go.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed
new york
Jul 12, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None
great for the price. expect chipping on the paint.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rb
colorado
Jul 08, 2015
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath
sums it up good
Just what I expected from the description. Good quality definatley a great starter for the price. Wish it would have come with a sheath.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard S
Greensboro
Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Cons: None
Happy customer!
I like it overall, for the money I feel like it was worth it. I also like the simple fact that it's made in America.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knifeking
VA
Jun 22, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Type, None
generally awesome.
its an awesome knife at its price and it comes oiled and sharpened and everything its really fun to use and play with, and the weight is perfect. its really sharp and is better than some more expensive knives in my experience! the problem is that the lock can be a bit hard to use
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Condor
TX
Mar 16, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Excellent knife, excellent customer service.
Butterfly knife is just as described and arrived within days of ordering.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tj's Beater Flipper
A-town
Oct 09, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Pocket Clip
5 stars for this price point...
I have owned this Bali for almost 20 years now. I can honestly say, I've beat on it quite a bit... Are there better balis out there? Sure, but definately NOT at this piece's price... This was my second Bali purchase, I picked it up used at a yard sale ages ago. Since then I've used it off and on as an EDC, and a fool around flipper. Amazed at the blade quality for the $. I've resharpened it a few times over the years..quite easy to do so, and holds an edge quite well. I see ppl complaining about the permanent peened pins, it's really not a big deal. They get a little loose... at it over a work bench and give them a few taps with a ball pen hammer, and WHAM! Tightened pins just like that! Just go easy, or you'll be trying to break it back in for a month. Loose latch? Same solution, and you can add a small o-ring to help keep latch closed. You'll need that one you get good at flipping, (the handle material is a little cheap, and eventually the tang pin will beat grooves into the scales). Almost 20 years later, and it still flips like new with minimal upkeep. Still barely any play when locked open, so it's a good utility knife. Blade, point, and scales are still 100% intact. I can shave my face with her right now if I needed to! Only damage is some minor paint chipping... Under $40 for 20 years of fun and utility, what's the to complain about?! Great job Bear and son!
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rusty
French Lick, In
May 03, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Lock Type, None
ood Quality
well built...but the handle lock was to lose,might as well not even be there
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Francesco
Italia
Sep 03, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Buon Coltello
E' molto buono come coltello, gira bene e sono molto soddisfatto, l'unica cosa che ci tengo a far sapere è la fragilità dei manici che tendono ad allentarsi con l'utilizzo
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Randy
Santa Ana, Calif
Aug 21, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Good knife for the money
Knife is not expensive and being a novice, it makes contact with the ground quit frequently. Its a fun knife.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Andrew E.
Gainesville, FL
Jul 03, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Lock Type
Good Beginner Knife
I have always thought balisongs were very cool knives, and was searching for a decent knife that I could safely take with me to college to play with over the summer (one that I wouldn't mind having to ditch if I had to), and I was drawn to this knife. If you are looking for a knife that will last you your whole life, please stop reading this and go buy a benchmade. A $30 knife of ANY type is not going to last forever, nor is it going to be of any high quality. However, if you are looking for a good practice knife that can be beat up and handled often and still flip adequately, then you have found the right knife. Also, the knife is an ounce heavier than the standard weight for balisongs, making for a great practice knife (you build muscle faster and it makes other balisongs feel more natural). As stated in other reviews, there is no latch gate and as such the latch gets in the way of more complex maneuvers. This is easily fixed by either using a vice or hammer to tighten the pin, or by watching CutleryLover 's Youtube video on how to fix it ("Balisong Review: Bear Trainer" details the fix with an identical trainer knife). Overall, this knife is well worth the price, and is a good starter knife or practice knife for any knife fanatic.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ed
Philadelphia
Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None
Great for beginners
I bought this exact balisong about 2 years ago. I'm a balisong hobbyist, I love the hell out of them but I can't afford to own many until now, and with the release of the shrade bali I'm slowly getting back into the hobby. That's what makes the bear & son 114B a really good buy - if you're on the fence about buying a bali, if you're not sure you'll actually enjoy flipping them, or any other reason, it's absolutely perfect for that reason. Barely costs anything, great weight for doing all sorts of tricks, and buying a live blade is much better than buying a trainer. When I started flipping I put painters tape on the blade and never once got cut, & after I got confident I simply took the tape off and practiced with the live blade. The cons of this knife comes from the handle material. The handle I believe is made out of a cheap aluminum, so basically what happens is if you flip this knife for hours at a day every day for a month (like what I did since I LOVED flipping), the handle will start to basically tear off, and one day you might find this bali flying across the room with a piece of the handle in your hand. The actual blade that comes with the knife is amazing, it feels really really good and looks really good. If I knew how to make balisong handles I'd honestly take the blade from the handles and keep using it because it's honestly that good. As for the sharpness of the blade, it can actually make a good EDC (as long as carrying a butterfly knife is legal where you live :) ). Even now 2 years after owning it I still use my broken 114b to cut open boxes and letters. If you're an experienced flipper - this is NOT the right knife for you. Buy the shrade bali that comes with solid handles that won't break for 100 years, or buy a custom filipino knife. If you have the money and if you're a first time balisong buyer, think about even buying a benchmade used/new knife for $150-300. Just whatever you do, please don't buy a trainer for gods sakes unless you're buying the knife for a 12 year old kid.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Zachary
Everywhere
Aug 09, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Lock Type, None
Great knife sturdy
Great but gets a little loose after a while and has no latch guard
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
The Mantis
Mandeville, La
Jul 22, 2009
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, None
Great knife
I bought it for practice and it's doing a fine job. I just place tape over edge of the blade.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mcgillicuddy79
Illinois
Apr 29, 2018
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Well built for the money
This is a decent beginner Balisong. Better than expected and certainly better than a flea market special. The blade really isn’t sharp but that’s fine for now. I can sharpen later if need be. The powder coating on the handles is very nice with a good texture and should hold up for a long time. I’ve been flipping a lot for a month now and not a single chip in them. It was very tight at first but loosened up within a week. It’s quite smooth for not having bushings or ball bearings. You’d be hard pressed to find better quality for the money. I’m anxious to try a Bear OPS Balisong.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Deven
Texas
Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
good knife
only problem was that sometimes the lock would get in the way of it closing
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jhb
florida
Nov 17, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Type, Weight
not so bad....don't expect perfection though....
flips well and easily. a bit heavy, but works well enough. blade came semi-sharp. latch is the biggest disappointment on this. once the coating wears down from all the flipping...the latch flops around loosely and gets inside the handles and jams up your tricks. also flops around and doesn't keep the knife locked open or closed. my advice, use the o-ring tricks to fix both. once that issue is solved. handle play is pretty good, not too much, not too little. handles are potmetal of some kind. coating is thick, and a bit slick. chips easily where there is wear or contact. blade itself seems like it will hold an edge, but i haven't put it through the paces cutting yet. all in all a very good beginner bali. i don't think you will find much better for the price point. just don't expect very nice fit and finish. it works but it's rough all over in fit and finish. it gets "3 stars" cause it's not a 4 or 5 star knife. it's an affordable bali that works, but materials used and fit and finish would have to be allot better to get a 4 or 5 star rating.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chance
Sierra Vista, Az
Mar 08, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material
Decent knife
This, I feel was an ok knife. It was sharp, flipped just fine and felt vary nice to use. However the material cant stand up to abuse. I lost the tip on the first day out of the box and within the first 2 weeks, one of the handles broke. (Partially, there is a big crack) It was my own fault it broke because I used it above things like tile and cement. So as long as you use this above softer surfaces, I think you'll be fine.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Anthony
Illinois
Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Decent beginner flipper
Good knife for beginners. For me though, I was flipping it heavily for a week and a half and the handle broke right where the tang pin hit the handle. Could be a product defect not sure. But overall a solid knife, weight is nice and it is super sharp.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Aj
Western PA
Jul 29, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Lock Type
Not Impressed with the powder coating
While the knife has a good feel and balance I noticed after a day or so that the powder coating was coming off the back.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Joshua
Pennsylvania
Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Handle Material
Very good beginner
I learned all I know with a Bali-song using this knife. It's a great knife however when heavily flipped the handles broke just below where the tang pin hits. Only the safe handle broke but I noticed a huge crack in the metal on the bite handle as well. This knife will do well as a starter but I wouldn't get too attached to it. It's gonna break when you really get good with it.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Boomer1911a1
DFW, TX
Apr 04, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
They do come better...
I wish I had gotten one of the other reviewer's examples. They complain about it being too loose, but mine came so tight I cut myself on the first opening because the blade stayed wedged in the safe handle. After a full day of manipulating it, it still won't flip! Likewise, the latch takes concerted effort to open. On the plus side, the blade comes quite sharp from the factory.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Pete
Urbandale , Ia
Feb 15, 2020
Pros:
Cons:
low production quality
Knife was very tight out of the box. Loosed up after a lot of use. T-latch on handle is problematic. It gets caught on the tip of the blade quite a bit. I wouldn't recommend any of the balisongs from this mfg. They are low cost but if you're experienced or are going to use it for hours you will be disappointed..
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Josh G.
Portland, OR
Dec 29, 2011
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality
Not impressed
This knife was fun for about a day. The lock is constantly in the way, preventing the knife from opening or closing properly. The pins became way too loose after a couple days of flipping, and within a week the pot metal handle broke off completely. Do not waste your money on this knife.
Bear & Son 114B Butterfly Knife 5" Blade Black Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Spundoctor
california
Jan 30, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material
soft metal handle
When I tried to lock the handle in the open position the knobs on the blade deformed the handle metal and made it hard to open and close.