Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade 585BK Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Black Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles

Benchmade 585BK Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Black Plain Blade, Black Valox Handlesrated 4.750 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Benchmade 585BK Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91 inch Black Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles

 

Price: $140.25

Save $24.75 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade 585BK Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Black Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dbm
Virginia
Jul 08, 2020
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great sturdy knife

Bought this knife because of Benchmade quality and because of 2.91" length to comply with local laws requiring blade under 3 inches. Solid benchmade quality, didn't have any of the problems one of the other reviewers mentioned about it not being a solid lock or seemingly wobbly having some lateral motion. Mine is sturdy as a mfer.
Benchmade 585BK Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Black Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ron L
South Dakota
Jan 25, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Excellent EDC

I've had this knife for several month and use it everyday for everything from opening envelopes to cutting steak. It's a perfect size and the opening / lock mechanism is superb. Mine had a small break in time, but after a couple of days it's as fast as an auto and a lot safer. The blade holds a very sharp edge and touch up has only been with a steel. I liked it so much I bought another as a Christmas gift for my son-in-law. Service from Knife Center was great.
Benchmade 585BK Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Black Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sean Moore
Orlando, Al
Apr 18, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Very Nice

Feels great. Good action on blade deployment. I bought two of these, one with a satin blade & one with a black blade. The one with the satin blade is diffidently faster with a very solid thud great lockup & a very cool release. The one with the black blade not very exciting at all,I am hoping that it will break in. But I doubt it I think the spring is just weaker. But overall very nice everyday carry. Oh did I mention very sharp out of the box.
Benchmade 585BK Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Black Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anthony P
NK
Apr 24, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent EDC or weekend knife

Used for pretty much everything. Looks great, love the all black. Amazing, smooth and fast action.Came SHARP as you know what! Best when carried using the clip. A bit heavy in the pocket of used without the clip. All around, my favorite knife.
Benchmade 585BK Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Black Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter
Los Angeles, CA
May 19, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Handle Material, None

Mini Barage

This is a great every day carry knife. Not too big and not too small. The spring opening action is very solid and the blade is very stable. The only nit pick is the handle material. It feels a little bit cheap but overall the knife is very nice.
Benchmade 585BK Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Black Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
On Edge
Suffolk, VA
Aug 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Just gets better and better ...

When I first handled this knife, it felt good. The more I use it the better it feels - terrific EDC knife. The Axis assist is amazing - quick and solid lock up - no need for a full auto with this available - it is even better than a full auto. I use it for everything from opening cartons to slicing fruit, cutting rope, light whittling (with my young cub scout son), and as a potential SD blade. Very solid, nice balance. Highly recommended!
Benchmade 585BK Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Black Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mat
Mississippi
Dec 07, 2017
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None

Great knife!!!

Typical Benchmade quality. Razor sharp! Would definitely recommend it!
Benchmade 585BK Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Black Plain Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Tom
North Carolina
Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Handle Material

Good design, but poor fit finish.

I've had this knife for about 6 months. Was sharp out of the box. And holds edge fine. But the clip got loose very quickly and the handle material is cheap feeling and feels like it will slip (but hasn't). I like the size and heft. But when opened, while solid, it does have side to side movement that isn't fixed with tightening.