Reviews and Ratings for Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles

Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handlesrated 3.960 stars out of 5 (25 reviews)
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
13
3 star
5
2 star
1
1 star
0
Bear & Son 114TR 5 inch Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles

 

Price: $39.95

Save $20.05 (33%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michele
Kansas
Aug 21, 2013
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Trainer
My son tried a less expensive trainer that fell apart after one day. The Silver Vein looks like a real knife and is very sturdy. I would highly recommend it!
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blazer10
missouri city, tx
Jul 20, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Type
great trainer
Great base trainer. Gave me the want to upgrade to a real high quality balisong
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anonymous
Aug 30, 2016
Pros:
Cons:
Great Knife
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
T Roberts
Oregon
Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Excellent product, fast shipping
I would definitely but from them again. Fast shipping and item is of very good quality and exactly what we wanted.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matias
pussywold
Nov 07, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight
nice trainer for beginner to expert
This trainer knife feels smoothly on yours had. It flip exelent
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Balisong 101
Wisconsin
Nov 04, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Type, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use
great for the money
this is truly a great knife, perfect for kids who have parents that wont let them get a sharpened one. it comes pre-lubricated, and ready to use right out of the box. its a little on the heavy side, but easy to get used to. especially if your just getting started. the only downsides are that the paint chips off fairly easily, (but only on the latch). and that the latch is not going to stay in. i fixed this by closing the latch, and squeezing the surrounding handle metal with a pliers, that should help. it has pin construction, so you wont need locktite.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Shervin N
California
Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
Pretty good trainer
I think that this is a perfect knife for beginners. The weight is good for me, helps get good swings but not heavy enough that it slows it down. The only problem is that the lock opens too easily if you use it too much. It also goes everywhere so it might not be too good for some people but I have no problem just ignoring it. Overall this is EXCELLENT for the price. If you buy it keep in mind you have to break it in before getting to the advanced stuff so just do some basic opening and closing then gradually go to more advanced moves.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John S
Mayflower, Pacific Ocean
Sep 20, 2010
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Yeah
I use this to practice advanced moves that I wouldn't try with a sharpened knife. I liked the weight and feel of it. I didn't like the action too much, kinda stiff. It might just have been mine. Overall, It was worth the money for me.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John Rapp
Westchester County
Dec 25, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use
This trainer is excellent for beginners who want to start doing tricks with a balisong. Right out of the box, it twirls great and the weight is almost perfect. My only complaints are that the handles are almost too loose and the lock often locks wrong because of the loose handles. Also, the safe handle will compress and make it almost impossible for the lock to fit into the bottom of it. This can be temporarily fixed by shoving the lock in and keeping it locked for about 5 or 6 hours. The safe handle will then decompress and it will be good practice again.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Payton Risch
Englewood, Co
Dec 03, 2014
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Type, None
Good for Practice
I used this for a couple months after the handle on my other one cracked and broke off. It has a good weight and flips nicely. It's stiff when you first use it but loosens up quickly but doesn't get too loose. The latch gets in the way after it loosens up so I removed it and it was fine afterwards until the same crack appeared in the same place right below where the handle pin is after a couple months of regular use. It's a good trainer for the price just dont expect it to last very long
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
C Lightfoot
wisconson
Mar 19, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None
well built for the money
Just got into flipping & I have been using the bear & son trainer every day since I got it. It has held up very well & it hits the deck often. The latch gets in the way sometimes, but a couple orings helps that. Would buy again.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Benjamin T
Norway
May 13, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, None
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer
I used it alot over a week, probably 2-5 hours a day. I enjoyed it alot, a little too heavy and better to flip without the latch. Also perfect length, not too long nor too short. Impossible to get cut but can get bruised a bit. If you are going to buy it, look up some videos of the trainer knife and/or posts or review about it (there's not alot of reviews on this knife on youtube, but alot reviews on one similar.)
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Soren
Grantsburg
Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material
Great Butterfly Trainer
I am new to Balisong flipping and was looking for a decent trainer, i happened upon this one as my brother has one of the same brand. I decided to purchase this one because It seemed like the best quality for the price...and i wasnt disappointed. The quality is good, right out of the box after the first few flips it loosens up and is very easy to flip, and even after many hours of flipping it has held up pretty good. I would recommend this Knife Trainer.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brant
Sebring, FL
Nov 28, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Decent quality for the price
This was my first butterfly knife and my first purchase from Knife Center. I was very impressed with the shipping, very prompt and hassle-free. The boxing was minimal but that was expected. As for the trainer itself, it came out of the box a bit stiff, but after some manipulating the oil spread around and loosened it up nicely. It started out with the perfect amount of play but within hours one of the handles went just a bit too far for comfort. I reported this to Knife Center and got a fast response saying I could send it back for a replacement, but I couldn't bare the thought of giving up my trainer for a few days, so I charted it up as a charming character flaw and have really enjoyed using it. I'm actually about to order a second one, since my roommate enjoys playing with mine so much. Having a trainer is wonderful. I've learned very quickly because I can try anything as often as I want, with a mistake simply meaning a drop or lightly bruised fingers as compared to a visit to the doctor. As many have said, this is a fairly heavy knife, you'll get used it rather fast but it will wear you out. Momentum-based tricks are pretty nice though. The paint will wear in some places within a few weeks. The latch is just as bad as people say. It started out fine but within hours it was too loose. I just wrapped it with a bit of tape sticking straight out and left it that way. Not the most elegant of solutions but definitely functional. All in all, it's a fantastic product for it's price. It has its flaws, but I recommend it wholeheartedly for anyone interested in butterfly knives. The ability to rapidly learn without risk to your hands is wonderful.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kt
Claremont , CA
Oct 06, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight
Great trainer to start with
I have had this now for a few weeks and everyday I get better and better at flipping it. I have noticed that it is a bit on the heavy side, which makes some moves a bit difficult. Other then that this trainer is built very well and I plan to keep this for a long time. Thanks for your business.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Esar
USA
Jul 28, 2013
Pros: Weight, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: None
Trainer
This item is a good safe affordable way to practice. So far after several weeks, action is fast and fairly quiet as it loosens up. Weight is heavy but makes it easy when you switch over to a real one which is the same weight or lighter but that’s expected. The silver vein in my opinion is better than the painted as the finish will not wear or flake off easily. Nice that it’s US made. If it wears out I'd probably get the same one again.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Adam F
nj
Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Great low-cost trainer.
This balisong is great for beginners. It flips well but compared to other trainers it is on the heavier side, but it is better to go from a heavier one to a lighter one, rather than vice-versa. One small turnoff for me is that the lock latch has no guard, so it can really get in the way whilst flipping, but a well fitting o-ring can fix this easily.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mg
USA
Jun 13, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Great Trainor
The Silver Vein is a great trainer. Functions smooth and has a great look. The heavy weight of it prevented me from giving it a 5 Star rating. Highly recommend it for people to train with.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
E.Vill
Boston, MA
Dec 28, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Material
great for practice
bought this to practice with, knowing it was only for practice. it was more about learning which handle to hold and not stab/cut myself as i learn to manipulate it. IT IS A PRACTICE BLADE, if you buy this without realizing that you're bound to be disappointed. its for beating up, dropping, smacking you fingers, beating up, dropping, and learning to use the sharp version. saying all that it was a bit heavy on the front end (which is kinda a duh), the handle coating chiped, and the locking t-bar thing kept getting in the way of my manipulations. great for first learning to use a balisong/butterfly, it was much cheaper then the doctors bill i'd've had if i'd bought a sharp blade (and i don't care what people say, i'm not putting tape on the edge of a good blade!) and i intend to practice new moves on this before i try to show off with my sharp one.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Skyler
Pittsburgh
Dec 10, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Overall Quality, None
Quirky but usable
I received the trainer as a gift. It is solidly put together though a little on the wobbly side. When I first got it it was very stiff, but after loosening up it became easy to use, however now there is too much play in the handles. The tang pin extends more on one side of the knife than the other and is too small in diameter, so that the handles smack into each other when flipped into the open position. It is heavier than my previous trainer, which took some getting used to. Textured paint is chipping off. Still overall it feels sturdy, and I am confident it was good value for the money.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Evan C.
Malaysia
Oct 11, 2011
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, None
Cons: Handle Material, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type
Overall durability
First of all, I only use this knife to practice and find that it is a quite heavy knife. I find it easy to twirl due to its handle weight which gives it more momentum. One thing I do not liek about this blade is that the material is quite soft and i find that the metal bends easily when applied force as well as the blade, which chips if a moderate amount of force is applied to a small area. Also, the 'paint' or finish, scrapes of easily and moving parts in contact wear down easily even though i use silicone lubricant. It became considerably looser after around 2 weeks of using and wear marks were very obvious. The safety latch is also quite loose and can get in the way sometimes. A rubber o-ring should come with it or it should be changed to a spring latch for convenience.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Marc
Montreal
Jan 28, 2019
Pros: Handle Material, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Weight
Decent trainer
After 2 years i still own it, i learned a few tricks with that thing. It’s a big and very heavy trainer, comes loose out of the box. The lock pin is big and annoying. I dropped it a lot of times and still look and operates like a new, need’s lube often. For the money i paid it’s a great purchase! Will probably go someday for a good quality trainer.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Hopper
Oklahoma
Oct 04, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, None
Cons: Weight, Lock Type, Overall Quality
acceptable
Okay for the price. The latch sticks, making latch moves difficult to practice. Also, riveted instead of screws.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Sellers Iii
Austin, Texas
Aug 17, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Handle Material, Lock Type, Weight, Overall Quality
Does what it is supposed to do
I purchased this balisong trainer because my State has finally seen the light and removed butterfly knives from the illegal knives list in the Penal Code. I wanted to learn some flipping techniques without being cut and I didn't want to purchase an actual balisong and put electrical tape over the blade, as many suggested; because if I found that butterfly knives weren't for me, I would rather be out of $30 than $100 or more. Like many other reviewers said, the trainer is basically disposable. It will last long enough for you to learn your basic tricks and practice more complicated or dangerous ones down the road. The latch is a nightmare. It flops around, sticks and gets in the way a lot. The handles are slippery and the fit is loose and sloppy. It is also a little heavy; which is good and bad. Still, for the price, I have learned enough to know that I want to graduate to an actual balisong knife. I now understand what experienced flippers meant when they said too much time with a trainer can ingrain bad habits. Overall, the trainer does what it is supposed to do and you get what you pay for. No regrets about this purchase.
Bear & Son 114TR 5" Butterfly Trainer, Silver Vein Slotted Metal Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Coulton
Oly WA
Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Weight, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Handle Material
No...Just no....
Okay so I purchased this awhile ago and at first I was very happy with this product, but as I started flipping it more and more I noticed stress crack towards the tang. At first this didn't concern me but they started getting larger until it broke....on the 4 day . I owned this for four days and it all ready broke. I am not happy with this product. I bought a 6 dollar trainer before this one and that one lasted about 6 months.... this, "higher quality" balisong trainer was a failure in my aspect. Don't waste 30 bucks on this thing...waste of time and excitement.