Reviews and Ratings for Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5" Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheath - 02BO155

Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5" Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheathrated 4.417 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5 inch Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $68.96

Save $22.99 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5" Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Trent Williams
Dallas, Texas
May 31, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

perfectly balanced for real work

Handles effortlessly to perform the normal tasks that we by knives to perform. The quality of the steel is really higher than I expected. The edge is perfect for these tasks and the grip circumference and length balance well with the size of the blade. Quite a nice buy. On the down side, the sheath, though very well made, is too large for the blade; really a mismatch! How can this happen? Looking for an inner sheath that will take up the slack.
Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5" Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ben
Britain
Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None
I use this knife in work for everything, it's size and shape is perfect for multiple tasks... Don't know how I lived without it. My only criticism would be the weight, this knife is very light, but I guess that's down to personal preference.
Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5" Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jesse
Brighton, Mi
Mar 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Well made and a great value. Beautiful knife
Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5" Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rocktmn83
Santa Maria, CA
Mar 07, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Nice looking knife

Great for hiking.
Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5" Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom Horn
Illinois
Apr 08, 2018
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

A Nostalgic Knife

This is more an interpretation of the original 155 Pilot Survival Knife, than a replica. I had one of the civilian ‘hunter,’ versions when I was a teenager in the early 1970’s. I traded a wood skate board (the kind w/roller skate wheels) for the knife. The original had a little longer beak on the pommel. This is more a pug nosed pommel. The guard was different, too. Seems to me that the handle was rounder/fuller in the middle, but I probably had smaller hands, then. The original knife definitely wasn’t polished steel, at least by the time it got to me (pitted + grind worn). >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Excellent fit ‘n’ finish on this Böker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife, as you have come to expect with the Böker Plus line. I call this type of blade, “hunter’s steak knife.” It is a knife you are intimately familiar with, since the time you could cut your own meat. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I wasn’t too, keen on SK5 steel at first, but I am warming to it. It has performed well on CRKT’s, Rakkason, Clever Girl, and OC3 (all available at KnifeCenter.com). It holds an edge comparable to 1095, and seems a tough, resilient tool steel. Not overly prone to rust, like 5160. This Pilot’s Survival Knife has a beautiful polished blade, you don’t see much anymore. Arrived fairly sharp, but could use a dressing. There is no 90 degree on spine to facilitate Ferro rod striking. >>>>>>>>>>>> The handle/grip could be fuller, but is comfortable. It is supposed to be a minimalist survival knife, anyway. I definitely like the more traditional guard on the original Pilot Survival Knife; but this is more streamlined (concealable for E&E). >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> The Strategic Air Command sheath takes me back to my boyhood, just a boom away from a SAC base, where sonic booms rattled my mother’s china cabinet on a regular basis. Nice deep-seat sheath. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> It is interesting that this is what the U.S. Air Force came up with as a survival knife, after WWII. This would hardly cut-it as a survival knife today. Do you really want a bright, shiny pommel? There are many great stainless steels available today (154CM, H1, CPM S35VN, etc.) that would require much less care in a survival situation/harsh environments. More durable/weather resistant handle materials, too (Micarta, G-10, etc.). A Kydex sheath won’t rot in a wet environment. >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> This is a nice knife for collectors of military knives, and definitely makes a nice hunter, or edc fixed blade. Thin and nimble enough for bird ‘n’ trout, but long and stout enough for deer sized game. Handy for every sort of utility. Compared to the original Böker Pilot Survival knife I would only give it 4 stars. Nostalgia probably makes everything better than it actually was. But, compared to today’s knives, and for the price and quality, this is definitely a solid 5 star knife.
Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5" Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sam Oliverio Jr.
NY
Jul 06, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Give it a AAA+ with a slight reservation on the handle

At first I thought the whole idea of a modified gutting blade for an Air Force survival knife was absolutely nuts. I mean heck, I've always felt that a survival knife should be thick bladed yet light in weight like this knife's big brother, the Boker Giant Bowie. What I found when I got it out of the box though, was that this little knife could really cut, slice and punch. The blade is razor sharp but not thin edged. It cut nylon rope (1/4") into shreds over and over again just periodically needing a steel work-up to resume the task at hand. It is a great little knife able to handle any task at hand. The only draw-back, and it is a small one, is that the handle (for a big-fisted guy like me) is a bit on the short side. But what a lot of cutting/slicing/dicing/punching in a knife as light and compact as this. I guess the brains over at SAC knew what they were talking about after all. Give it a AAA+ with a slight reservation on the handle.
Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5" Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Texastele
Spring, TX
Oct 19, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material, Finish
Cons: Handle Material, None

Good Utility / Shop Knife

I purchased this product for work around the shop and in the yard, and it does in fact serve that purpose quite well. The size is nice, although it does feel a little smaller in the hand than I imagined. It's almost a cross between a fillet knife and a steak knife as far as the fit and feel are concerned. The workmanship is good but not great - the leather handle on mine arrived quite dry and somewhat cracked. This knife will do what I intend it to do well, but if it were lost or stolen I would not replace it with another of the same.
Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5" Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lee
Las Vegas, Nevada
Aug 14, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Nice little suvival knife.

Keep in survial pack as a nice little light weight "back up" knife.
Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5" Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Toomanyknives
Dallas, TX
Feb 17, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: None

Small but Beautiful

It's a little smaller than I thought it would be but it is very nice and actually a good size. Bigger would make it less comfortable to carry. The blade look like a mirror. This is a thing of beauty!
Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5" Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Double Ott
Wisconsin
Feb 23, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
It's a small compact knife that's easy to carry. It will do anything that a larger knife will do, excluding chopping. I carry it with me (almost) anytime I plan on being "outdoors".
Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5" Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Francois
Switzerland
May 24, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight

Interesting knife

nice knife, beautiful shape ! just a little bit too small. I do not know how a pilot can use it with gloves. Still a little bit expansive for a knife from China.
Boker Plus Airforce Pilot Survival Knife 4.5" Blade, Leather Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Skyspot
Chandler, AZ
Oct 01, 2009
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

Made in China!?

As a former member of the Strategic Air Command I bought this knife as a commemorative. Finding out it was made in Red China turned it into just another knife. In regards to the knife itself, it seems to be well made and a very handy size. I’m sure I will find it useful as a working tool.