Reviews and Ratings for Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles - 940BK

Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handlesrated 4.417 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4 inch S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles

 

Price: $199.75

Save $35.25 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sonomajames
Sonoma, CA
Feb 23, 2015
Pros:
Cons:

smooth one handed action

This small folder is in my desk to open mail & packages & cut through plastic packaging. It's super smooth easy to open and close. Toward the end of the closing, the blade snaps into place with hardly any hand input. The hand feels nonslip. I like the green color - a little different. It's friendly looking enough that my wife isn't intimidated by it compared to my more aggressive larger folders in the workshop and cars.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anonymous
USA
Dec 04, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

One of the best

What a terrific knife. Is there anything else left to say?
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ngwun
♪ ♪"I come from the land down under..." ♫
Sep 05, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Boring. Just as I want it to be!

the black one is more shiny... because the previous ones have been used rather a lot. Great GP knife. Friendly. EDC knife of choice. Not a L Lock! Adjusts nicely. Does just about everything.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bryce K.
Flossmoor, Il
Oct 07, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Favorate Knife

I don't usually write reviews... ever. But this knife for me is noteworthy enough to mention. I owned one of these for approximately 6 months and I got rid of it for monetary reasons. I went about a half a year going through a lot of other knifes: Small Sebenza (another amazing knife, but too small for me), Spyderco Tenacious and Paramilitary 2, several Kershaws and lastly a Benchmade 705. All of the knives I have listed above are fantastic knifes, however, I missed my 940. There are several things about this knife and it is these things that have made it my EDC blade for a LONG time to come. The first is the Axis lock, it is simply outstanding. The ease with which you can open and close this blade is fantastic. I usually need to be able to deploy my knife and stow it with one hand and it is made quite easy with the axis lock. One thing I would like to say about the Axis lock in general, (from my personal experience of several BM knives) is that it is very difficult to find the sweet spot where you have no blade play and yet the knife is still easy to flick open. I would recommend some blue loctite as it postpones the unscrewing process. Blade Shape: the 940 has an excellent piercing shape and it is very tough because of the reverse tanto design. It is also excellent as a cutting blade, but it is not the best I have ever seen (Paramilitary 2 is the best I have seen). As far as the steel goes you cant go wrong with S30V, it is my favorate steel, albeit VERY hard to sharpen. Once you sharpen it though, it retains its edge quite well. Since the knife is very thin it is a joy to carry in pocket. When I reach into my pocket I dont have any issues getting to my keys or anything. One thing that turns people off of this knife is that it has anodized aluminum scales. From my personal experience, the green coating is better than most of the G10 I have seen and it sticks to my hands very well and gives me the utmost control. The only drawback I have seen with this knife is the pocket clip. I prefer deep carry clips and the stock one just leaves too much of the knife out of my pocket. That being said, I found a great custom clip that was made for it and it is fantastic. Now it rides really low and is barely visible. Since this is a review of the black one I will say that the black coating stays better than most coatings I have seen. I find that non-coated blades tend to accumulate tape residue quickly if you are cutting open boxes, but this coating holds up well. All in all, this is a very well designed knife and if taken care of it should last a lifetime. This is a must have for anyone that wants a highly versatile knife that is great for any task you can throw at it.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cwg
Texas
Dec 02, 2013
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

EDC work and play

I have carried this knife for a few years now. I carry both at work and play. I own a Emerson & Cold steel knife. I allows carry this knife and maybe the cold steel with the fully serrated edge to cut heavy webbing in rescue situation. This knife will do every thing you need short of very heavy duty fast cutting of heavy materials. I have not had to sharpen since it came frome box.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nathan C.
NY
Aug 02, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening

Fast Shipping, Great Product

I now have spent probably too much money on all the knives I own and every time I go to buy a knife I always check the price here and they always have the best price. This knife is small and perfect as a so called gentleman's knife. The only minor gripe I have is that the thumb stud is very close to the handle and could be a little closer to the top of the blade but that just takes a little more practice to get used to. The shipping here is also incredibly fast and always arrives before it is expected to.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam
Houston, TX
Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip

Excellent EDC..First time Benchmade owner

This is my edc knife, so I carry it everywhere with me. Though there are times that I forget that I have it, since it is pretty light. I love quality, the weight, the feel of the rough aluminum exterior and the axis lock is really nice. This is my first Benchmade knife and needless to say there will be many more after it. Only drawback may be the pocket clip since it does stick out slightly, but I have not owned a knife that can be completely concealable anyway.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mo G.
Charlottesville, Va
Jun 11, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

How a knife should be!

This knife is outstanding as an EDC! The materials, blade shape, handles and workmanship are all fantastic. The axis lock makes for very quick and easy opening and closing. Very sharp and just feels great in the hands, a must have for anyone that "really" likes knives!!
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
R. D.
CT
Mar 20, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None

Great knife!

I got this in the mail yesterday. This is right on par with typical Benchmade quality. I got this to replace my 6yo mini Griptilian. I wanted something a little larger. This is a good length and is very light for it's size. The green anodize on the handle is very much olive drab and not as bright as it looks in the picture. I was a little worried about that. I'm sure this will serve for many years as my EDC. I only gave it 4 stars because I asked for a unicorn to be drawn on the shipping box and it was not a very good picture but, they did try. They guys in shipping could use some art lessons.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
P.C.
Ireland
Apr 04, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None

Excellant workmanship -Osborne

Great knife, the osborne 940, gave this four out of five, as price is high for a folder of this type. but I had to have one. It is so light, and will be hard for any knife maker, to beat this one. My experience as a knife collector and every day user, is go and order a second one. As you don't know when this model will cease production, and wont be available ever again!
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mike
Ohio
Jun 09, 2017
Pros: Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality

Light, fast, and an excellent edc knife

I have read about the 940 for a long time and have wanted to get one in my collection after reading and watching reviews on its performance. Nick Shabazz has probably one of the better reviews on this knife as well as nutn fancy. I was disappointed in the side to side play in the knife found at the pivot tension needed to flick the knife open. Blade centering was also not what I would expect from a $200 knife. In my mind, that kind of money should buy you a refined cutting tool that only more expensive materials would elevate the price. Not better fit and finish. Everything else about the knife is wonderful. The grind is good, the sharpness out of the box is good, and the coating on the blade is done very well. I use all my knives and this one is no exception. Great slicer and box opener as well as food prep. Super light weight and can be carried in dress pants, in particular dockers with the small pocket inside the normal front right pocket, without feeling like you have a hunk of metal in your pants. Pocket clip - meh. Would I buy again...maybe if Reate made this knife for benchmade. No more benchmade for me.
Benchmade Osborne Folding Knife 3.4" S30V Black Plain Blade, Green Aluminum Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Box Opener
, Johns Creek, GA
Jun 30, 2020
Pros: Lock Type, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Blade Material

I SHOULD HAVE BOUGHT A BOX CUTTER

This knife is my most disappointing knife purchase of the past year. Not a cheap knife. Evidently, an impressive list of materials and talent was expended in creating it. Like my old Jeep CJ, it can do most anything while yet do nothing well. In some ways the blade design looks as though someone was trying to make a too small multi purpose fighting knife. But the blade is to thin and the grip too small The coated blade has a high degree of drag when slicing. As is the case with much of todays knife fare it falls within the realm of office equipment. A $200 box cutter. I intended the knife for EDC.