Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade Hunt North Fork Folding Knife 2.97" S30V Blade, Stabilized Wood Handles - 15031-2

Benchmade Hunt North Fork Folding Knife 2.97" S30V Blade, Stabilized Wood Handlesrated 4.636 stars out of 5 (11.0 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Benchmade Hunt North Fork Folding Knife 2.97 inch S30V Blade, Stabilized Wood Handles

 

Price: $157.25

Save $27.75 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade Hunt North Fork Folding Knife 2.97" S30V Blade, Stabilized Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Calvin D
Baltimore, MD
Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Fantastic Knife!

I've had my North Fork for about half a year now. It disappears in my pocket, yet is quickly and easily deployed when needed. I am constantly fiddling with the knife because it's such a joy to flick open and closed single-handed, and it is as tight today as it was on the day I received it. Lock-up is SUPER tight, yet the action is smooth. Really great knife. The blade material is S30V, which is a premium, but not quite elite steel. I still have the factory edge on mine, and it still shaves paper with no problem (after using the knife multiple times per day, every day). I love how classy and non-threatening the knife looks, perfect for office use. Despite it's tame looks, I know that if I ever needed to deploy my North Fork for defensive use, it would prove potent and reliable. Feels rock solid in hand despite it's relatively light weight. The dymondwood is very grippy, and seems to get grippier when wet. My only gripe with the knife is that it is branded as a hunting knife (think gutting, skinning, etc). The reason that this bothers me is that the axis lock is prone to collect things like bits of meat, fat, blood, etc., and the locking mechanism is a bit of an annoyance to clean once it gets gunked up. For EDC use, this is NEVER a problem, but I figured it was worth mentioning to hunters looking to get this knife. I would suggest the Small Summit Lake model for hunters looking for a gutting blade, and I plan to pick one up myself before next year's hunting season.
Benchmade Hunt North Fork Folding Knife 2.97" S30V Blade, Stabilized Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott Mcc
Illinolis
Nov 27, 2018
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Beautiful/Effective

If you are tired of knives that do not cut or need to be constantly sharpened,than you need to own this knife. After owning many many mediocre knives, I finally spent a little more money and do not regret it in the least. I am a union electrician and work with men that are not easily impressed. This knife impressed. This knife cuts like a knife is supposed to. Like always, don't skimp on a tool. Great knife.....period.
Benchmade Hunt North Fork Folding Knife 2.97" S30V Blade, Stabilized Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dozer
TN
Jan 30, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, None

Beautiful EDC Knife

Beautiful wood scales are a joy to look at and handle. The blade is razor sharp. It holds and takes and edge. It opens buttery smooth and clothes just and easy. You may have noticed that I checked both pro and con for lock type -- for EDC it is great but this knife is marked as and a hunting knife but the locking mech. is hard to clean after field dressing an animal. Just something to think about. Bottom line; this is a great knife and I highly recommend it.
Benchmade Hunt North Fork Folding Knife 2.97" S30V Blade, Stabilized Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Walter F
McComb, MS
Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Excellet EDC

This is my first Benchmade, and I'm really impressed. I like the size and style of this knife, and it's a great EDC. It feels great in the hand, and the S30V blade holds a great edge. The AXIS system also works very smoothly. I am looking forward to adding more Benchmades to my collection.
Benchmade Hunt North Fork Folding Knife 2.97" S30V Blade, Stabilized Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
San Diego
Oct 28, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great knife

Everyday use on anything. Great action opening and very smooth closing with a great lock.
Benchmade Hunt North Fork Folding Knife 2.97" S30V Blade, Stabilized Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stuart M
long island
Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

best edc for lefthanded

I have had mine for two weeks and as a lefty its perfect and love the look of it the blade works just fine and the sv30 is big plus love the look of the diamond wood etc it is my new edc havent taken my manix 2 out of the draw after getting this knife
Benchmade Hunt North Fork Folding Knife 2.97" S30V Blade, Stabilized Wood Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jeff
Canton, Oh
Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Amazing Knife and Deal

I looked online for this knife for about 10 minutes, I saw the Knife Center had the best price so I looked up their reviews and decided to go ahead and buy it. Easily a great decision on my part. The service was excellent the shipping was free and the knife is the best I own. No reason to go anywhere else.
Benchmade Hunt North Fork Folding Knife 2.97" S30V Blade, Stabilized Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Illinois1
Illinois
Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

High quality

The overall quality of this knife is very good as expected. I also like the appearance and feel of the handle. The reason I did not rate as a 5 is because of the blade thickness near the tip. Drop point blades are much thicker at the tip than a clip point for example which gives it more strength. However, the spine thickness of this blade was carried out almost all the way to the tip. This made it difficult to get the point into narrow areas such as opening an envelope or cutting a zip tie. I narrowed the spine near the tip and the knife is now much more useful as an ever day carry.
Benchmade Hunt North Fork Folding Knife 2.97" S30V Blade, Stabilized Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe
Florida
Jan 11, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Gents Hunter

This knife is superb in form and function. It has replaced my 943 for edc. It’s the only knife I own with a sub 3” blade. The slight recurve is an asset as you get more cutting edge in a small package. The jimping is useful but not too aggressive. As usual the Axis Lock is without flaw. Any gentlemen hunters out there should strongly look at this knife. It is a beauty to hold, all American made!
Benchmade Hunt North Fork Folding Knife 2.97" S30V Blade, Stabilized Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Wyatt F
Pennsylvania
Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel
This knife is a well designed tool, although it's all around uses such as EDC are argued about, we must remember it wasn't created for EDC. It was made to handle cleaning and processing larger game. The thickness of the blade is great for when you are reaching deep up into that chest cavity blind. The gimping on it isn't that useful for other than locating where you are on the blade. The finish on the stabilized wood and the high quality S30V stainless steel comes in handy because blood will quickly take the finish off of wood or normal steel. We all know you can't clean the knife out in the field that well. Besides, cleaning the knife becomes a secondary thought to packing the game out. Overall though I give this knife a four out of five due to the ergonomics of the handle. It promotes a singular grip style, and if you have ever processed an animal you would understand that a different grip will give you a different cut. Great job Benchmade!
Benchmade Hunt North Fork Folding Knife 2.97" S30V Blade, Stabilized Wood Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michael
Temecula
Nov 01, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Hunter

I purchased the Hunter as smaller EVD compared to the the Benchmade Persido which a bit larger and heavier. While both are great knives there are times when I am working out doors I carry the Persido when I am out to dinner with the wife I usually opt for the Hunter. If you have not carried a Benchmade and you don't loose knives up grade from that $40.00 knife to about $160.00 the quality is worth the price.