Reviews and Ratings for Bear & Son 114D Butterfly Knife Clip Point Blade Damascus Steel

Bear & Son 114D Butterfly Knife Clip Point Blade Damascus Steelrated 3.600 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
3.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
1
Bear & Son 114D Butterfly Knife Clip Point Blade Damascus Steel

 

Price: $69.95

Save $37.30 (35%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Bear & Son 114D Butterfly Knife Clip Point Blade Damascus Steel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nicholas
Ridge, Ny
Apr 29, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Great Butterfly Knife
This was the first butterfly knife I received as a gift on my birthday from a friend. Its been a few weeks and now I can write a competent review. And I gotta say when I looked up how much it is I realized it is totally worth it. At first when you get the knife it might seem pretty hard to flip because the handles and blade would not flip as smooth, but just give it some time and eventually after a few flips it will be flipping as smooth as butter. Blade was real sharp right out of the box and had a lot of oil on it. Powdered handle makes for an excellent grip and the latch construction is very strong. If you never had a butterfly knife before or just want to add to your damascus collection this is a great knife for the price. Highly recommend
Bear & Son 114D Butterfly Knife Clip Point Blade Damascus Steel
rated 5 stars out of 5
X
Nov 10, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
great knife
best knife for the price out there i reccomend this knife to anyone who wants a good balisong for a great price!
Bear & Son 114D Butterfly Knife Clip Point Blade Damascus Steel
rated 5 stars out of 5
W.G. Miller
Ohio
Aug 22, 2008
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
For the price, it's an excellent knife
I recently purchased one of these, and I have to say for the price, it's an excellent knife. To be honest, for twice the price it'd still be a great bargain. The Damascus steel is beautiful to say the least, and the fit and finish of the rest of the knife is top notch.
Bear & Son 114D Butterfly Knife Clip Point Blade Damascus Steel
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam
kansas
Apr 21, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
knife
I just bought this model blade from a local store as an impulse buy but am now glad i did, this knife a strong handle along with a nice one sided sharpened blade.
Bear & Son 114D Butterfly Knife Clip Point Blade Damascus Steel
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ninjaplz
San Diego, CA
Mar 22, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
A pessimistic review
First impression: Received the item very fast (thanks Knifecenter). However, it had a semi-sharp blade when shipped. To fix that, I just sharpened it - which took a longer time compared to stainless steel just because of how hard the steel is. The latch always plops around -- just bought o-rings to fix that. During manipulation: Weighed very well. Paint chipped when dropped in the edge of the handle. Handle material is not very strong -- the tang pin made crevices where it hit the handle. This made the blade hit the handle when manipulating to the closed position; amazingly, the blade stayed sharp. The blade is very sturdy even after dropping the knife a lot as well. Overall impression: Great beginner's knife. Great first butterfly knife purchase. The knife is very fun to use and it kicks up the intimidation factor. Damascus steel is a plus. Thinking of buying a benchmade model 42 now. Don't buy $20 knives. Invest in more expensive knives if you are serious about butterfly knives.
Bear & Son 114D Butterfly Knife Clip Point Blade Damascus Steel
rated 3 stars out of 5
Nicholas
Ridge, Ny
May 22, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Type
If you are a flipper beware
Edit of my review: After I got out of this semester and started flipping this non stop and practicing more complicated moves where knife would fall on occasion the latch became so loose that it actually started closing the knife on me when I was doing certain tricks which might be dangerous if you are looking into flipping all day.
Bear & Son 114D Butterfly Knife Clip Point Blade Damascus Steel
rated 3 stars out of 5
A Person
Somewhere
Jan 14, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material
Okay Knife
I bought this knife with the purpose of flipping it and flip it I did. It lasted several months before the handle snapped in two. I did occasionally drop it and was using it almost daily. It served it's purpose but I'm probably not going to buy another. If the brittle steel handles can break after several months of flipping then its likely not for me. The damascus was also inked on but thats to be expected.
Bear & Son 114D Butterfly Knife Clip Point Blade Damascus Steel
rated 3 stars out of 5
Peter Huynh
Jul 08, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Lock Type, Weight, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Sheath, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use
Its actually worth the price, but this is my first CCC balisong. It has milled steel handles with pins instead of cheap screws so the quality isn't bad, but if you can afford it I'd go with a balisong with titanium handles like benchmade model 42 or the elusive Cold Steel arc angel. Oh and there isn't a gate for the locking pin, it moves freely and can impact the blade edge. The handles mimic the arc angel but the holes are smooth and not sharp, and the box it comes in is bloody huge.
Bear & Son 114D Butterfly Knife Clip Point Blade Damascus Steel
rated 2 stars out of 5
Brandon
California
Dec 15, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality
Disappointed
I received this knife around one week ago and played with it for hours daily. This is my first butterfly knife and I practiced kneeling down by a pillow so the knife wouldn't get damaged as much as standing. It is already too loose and does NOT flip good anymore. I might have practiced too much but I was expecting it to last at least few months.
Bear & Son 114D Butterfly Knife Clip Point Blade Damascus Steel
rated 1 stars out of 5
Lenny M.
NL
Oct 21, 2018
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Low quality
One of the lowest quality knives I've ever owned. Latch is so loose that its constantly in the way when flipping, so I removed it. Handle material is so weak you could very easily snap it with your bare hands. My handle broke and it's just about unusable now. Never getting another Bear & son product. Not worth the money.