Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles - 581

Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handlesrated 4.635 stars out of 5 (52 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
42
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
2
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6 inch M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $221.00

Save $39.00 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex N.
Laurel, MD
Jun 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

awesome tool

I use my knife mostly for work, i'ts very sharp and I am amazed about how well it keeps it's edge. My knife is also very fast and is very easy to use. This is my favorite . I have nothing negative to say. It so simply awesome
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
New_Bench_Fan
Tbilisi, Georgia
Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Best knife for any hunter!!! Superb steel - blade quality!

Superb steel - blade quality, amazing & smooth mechanism, cuts like sharpest blade you've ever felt... Much better than any SpyderCo knife I have owned.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spkuse
Chantilly, VA
Apr 13, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

581 is #1

I got this knife because of the reviews. I have to say it is the fastest knife to open out of all that I have. The Axis assisted opener is lighting fast. The quality of the knife is good. I liked it so much that I even bought the mini Barrage! It is a beautiful knife in the pictures as well as in your hands. You will not go wrong with this knife. I have carried it all week and the clip is strong and no signs of weak material noted.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luka
Zagreb, Croatia
Jan 25, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

Top quality and USA made

The reviews speak for themselves, this is a top quality knife. It was my first knife, I just fell in love with the excellent design and feel of the Barrage. Lock is very strong, assisted mechanism is very fast and it deploys finely made drop point blade made of M390 super steel in a matter of milliseconds. It has only one problem, it is a bit heavy for EDC use but its built like a tank and it will perform very well in that role if you don't mind that extra few ounces.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vlad
Roselle, IL
Apr 24, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: None

One of the best knives I ever had

Very good and practical design for EDC. Excellent edge retention!
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bud Dunlap
Wilson, Nc
Jul 20, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

This is a great looking knive.

This is the best looking Benchmade knife I own. I was a litttle disapointed with the edge, but my Spyderco Sharpmaker got it scary sharp fast. Opens with a blur & the M390 steel is the best there is. Custom features & quality at an affordable price. The blade has an orginal shape too. I'm a happy camper all around.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
D. W
Portland, OR
Mar 30, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Perfect EDC Knife

This is my all-time favorite carry knife. Good quality, handsome, feels great, very solid and smooth. It could be too big and heavy for some, but I prefer larger knives. It would be hard to find a nicer knife for the money.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ahr-Kay
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 23, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None

extreme precision

This is not a knife, this is precision machinery, it is very sharp, the opening and closing mechanism oozes precision of a very high magnitude. I am very pleased with this purchase. Highly recommended
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kdpainter
Lompoc, CA
Dec 20, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Great except for factory edge

This is my first Benchmade and it truly is an excellent knife. I like everything about it except the edge that came on it out of the box. It was sharp but you can't sharpen it easily with the more common sharpening tools due to the m390 steel. As a result, I finally broke down and bought a Wicked Edge system I had been looking at for a long time and now, wow! This thing is frighteningly sharp! For myself, I really can't think of a knife that would be a better EDC than this one. So, if you are looking at this knife, I would wholeheartedly recommend it but be aware that putting a really good edge on it is a challenge. The edge Benchmade puts on it isn't much good so you are going to want to sharpen it right away. In my case, I wanted to sharpen it within minutes of unboxing it.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spence
Buffalo, NY
Jun 08, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

My favorite knife !

I love this knife. I love the size. I love the shape of the blade. I love the scales and the overall design. I am a great fan of Axis Lock and it is so much nicer with assisted opening ! This is my favorite knife out my entire collection ! Ok, I know I have to have one grip. I do understand the reason is to make it affordable. I just wish the blade had a better finish
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill
Fayetteville , Tn
Nov 16, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Benchmade Barrage 581

I think the other reviewers have said it all. Every so often an item comes along that all others try to measure up to. The Barrage measures and surpasses all of my expectations. I have high dollar guns, rods and reels, but I wouldn't pay this much for a knife. I am sure glad I did. I couldn't possibly be more happy. Workmanship and quality is superb. I tried to fault the knife when it arrived and I couldn't. At 62, I still smile every time I pull out my Barrage. Only con I have ever heard about the Barrage that it was a bit on the heavy side. Not for me it's perfect. And the best is it's American made. I feel a bit more safer because of the knife's size. I sit around and slice paper like butter for amazement.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
T Dub
Charlottesville VA
Jun 04, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Awesome knife

When I saw my friends Barrage I had to have one. Well built knife with great features. Very quick release and shaves out of the box. All around great knife and would highly recommend. Best price on the net
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James W.
Miami, FL.
Jun 02, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Good looks and Quality.

I have yet to be disappointed with Benchmade. I've got the 583 Barrage Tanto, The Warn Barrage Tanto, And now this one. I like the shape of the blade a lot. It passed the cutting paper in air test and shaving test out of the box. The handle is very nice. It feels good in your hand and the G-10 looks great. The milling lines left on the aluminum bolster are a nice touch, I'm a huge fan of the AXIS lock. The safety lock can also be used as a back up. I know my fingers are safe! My only complaint is the stone wash finish on the blade and bolster is a little too much. It could be a little more shiny.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None

My Favorite Knife

I coveted the Benchmade model 581, and at the time I was deciding which higher end knife I would buy, I had not considered spending so much yet on ANY knife. Finally, I talked myself into it... and haven't regretted it. I love this knife. Partly, it's about style. Everyone has their preference, but I like knives with a classy yet modern look. Aluminum bolster and G10 scales are like a modern take on the classic wood and brass bolster look. The complete symmetry and ambidextrous operation of the knife is nice, and the blade shape is a very good mix of elegance and pragmatism. The assisted opening mechanism adds a level of assurance to opening it when you need to, and the Axis lock so far has always locked up solidly with no blade play. The quality of overall construction matches the high level of engineering in his knife, and the M390 steel promises piece of mind in performance. It's a bit heavy for the blade length by some standards. A Spyderco with a similar length blade would probably be lighter by 2 or more ounces. I probably wouldn't want to carry anything heavier everyday, but it isn't so heavy in the pocket that I notice it. Some people may like lighter knives, but I personally like the feel of that weight now in my hand. Also, the Axis lock isn't the easiest to get used to, compared to say a liner of frame lock. Operating it with one hand is easy for me now, but when brand new the springs were tight, and the Axis stud is a bit sharp. I rubbed by thumb raw a few times before I started using two fingers on the same hand to work both studs of the Axis. This is my EDC knife, it has been for a year now, and I find use for it everyday. I think it best fits me. If I were a knife, I'd be a 581 Barrage by Benchmade.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hannes
farm
Mar 10, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

110%

I had a BM 719 as an EDC. I was a hundred % satisfied with it. When I saw this knife in Knifecenters newsletter I knew, I had to get it. I have had it for a couple of weeks now and it just looks and feels ideal. I still like the 710, functionally the difference is not big, if any, but there just is something about this knife that makes it special. I wasn't very sharp out of the box but for me it didn't matter - I would have resharpened it anyway.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William
Oak Harbor, Wa
Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

Excellent in it's Own Way

This is easily one of my favorite Benchmades now. I g10/aluminum handles are a huge step up from the 580's. The aluminum gives it a gentleman look yet the M390 makes it a heavy user if needed. I would like to have it with full g10 handles though. M390 is wonderful in every aspect. Probably my favorite thing about the knife. It holds a fantastic edge forever but can be a problem to sharpen if you're a little inexperienced. I took the spring out and made it a manual opener because it's easier to close one handed. It's still very smooth as if it had ball bearings. My only concern about the knife is the weight. I understand why it's as heavy as it is, but would love to have it a little bit lighter.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob C.
Central Massachusetts
Apr 25, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

My new EDC

Poetry in motion! The quick opening, very sharp & very strong blade deploys easily and can be locked in place. I love the looks and feel of this folder (and have to admit I fondle it often during each day). The axis lock system is my favorite because it's easy to close with one hand. I am always confident about the lock-up of the blade. The only negative I have is the heavy weight of it in my pocket, but that's me. I'm always looking for the maximum knife that has great looks and utility value but is the lightest possible for my front pants pocket.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
I.T.T
Sydney, Australia
Sep 24, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

One word - "BEAUTY"

Good gripping surface on the handle. It's very fast (actually, it's damn fast) and very easy to use. Combination of the strength and luxurious. It came very sharp and it IS KEEPING the edge (I already used my to cut some wires and ropes - it goes like through the butter). Outstanding EDC (by my opinion). All positive words for 581. Well done Benchmade.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
John P
PA.
Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

The total package.

Benchmade put it all together with this knive.This could get knive of the year every year.I carry my 580 but not my 581 its to good.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Conservativefan
Raleigh, NC
Jul 07, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Benchmade Barrage with M390 Steel

I own about 6 or 7 benchmades and they all have their strengths all of them are good quality and I do love playing with the slide lock types by flicking it open and closed with just a little wrist motion. This assisted open will be nice to use and I already love this knife. It has my favorite point and lets face it the steel is awesome. I never let my knives get so bad that I need to re-profile or even do heavy sharpening. I really like the Fallkniven hand sharpener for the fine side it works like a dream if you know how to use it. I've heard a good deal of folks bad mouth that little sharpener and I just laugh thinking they never really gave it a chance. I also like the buck diamond sharpener the little thin one that weighs nothing and also works like a dream. This is one of benchmades best folders IMO and will be a great EDC. So now it gets to alternate with my Freak and Spyderco Endura 4 with ZDP - 189 as that is one hell of a knife as well and for only 120 also a great deal. I am never a fan of anything that starts with mini so only full sized knives for me.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry M.
California
Apr 23, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight

Big, Bold, and Handsome.

I purchased the Benchmade 581 Barrage a month ago. Some may feel the Barrage is too big and heavy but it would depend on the products use. When I first unboxed the Barrage I was set back by its fit, finish and superior craftsmanship. The G-10 and Aluminum handles look great and feels like you are holding a knife of exceptional quality. The satin blade coming in at 3.60 inches in length supported by the M390 super steel is simply amazing. The Barrage may not be my first choice to grab for EDC around the house but I do carry it when I’m out and about, wanting a knife for defensive back-up if the time of need ever presents itself. The Barrage is big and heavy but is immediately forgotten about once in your hand – it will handle any task with authority.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gregory T
Riverside, CA
Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Quality made in America

This knife lived up to it's promise...quality made, nice heft and very sharp right out of the box. Carries well for everyday use. The tip-up carry makes it very convenient and the asisted open is very fast. This will make a nice tool for years to come.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jay R
Memphis, Tn
Dec 07, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Barrage Is Better Than Road Rage

And if you have this knife, you can protect yourself. Totally unlike the scenario that an angry pistolero would pose when behind the wheel and disapproves of your driving. I have had this for over a year. I don't carry it as much as I would like because the thot of losing $200 gives me pause. It is a wonderful knife. If Benchmade would just chip them like the vet does dogs, it would indeed be a perfect knife.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim O
Mears, MI
May 11, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

First Benchmade Purchase

I use it for cutting branches, rope, boxes, hose. The materials on this knife are first class. I first thought this may be too fancy or attractive for my needs, but don't hesitate to be tough with this knife. It can take anything. Not one negative thing about this knife.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Datajockeys
Hillsboro, OR
Feb 28, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None

Excellent replacement for my CQC7.

Great engineering, well up to Benchmade standards. Rounded corners save pockets from wear.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Radovan
Knin, Croatia
Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

A joy and privilege to own.

This is one serious working mans knife. The multiple 5 star reviews really speak for themselves. I've never owned a Benchmade knife and this was my first venture into the brand. No regrets whatsoever. Top American workmanship, attention to detail and quality materials come second to none. They've really done their homework here, and delivered with a superb auto-assist package that really packs a punch. This knife feels like a natural extension of your hand when put to use, and ticks all the boxes for me. Make no mistake, this is a crown jewel. An excellent product worthy of its acclaim. Thank you KnifeCenter for the easy hassle-free transaction and fast international delivery, my hat off to you.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ryan
Texas
Jun 04, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Sharp, Smooth, Solid

I use this as an EDC and I couldn't be happier. This knife comes razor sharp out of the box, and Benchmade's legendary reputation can be easily seen and felt from this knife. There is no play from the blade in any position. The locking mechanism is safe and secure, as well as the the assisted opening. This knife is everything described and more. KnifeCenter has a great price on it, so if you're undecided on where to buy, definitely add these guys to your list. Shipping was unexpectedly fast. It came halfway across the country in two days! I couldn't be happier with this purchase!
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert
Roseville, MN
Jun 01, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Lock Type
Cons: None

Impressive knife, awesome service

I bought this knife as an EDC and couldn't be happier with the quality. I wanted something that would last and it's obvious that it will. The Axis Assist lock is extremely quick and easy to open. The more I use it the more I like how well it opens. I don't know that I would consider a non-assist knife after this one. It is rather large, but as others have also said, it is hardly noticed when clipped in your pocket. When I sent a question about shipping, I was promptly answered by email and followed up with a live call the next morning. Great service Knife Center!
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dano
North East USA
Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Everything I expected....

I use this knife as my new EDC. Yes it's a bit bigger, but that's what I prefer. The quality and workmanship are excellent. Another PLUS is it is US made. THANK YOU ! Love the way it locks.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rifleshooter474
Mar 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

A really quality knife.

If one is in need of a fairly large quality carry knife, this is it. It's easy to open lock up solid and comes sharp. Blade is the new high strength M390 (60-62 HRC) the Handle Matl. is the G10 with upper aluminum for a sturdy design for blade. This knife has a great feel in your hand for what ever use you have. the pocket clip is strong and fits tight in pocket.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike
Pittsburgh
Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip

Awesome knife!

Much better quality than I was expecting, the handles are thick. I recommend this knife for those who are willing to invest in high quality and performance. The 581 is a good looking knife, I really like the bolsters. The AO is fast & fun, with great lock up. Mine has no play in any direction.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob C
Dayton ohio
Jun 08, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

BAD TO THE BONE

This is put together to work every day!
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Syracuse, NY
Mar 13, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Sweet knife

Tight, fast, good looking knife. Love it.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ivan H
Tulsa, Tulsa,
Feb 23, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

A Super Large carry knife.

First off this new knife is not small, with that said it's a solid high quality carry knife. Opens very easy and without a lot of effort. Blade is sharp and well designed, it locks open solid with no side play and blade material is super high quality. Handle is super high quality and allows a good gripping surface. This knife really looks quality it looks super good. Every thing about this knife is super good IMHO. If you are looking for a real solid carry knife and not a small pocket knife, this one is what you want.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Barry
NY
Oct 01, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Even better than I expected

Certain items are difficult to assess in an online market place setting; it's just hard to judge some of the more subjective attributes without putting your hands on them. I am pleased to report that the Barrage AXIS is not one of them. It is a much more impressive knife than it looks from the photos. The quality and fit of this knife is truly unsurpassed, and it will restore your faith in Made in America moniker. The feel and balance are amazing and the spring-assist is truly effortless. The blade was hair-shaving sharp out of the box, and this knife is only one of a handful available using the M390 blade steel. You will not regret spending the extra dough to get a knife blade using this steel. Overall I have been carrying this knife for about 2 weeks, and I haven't found anything about it that I don't really like. Hats off to Benchmade for a truly superior product!
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stan B.
Round Rock, TX
Jul 25, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

A rare accomplishment

The Benchmade 581 Barrage is a handsome knife that is robust and strong in build yet fine and luxurious in style and design. This knife is a rare accomplishment in the world of production knives. The quality in fit and finish is outstanding. The 581 may be a bit large for some for EDC but I find it quite comfortable and have not problem with either pocket carry in jeans or IWB for slacks. I highly recommend the 581.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charlie K.
Blairstown, NJ
Aug 07, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Solid impressive looking knife

The knife blade is made of super high quality steel which is the main reason that I wanted this specific knife. But the knife is not small. I love the assisted opening, and how well the blade locks open solid. Also the handle design allows for a good gripping surface. If you are looking for a great solid knife that came be easily opened one handed, and not a small pocket knife, this one is what you want.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason B.
Falls Church, Va
Dec 03, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

PERFECT

I use this knife mainly for utility tasks and I think it would make a good defensive tool and I'm jus sayin cuz this knife opens up REALLY fast and locks up tight. You barely touch the thumb stud and that blade flys out and feels good in the hand when cutting. M390 holds an edge very well and the it came sharp as hell out the box. It's a decent size knife and it's not the lightest but still my favorite edc. There's nothing bad to say about this knife! I am confident this knife will last me a long time and you will too. Buy it
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dboone79
Clayton, NC
Jan 08, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Most Excellent BM Knife

Okay, So if you know anything about knives you must agree BM is one of the best Companies to procure from. I am a retired ASTCM from the CG and have supplied my pilots and aircrew with various models of BM throughout my career because when things go bad they need their survival gear to work if it don't they truly are up the creek without a paddle. The aviators all carried a knife that could be deployed one handed to cut themselves free from their seatbelts in the event of AC ditching in the open sea. As Rescue Swimmers we all carried a knife in our harnesses for the same purpose to cut ourselves out of any entanglement while completing a rescue of downed aviators who may still be attached to their chutes.We RS's carried the AFO Module full automatics made of 154CM Stainless Steel and they saw a lot of time in various waters while training and during rescues. These knives held up to the task easily and were one of my favorite survival items to carry.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ivan H
Tulsa, Tulsa,
Feb 23, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

A Super Large carry knife.

First off this new knife is not small, with that said it's a solid high quality carry knife. Opens very easy and without a lot of effort. Blade is sharp and well designed, it locks open solid with no side play and blade material is super high quality. Handle is super high quality and allows a good gripping surface. This knife really looks quality it looks super good. Every thing about this knife is super good IMHO. If you are looking for a real solid carry knife and not a small pocket knife, this one is what you want.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jack R.
Bath, Me
May 15, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

A excellent product

Benchmade this is your best! I have some other Benchmade knives but this is the best. Workmanship, design and price was excellent. Whats not so great; about it is it's too sharp! :) So to Benchmade I say keep up the good work.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian
Amelia, Ohio
Jul 19, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Amazing knife.

I made this knife my EDC. This is the best EDC knife I have ever used. I used to carry a SOG flash II but this is so much better and I'm was a SOG guy too. People say its too heavy but for me this knife has a perfect feel in the hand. Its also cool that it comes with a little pouch. I would definitely recommend this knife, you wont regret it and it is worth the price.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Quintysarious
OXNARD Cali.
Mar 07, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Weight, None

PIMPIN!!!

I use this knife for my EDC, is a very well made, its a HUGE step up from the plastic 580!! The G-10 handles combined with Aluminum makes for Excellent grip & feel. The Steel is M-390 Super Steel 60-62 Hardness However my only Complaint is that although it is Sharp OTB, its not SUPER SHARP?? I really like MICROTECH S30V super sharp knives!! If the 581 was super sharp, it would get the best possible score, over all Excellent knife, & after all it has the absolute best steel $$ can buy right now....
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jason J
Florida
Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, None
Cons: Weight
Great as expected with this knife. I use it every day.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim
Lowell MA
Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Weight, None

Hasn't left my side in 5+ years

This has been my EDC for the last 5+ years (maybe 6,I can't quite remember). It's EXTREMELY solid, and the m390 has become my favorite blade steel (I own a couple other knives with this steel). The first time I really put the edge truth it's paces was a few weeks after buying it. I was helping a friend lay hardwood flooring. We realized that we had no replaced blades for the utility knife and it was a holiday so no stores were opened. If you've never done flooring, you need to lay rosin paper down before the flooring. Think construction paper, but several times thicker. Almost cardboard stock. Typically you have to replace utility knife blades after cutting 10-12 pieces. By the end of the day I saw my friend out of the corner of my eye run the edge over his forearm. He yelled to me across the room "Dude! What the hell is this blade made out of!?! It's still shaving my arm." The only drawback to the steel is that being able to hold an edge an almost supernatural amount of time is that if you let the blade go dull, it is going to take some work to put a new edge on it. This isn't an issue for me because I always keep my knives nightmarishly sharp. I maintain my edges, so I don't really ever have to put a new edge on it. I've done a true "sharpening" job only once since owning it (as opposed to honing it, which most mistakingly think is sharpening). I have diamond stones and paper, and though it took more time than my tool steel knives, it wasn't that bad (though if you only have ceramic or natural stones, you may need to clear your calendar, but if you can afford $200 for a folder you can afford some good stones). Only real complaints is the lack of jumping to allow my thumb to get a good purchase on the spine of the blade. I use the sliding lock to act as jimping, but it's small and I can only use the back of the first knuckle instead of the meat of my thumb. Also you need to be careful when adjusting the tension of re folding mechanism. If you loosen it too much, the spring will come out of place. If that happens not only will the spring assist not work, it will start to open in its own or won't close correctly. This happened when I first got it. I sent it back and they fixed it. The bad thing was that I didn't tell them not to sharpen it, which they automatically do if you send it in. This thinned the blade more than I wanted, especially for it only being a couple months old. The upside on that was a couple years ago I was cutting a piece of drywall tape, and a live wire that wasn't part of the normal electrical system popped and took a large bite out of the edge. They replaced the whole blade, with anther m390 for $25. Also, although the aluminum bolsters look really cool and reinforce it at the hinge, it does add weight. To be honest, if they made one that has the normal G10 w/o the aluminum bolsters like the 580 with the m390 I'd buy it. Im thinking of buying new scales for a 580 and replacing it if they line up. I've bought and made dozens of folders (I'm a blade smith on the side), but this is still the one I go back to.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Desmobob
upstate NY
Oct 24, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

Nice knife, but not what I expected.

I have a Mini-Barrage that was my work EDC for many years. Loved it. When I saw the bigger, M390 version, I quickly ordered it. It has a different, narrower blade shape than my Mini-Barrage. It is also HEAVY. It's a very nice knife, but I don't carry it often due to the weight. I wish I had bought the standard full-size version.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
F C
WI.
May 15, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, Sheath, None

A large Gentleman folder

I'am happy with my Barrage , its my first Benchmade .Its really a step up from my SOG and CS I have in the same size . Its a little large for EDC , but makes for a very nice CCW when I want to carry and show off to my friends .
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
James M.
Western North Carolina
Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Blade Material

Slightly disappointed

Have used as edc for 4 months now. Honestly bought it because it was similar to my presido axis 520 (10 year edc which I retired) but had the m390 blade. Fit and finish was nowhere near what I know Benchmade is capable of. Positive side is the scales are less aggresive than the 520 which has saved many a pair of pants pockets. Anyway. The 520 cm154 seemed to hold the hair popping sharpness longer than the 581 m390. Yet the m390 dulled slower of that makes sense. Cm154 is a dream to sharpen as for the m390 seems to take alot more finesse to get where I like it. Overall this is the first Benchmade I own that I feel could be a lot better. Especially coming from them. I currently own a handful of griptillians, presido, barrages, apparitions, and a handful of others. Not to mention spyderco's, crkt, zt, Kershaw, cold steel, bucks, cases, al mar, steel will, oh well I'm going to stop there. For anyone wanting sound advice for an everyday carry- axis locks are the best. Liner locks you get what you pay for. And in my opinion I would rather pay $200 + for a knife that will become one with your soul and will be trusted for a lifetime or two or three than pay $40 + for a knife that will eat your fingers, be a hazard to you and anyone that asks to use it, fails to perform, and is replaced monthly. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR, OR YOU WILL PAY FOR YOUR MISTAKES. Best edc knives I have ever had. Benchmade presido 520 cm154, zero tolerance 200, or spyderco Chinook.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jay
Chicagoland
Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Material, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Weight

If only the screws would stay put it would be great

Great knife, long story short you will love this knife but put lock tight on your clip screws and upper aluminum scales. The screws should have been designed longer I believe, either that or the inner screw threads suck, this knife would be amazing if only they new how to prevent loose screws from the factory...
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mac
Ewa Beach , Hi
Aug 29, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness

Is it worth the price?

This is just my out of the box first impression. For what this knife costs, I should've been wowed when I took it out of the box and examined it. The blade was not centered. It was also not as sharp as I would've expected. Especially with the premium steel M390. I will now need to put a better edge on it. The weight is a little on the heavier side if you're gonna EDC it. I don't mind but it might be a factor for others. It's also kind of bulky. I normally EDC a Cold Steel Recon 1 which is thinner. The thumb ramp has no jimping. So if you're gonna hard use this knife and put a lot of pressure on your thumb and it's wet or sweaty, just beware. So far the only thing I've cut is some soda boxes which aren't very thick and I wasn't very impressed. Should've sliced through them like water but didn't. If I'm gonna compare this knife to the Recon 1, I'll choose the Recon 1 which costs much less and has already proven to be an excellent hard use knife.
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
John H.
Pennsylvania
May 08, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Handle Material

falling apart

it's Day 3 with my mini Barrage. I have opened 1 cardboard box and slit open 2 plastic bags so far. This morning I noticed that the handle screws are loose. I have to buy their tool kit???? Disappointed
Benchmade Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 3.6" M390 Satin Plain Blade, Black G10 and Aluminum Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
J Theriot
louisiana
Sep 07, 2014
Pros:
Cons:

blade snapped while cutting a piece of wood!!

Steel is too dry!!