Reviews and Ratings for Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles - 01MB511

Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handlesrated 3.92 stars out of 5 (25.0 reviews)
3.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
14
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
1
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625 inch Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles

 

Price: $26.21

Save $8.74 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Baz From The Bush Australia
Victoria Australia
Oct 03, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

What a Great Knife

As good as a similar knife from a different maker for which I paid considerably more. Will be buying more for gifts.
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kozzak
Gulfport, Fl
May 07, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath, None

Best of The Best

Well made, but then again do you expect anything less from Boker? It has a great balance, keeps a sharpness that is useful and is a joy to use. I have owned one for almost 3 years and it is my favorite knife.Wish I had owned when I was in Viet Nam 49 years ago!
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dontmesswiththes
Hanford, Ca
Sep 22, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip

Big Sturdy Folder

Economical version of the Cold Steel kukri.
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jc
Bel Aire, KS
Jan 09, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Weight

WOW, LARGE folder!

Boker has done it again - an awesome knife, well made and very sharp right out of the box. Although it is very large, it fits well in the hand and opens with just a flick of the wrist. Heavy and bulky, you aren't going to conceal this one easily though. Perhaps the only drawback is the lock can be a bit tough to negotiate.
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Billy Bones
Glen Burnie, Md.
Sep 02, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Very Nice

This fills a specific niche, yardwork. Have been a big kukri fan since army days. This one is perfectly sized for cutting vines and bushes. Would probably freak out the neighbors a little less than the full sized one that I normally use. Very well built!!
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave Hayner
Washington, Pa.
May 05, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Sheath

pocket rocket

this is a great concept. Just right to carry in a pocket on cargo pants/shorts. Utilitarian, a good cutting and chopping tool.
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ant R.
Stamford CT.
Feb 05, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, Sheath, None

WOWWW

this knife i did not like at first but just recently i was using it and it is just a beast!
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike G
89016
Sep 02, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening

Everything one should need

Blade size is its strong point. There is a one hand opening version of this knife too. I have them both. Thanks
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ts 3763
Ohio
Sep 24, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Weight

Pocket? Kukri

This is a "pocket" knife? Sorry, but it's too large. What I found good: blade sharp-ness and finish, also lock. What I found so-so: size, nail nicks (why are they there? It's easy enough to open), closed blade play, blade pivot screw (could have been much tighter). What I found bad: handle torx screws (over-torqued and stripped), lanyard hole placement (the blade interferes and will either be damaged or cut the lanyard.).
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Don Doe
Packwood, WA
Sep 14, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Kukri Folder

You need big pockets for this "pocket folding knife"; it's more like a mini-machete. This knife is basic, yet bold.
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Adam
Hungary
Jul 08, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, None

Not an everyday knife

guys, this is not an everyday knife, for wood cutting and heavy work. Its a kukri shaped self defense knife, with superior range, if hold by the lower end of the handle, and be able to use it in close quarter comba,t if u hold the very edge of the hilt towards the blade, for draw cuts. Agreed, its not razor sharp, best u can call it shaving sharpness, but still, it has no use in heavy work, only to cut soft flesh, and for the purpose, its really good. Recommend use it as a backup self defense weapon, if u are prepared to use it, and how to use it to avoid legal problems after the incident.
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris M.
Gardnerville NV.
Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, None

OK if you read the way i did you'll probably enjoy this too.

i have yet to use this for my everyday needs, but the blade looks great. let me continue to the initial cons of this entire knife. first off, there's no clip. as many other reviews would point out. not a single assisting opening plate or nub. they've got a groove in the blade side for a fingernail but you'd probably find that as useless as its nonexistent pocket clip. Aside from that the blade here is actually massive for a $20 blade. there's no wiggle or play to its hinge or setup and it snaps open pretty well right out of the box. the locking mechanism is a liner lock that fully engages when the blade is opened and seems to be pretty sturdy. as opposed to other knives I've bought and thrown away because they've managed to fail. notably id like to point out I've seen in video reviews that don't give the blade its sharpness credit. i literally dry shaved one side of my face with this, and I've never used a straight edge to do that, so that's pretty impressive. aesthetically the bead blast finish is pretty nice. i would recommend this knife to anyone who wants to collect knives. id also suggest this to anyone who needs a reliable tool in their shop. ill definitely do a follow-up review on the blade in a few weeks.
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Matt
Gobels, MI
Jan 15, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness

Great Knife for The Price

The knife is made with decent materials. It is large, but not huge. I ordered a new pocket clip and installed it myself and it makes a world of difference. Next up is a thumbstud although it is easy to "whip" it open. The groove milled into the blade is a joke to try and open it with. Also, it required quite a bit of work to sharpen it to respectable standards. All in all for the price, a cool knife.
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Durek
Columbus, OH
Oct 06, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Lock Type, None

Great knife for the price

I own a fixed blade Ka-Bar kukri and am familiar with the heft and feel of such a knife. The Boker Magnum does not disappoint as either a folder or a kukri as it fills both roles very well. It is a large folder and wouldn't be comfortable in a front pocket, but is still a pocket knife and works as such. As a kukri, it chops very well, is weighted to allow for deep cuts with minimal effort, and has a long enough handle to either choke up or down with ease. For the price, this is an excellent piece for an EDC bag or emergency survival kit. Great usage for it's size, portability, and price.
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Greyeagle
Shasta Lake, Ca
Mar 28, 2020
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath, Pocket Clip, None

nice hefty knife

I carry this knife in my daypack everyday , can access qwik . incase of an emergency or an oh shit ! moment . good heft to the knife , handle feels good in hand . only thing better than this would be an sword . A good under the arm offside sheath would be an idea .
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ed
Anaheim
Sep 30, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening

Great knife for the price

for the price it cant be beat, but still wish it had a clip.
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
J
Houston, TX
Sep 14, 2010
Pros: Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use
Cons: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, None

Good

This is not an excellent blade but it's cheap. The size is kind of a problem. it's too small for chopping serious wood but at the same time it's too big to carry as an EDC (doesn't come with a clip anyway). Best thing about it is that it's cheap and so you're not scared of modifying it. I've made some new scales, and cut some holes through the frame to lighten it.
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mi55er
Moscow, Russia
Nov 23, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Blade Material

solid knife for dolid guys

I like this knife. It feels very similar to large Cold Steel Voyager but a bit heavier. It's blade shape is perfect for chopping. Things that aren't so great about it: - have no pocket clip - blade material looks cheap - it is possible to surely open it with one hand only by using inertia method
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe
Lubbock
Sep 09, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Type, None

Good for the price

This product is exactly what it advertises to be. A cheap folding kukri. Its large enough to feel like a kukri, thus making it just barely to large for day carry. Not sure if i would feel comfortable whipping it out in the office to open a box. Also, the knife does not lock shut. The lock open mechanism works great. When it came out of the box a slight flick of the wrist would open it. The hex screw can be tightened to fix that. Everything feels heavy and solid, no cheap plastic or thin blade feeling. If you want the best quality folding kukri then hit up cold steel at 4x the price. If you want an over the top pocket knife for pennies ready for the zompocalypse, then get this.
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Skipper Johnson
denham springs, La
Sep 15, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, Sheath, None

great knife, wish it had a pocket clip

great knife, wish it had a pocket clip
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
John Doe
College Park, MD
Aug 26, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip

not such bad

I don't like a magnum's product after Dark Knight - it's a piece of .... But I like kukuri and I order this knife. + strong base, liners 2mm, blade thinkness 3,75mm, liner locked in first half and without weaks. - without clip, without tumbstud or disk. Not enough sharp from factory.
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Sam O.
Putnam Valley, Ny
Sep 14, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Lock Type, None
Cons: Weight, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip

Enormous!

This is a good knife, heavy and built like "bull". Unfortunately it does not have a pocket clip nor would a clip work on such a heavy and large knife. The opening slit is not large enough for large fingers so opening the thing is a bit tough. The blade though, cuts like a razor and can absorb most shocks (hacking a 2x4 was easy and quick). Reduce the weight, put on a clip and shrink it a bit, then you'd have a really great knife!
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jeffrey W
Wallowa, Oregon
May 01, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Lock Type, Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Handle Material

Interesting blade, handle an issue

This would be a good knife for picking mushrooms, cutting small brush, shaving bark, etc. The blade has the interesting curvature, and the edge is good, but it is hollow-ground, which always makes a knife harder to sharpen, despite advertising to the contrary. The lock mechanism is adequate. The handle is simply too heavy, and doesn't fit the palm well. I suspect that a wooden laminate would help the feel. There was no sheath included, but probably should have one.
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 2 stars out of 5
Matthew M
Ohio
Oct 22, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material

It's not so hot!

I have owned this style knife before, fixed. The idea of folding was neat. The first week I had the knfe the blad became loose in the handle and could not be tightend! I rattles like a bell! Sharp, nope! Blade won't hold hold a sharp edge! Sorry guys, this was a miss!
Boker Magnum Pocket Kukri Folding Knife 4.625" Bead Blast Blade, Black G10 Handles
rated 1 stars out of 5
Sean B
Cleburne, Tx
Aug 24, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality

Falling Apart

This is a big knife! It's so big and stout I took it in my back yard and starting hacking a tree limb. A mere few swings in, and the blade is super wobbly and the handles felt very loose. Not the workhorse I was expecting, more of just a novelty. Needless to say, I will never buy a Boker Magnum product again.