Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles

Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handlesrated 4.8 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91 inch Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles

 

Price: $127.50

Save $22.50 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shelby
Schertz, TX
May 13, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Outstanding EDC knife

Benchmade AXIS lock with assisted opening. Knife came sharp and I have carried for several months as an Every Day Carry (EDC) knife and it is lightning quick to open, locks up solid, no play in the blade, and exceptinal serial quality manufacture. I believe that I have found the perfect EDC knife. I have seen other reviews about the scales appearing cheap but for an EDC all conditions use those scales are perfect.
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike S
Florida USA
Apr 16, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

10 out of 10 for an E.D.C.

100% satisfied with this knife.
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Drew
Scranton, Pa.
Feb 17, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None

Theres nothing "mini" about this knife!

I carry it every day, the blade is extremely sharp! a very comfortable fit in my hand, it flips open in a second and has a very solid feel to it, very well made,I like the lock on the spine of the knife it locks nicely in both open and closed position, my only complaint is about the scales, they could have been rougher for a better grip.
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Patrick B.
Charlotte, NC
Apr 12, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Perfect EDC Knife

I carry this knife at work every day all day and every time I go into the woods. It is sharp, very well balanced. I have carried other high quality assisted folders for years and this is by far the best i have had. You will not be dissapointed if you purchase this knife.
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Constantin Adrian
Bucuresti,
May 09, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None

Super EDC

The perfect dimension, perfect blade sharpness, perfect weight, great blade material
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ival Shelby
Schertz, TX
Dec 14, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Another Osborne design that works very well

Mini-Barrage feels full size. Strong assisted opening. Overall weight and balance is good. Scales allow for good hold in operating. Sculpted handle design is very functional. This is a Blue line Benchmade knife and is one of their best in category. You will probably leave the safety lock in the unlock position and depend upon the Axis lock even if carrying in your pocket. The safety lock is more for child protection and if small children could handle then diffinetly set the lock.
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Adam
Long Island
Dec 10, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: None

Well Worth It

This knife was purchased new for EDC and replaced a SOG-TAC TiNi automatic that I have carried for about 3 years. I normally shy away from Benchmade (only other I have is a Nim Cub), due to my feelings that for my circumstances, they are not worth the money they cost. Getting the knife on a decent sale, I can honestly say I am extremely pleased with the quality, craftsmanship, and functionality. The AXIS assist is incredible, and the knife is superbly constructed. The knife doesn't open until you want it to, and I have found with automatic knives that they can open accidentally, and the safeties are often hard to manipulate. I do not feel the handles look or feel cheap, and the lockup is very tight. I would highly recommend, especially on sale!
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Fremont, California
Jan 24, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Excellent all purpose knife

I use the product for a lot of everyday chores, large and small. Knife is a very good size for pocket. The action is very positive and solid. Blade is beautifully sharp. Highly recommend this knife.
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary S.
Rockville, MD
Jul 09, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great Gift

I've carried the 551 for longer than I can remember. Bought one for my current son-in-law too. When my youngest daughter suggested a small knife for her fiance I didn't look any further than Benchmade. Since he doesn't need the longer blade of the 551 the 585 was the logical choice. He loves it. Solid grip, ambidextrous, and shaving sharp. It would have been good to have instructions in how to operate the Axis-Assist. Once he got used to it he was fine, still sporting all fingers. I've bought many items from Knife Center for both personal as well as for gifts. Never been dissatisfied with either product or service.
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alden
NorthEast
Jul 15, 2009
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Almost As Knice As The Bigger Version

Damned near the perfect knife of its size -- a working work of art!
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aj
New York, NY
Dec 16, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Benchmade Mini-Barage 585, Satin Combo Blade

Great knife. It looks like it might feel a little light/cheap, but once you hold it you can feel the quality. Comfortable handle, easy to open and close. The lock is nice to, but it doesn't seem too easy to accidently open (you have to push the blade a decent ways before the spring kicks in). It came pretty sharp too. All in all, it was a great purchase and I highly recommend it.
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry T.
Austin, Texas
Oct 06, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None

Love it!

Love this knife. Already cut the palm of my hand with it so I can attest for its excellent sharpness. I didn't want spend more on a knife than it's current price point and this knife just fit the bill. I wasn't looking for a long blade but wanted a quality steel that retained it's edge. I like the spring assist feature but I really bought it for the Axis lock since I did not have one of those in my collection. Look and feel are perfect. The pocket clip is much too tight to easily slip into your pocket though. Silk screening a page to their dot.com website right on the blade that will be there for eternity was sort of silly I thought. As if we don't have enough web addresses everywhere in our daily lives already.
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Robert C
Augusta, Ga
Oct 09, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: Weight, None

Nice Knife, A Little Heavy

Really does open one-handed very easily. The fit and finish is excellent. It's a little on the heavy side for a carry pocket knife. The box didn't include instructions for releasing the lock to open the knife. It took an internet search to find out how to open the knife.
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Alexandre P.
Cacouna, Qc
May 06, 2014
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

my first, for sure not my last benchmade

excellent edc knife! the only cons is the sharpness
Benchmade 585S Mini-Barrage AXIS-Assisted Folding Knife 2.91" Satin Combo Blade, Black Valox Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
John
29 Palms
May 30, 2014
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Material, None

this knife kicks ass

I use this knife every day at work. Cutting zip ties, opening boxes, even used it to cut a tourniquet off a fellow marine.