Reviews and Ratings for Buck 120 General Hunting Knife Fixed 7-3/8" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles - 2542

Buck 120 General Hunting Knife Fixed 7-3/8" Blade, Black Phenolic Handlesrated 4.889 stars out of 5 (9 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Buck 120 General Hunting Knife Fixed 7-3/8 inch Blade, Black Phenolic Handles

 

Price: $89.99

Save $30.01 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Buck 120 General Hunting Knife Fixed 7-3/8" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike S
Michigan
Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Buck General
This is the type of purchase from Buck that I've been making since 1974. Solid, big, well-balanced, and very sharp. This will be ideal as a knife to be left in a vehicle emergency kit, as it is tough and impervious to rust with a very comfortable and secure sheath. My initial Buck was a 110 folder that is still in service, and I have bought numerous other Bucks for friends, family, and myself since.
Buck 120 General Hunting Knife Fixed 7-3/8" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Victor C
Charleston IL.
Sep 04, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
120 General Knife
My wife sent this to me in Vietnam. I had asked for a Bowie knife but in Coles County IL she could not find a Bowie knife and she didn't know what one was. A store sold her the Buck General. It didn't have the heft of a Bowie knife for chopping coconuts open or cutting bamboo. But I kept it razor sharp and it worked. I was in the 1st Air Cavalry 8th battalion and I don't know how may people tried to buy it from me, even chopper pilots. I got my name engraved on it (Victor Castle) in Quin Nhon when I was in the hospital. I kept it strapped on my back . I lost it when I was bring it with me and stuck it in my cargo pocket, when I caught a jeep ride to the airstrip. I hope some other grunt got it and was able to use it in the field. It never rusted and held a good edge. Coconuts outside shell is not easy to chop open . The sheath held up good.
Buck 120 General Hunting Knife Fixed 7-3/8" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pappyinpa
Enola, PA
Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Options!
As a Marine field radioman my T/O weapons were a 1911A1 and a Ka-bar. As we were mounting out to head South from Okinawa in 1965, I realized I would soon be in a real combat zone and needed to beef-up my personal arsenal; a shaky barreled 45 Auto just wouldn't get it! I hit the PX and purchased a Colt Python (357 Mag, for those who don't know: $90 brand new!). When l got to Nam I opted for an M-14 instead of the 45, but supply had no bayonets, and I couldn't get a Ka-bar because it wasn't T/O with a rifle. Go figure! A quick letter home and within two weeks I received my Buck General 120. I was the envy of all my buddies; while they were forever cleaning the rust off their blades, I had no such issues. I still have that knife, now pushing 50 years. It's still my go-to camp knife. I admire it as I clean the rust off my much more recently purchased Ka-bars!
Buck 120 General Hunting Knife Fixed 7-3/8" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vato53
Texas
Mar 23, 2019
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Quality knife
Bought my buck general in ‘72 while serving in the navy off the coast of Vietnam. It’s served me well in all that time, held an edge and is generally one of the best knives I’ve owned. The scabbard and knife both are still in great shape, 47 years later.
Buck 120 General Hunting Knife Fixed 7-3/8" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jussi P
Finland
Dec 19, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
best knife
Best and sexiest knife in the world. I use that knife wood chopping and deer and moose opening.
Buck 120 General Hunting Knife Fixed 7-3/8" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zy Y.
Singapore, Other
Dec 04, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
A dependable knife for all purpose
Usage: Camping, light wood work, carton unboxing, etc... Satisfactory: High! Definitely recommended product! Long, thick blade, everything else similar to general 119. Quality finishing, overall very please with the product. Nitpicking a little... the blade sharpness could have been better. Also think that rose wood handle would have a been a better pick.
Buck 120 General Hunting Knife Fixed 7-3/8" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom H
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jun 06, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
SMOKY MOUNTAIN KNIFE
In 1981 I did a weeks backpacking trip in the Smoky Mountains and no firearms were allowed and I bought the Buck 120 as a camp and personal protection knife just for this trip. It performed perfectly for all the chores on the trail and in camp. The knife is strong, comfortable to hold, holds an edge and the sheath is thick leather that will last a lifetime. I still have and use this knife and it still looks fairly new. It goes with me on every hunt and hike and I slept better at night with it in my tent ,,,, It will be given to my great grandson when he is old enough to handle it. Happy trails.
Buck 120 General Hunting Knife Fixed 7-3/8" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Mpls. MN
Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Buck General
This newly made General is interesting to me because I own a few similar Buck fixed blade knives from the 1970s. I remember seeing this large General in stores back then. This one I just received is exactly like my old Buck fixed blade knives in terms of design, handle, and all minor details. It's like if I had bought it with the others way back then. That said, it is a robust blade with a handle that fits the hand perfectly. It is balanced, cuts cleanly and is well made and finished. Buck should be proud of its heritage and continued quality.
Buck 120 General Hunting Knife Fixed 7-3/8" Blade, Black Phenolic Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dunranull
Colorado
Aug 25, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Field knife
Have used these since 1971, took some getting used to sharpening, the steel is much harder than the carbon steel. Holds a good edge. The black phenolic grip is near indestructible. The blade will baton thru hardwood altho Buck no longer advertises driving the "blade thru the steel bolt" as they used to. I did nick the edge on mine- while hacking thru deer bones- but it sharpened out. I suspect it nicked because of the hard steel and thin edge, and hardness of bone. The steel- not a fancy super steel, but a solid choice with GOOD TEMPERING. It will take an edge! There are other knives out there and I own a few. One particular brand I favor but their knives are NOT made in USA, and NOT in stainless, like Buck knives are. If you want a good solid knife with some years of history, and used in many situations and environments and MADE in USA, Buck is a good candidate I would recommend. Have bet my butt on the Buck 120 and 110 folder and my butt is still there! Barring losing them, mine will go to my heirs someday and will last them their lifetimes too...