Reviews and Ratings for Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS) - 2535

Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)rated 4.857 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5 inch Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)

 

Price: $47.99

Save $35.01 (42%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Neil
Pennsylvania
Dec 13, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Thumbs Up

I rec'd this knife as a graduation present when I got out of Basic Training with USMC. I've never been in a combat situation or had to fight with this knife. But it has been my hunting companion for many decades. The tempering process of this steel is amazing to me. My BUCK knife is easy to maintain a razor edge. Yet cost is half what you'd pay for a knife built with so-called premium steel. The design of this knife is perfect for me. A good pointy tip for field dressing but enough belly for skinning chores as well. In summary, this knife is a KEEPER!
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ricky H
Cedartown, Georgia
Nov 04, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

I hardly give a high level review to a knife or the sales company but

I had this knife in the seventies until someone stole it from me in the 2000's. I dressed all kinds of wild game and fish, turtles and the sort. I used it in the garden and the forest. I carried this knife at all times and used it for so many things. I only had to sharpen it one time per year and a year and a half at a time. A total of 12 times in over 3 decades. I couldn't find a way to buy a replacement until I got on line and could find it when it came back to popularity. You will be in an attachment situation when you get one without a doubt. I did notice the difference in the sheath now versus now. Save a lot of money and buy one ASAP. You will not regret it when compared to the high priced knives that you will have to keep on renew every year or so.
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Wild Man
Sheridan, Wyoming
Jan 04, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard

The Buck 105

This knife was purchased as a gift because my own Buck 105V has served me so well for so many years that I knew that another of its kind would serve my young friend's needs as well. He didn't even have a decent knife so I loaned him mine for dressing/boning/cutting up wild game there was no doubt it was love at first sight. He was too poor to buy one of his own, so Christmas was the answer.
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nick D.
New York
Jul 20, 2013
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material

Just Love This Knife!

The 105 will do just about everything. It is an excellent trail, camp and hunting knife. Blade is sharp out of the box and touch ups are effortless. I love the way Buck has always made quality products available to the consumer, at reasonable prices.
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rascal
Texas
Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

For the money

I've had my 105 since the 1970's and worn through several sheaths. Uses: general camp knife, cleaning big game animals (deer, and wild boar), and "just in case" survival always on my belt. Not too big and not too small, easy to clean and keep sharp. For the money it seems hard to beat, keeping in mind that many states recommend that you soak your game knife in a 20% solution of Clorox for an hour or so after use. That will ruin your expensive knife's fancy wooden handle and blade cosmetics. Also, made in the USA last time I looked.
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jo Rage
Ohio
Sep 18, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
This is a classic. It is one of the original Buck creations and it is still a great knife.
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Va Shooter
The Colonial Capital
Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

The Best Knife in My Collection

I use this for everyday carry and it's a great knife. I like the sharp stainless steel blade that keeps an edge and is easy to sharpen if necessary. It's light in weight for it's size and yet is very strong, tough and durable. It's handy around the house for opening envelopes and cutting up cardboard boxes for re-cycling. It's handy around the yard for trimming bushes and trees, digging up weeds and skinning squirrels. I really like the fact that although modestly priced, it's made in the USA rather than China.
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sasu
Europe
Sep 17, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

Solid Buck quality

This is a basic hunting knife. Quality is first rate as can be expected from such a classic Buck knife. I own about a dozen different classic Buck knives, they are just irresistible. The blade holds its edge quite well, and is very easy to resharpen. The handle is ergonomic.
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
A
Ky
Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Buck's best all-around fixed blade.

Most knife fans will probably think i'm nuts or inexperienced with knives after reading this but in my opinion and from close to 40 years experience using fixed blades,mostly Buck fixed blades,i consider the 105(this knife) as being the best all-around fixed blade Buck produces,even better than the famous 119..I've never seen what all the hype is with the 119,yeah sure it's a good knife,but for it's purpose,which is actually a skinning knife,i feel as though it's too large and is unwieldy.The 105 to me is just more manageable and better overall balanced.Buck struck gold with their proprietary 420hc steel.Although Buck's 420hc isn't anywhere close to being a "super steel" it is PERFECT for the "average knife user" and even a serviecable steel for the so called "steel snobs".Buck's 420hc is not difficult to resharpen,it takes an awesome edge,and for most tasks it holds it well enough.The steel has phenomenal rust resistance and is strong.I have never chipped or broken a Buck 420hc blade.I admit i primarily use my knives strictly for cutting and slicing purposes,but on occasion i've split some wood here and there and never had a problem.The leather sheath is quality made and suits the knife just fine.Overall,for around a $50 bill this is a d#mn fine knife that if taken care of will be a damn fine knife for your kid.Good job Buck...
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Larry The Vet
Avenel,NJ
Nov 04, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Very Dependable Field Knife

Before all the new high tech fixed blade knives came about this is the knife that I carried while with the 101ST Airborne in Viet Nam.It got me out of many jams,some lifethreatning.
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Don M
Ventura, CA
Feb 07, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Stands the test of time

I bought my Buck 105 forty years ago and have used it a lot since then; very light for a large knife and quite capable. It is now a cherished heirloom. Buyers beware, however. The original sheath only lasted me for about thirty years before it wore out. An identical replacement came easily and so far is holding up well. I suppose it is safe to say I would buy a 105 again
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mjh4
Michigan
Feb 22, 2018
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Excellent knife

This knife has stood the test of time for a reason in my opinion its more manageable than the 119 for skining and field dressing deer, bear, etc. it's the perfect knife for hunters. My every day job is a butcher and has been for 35 years yes you can spend more money for a knife but why would you ! this knife has never failed me plus easy for beginners to sharpen and holds a good edge. Made in the USA and highly recommended.
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mr Bear
Raymore, Mo
Jul 27, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Very nice Knife for the money

take it with me anytime i am out hiking in the woods and camping
Buck 105 Pathfinder Fixed 5" Blade, Phenolic Handle (0105BKS)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dallas
Northern Virginia
Feb 02, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material

Very Good General Purpose Knife

This is a very good general purpose knife. The blade arrived sharp, although not razor sharp. I have a wide hand and the handle fits my hand well. The sheath is made of superior quality leather and put together well. My only complaint is the handle. While I don't mind the plastic material handle. Unfortunately there is no texturing on it and it does get slippery when wet.