Reviews and Ratings for Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles - 3139

Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handlesrated 4.471 stars out of 5 (17 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
5
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8 inch Closed, Woodgrain Handles

 

Price: $19.95

Save $13.05 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
January
Perth, Australia
Mar 19, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A great buy!
Credit where credit is due, this is a well built knife all round. No denying the quality. A true Buck! Size and feel just right. The usual famous Buck steel comes sharp out off the box. And what a great price! Makes great gifts.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Albert R
Leicester N.C.
Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Buck Canoe Pockert Knife #389
I carry the knife daily the overall size is quite acceptable What I did not expect was the quality for the price without question. Without looking at the knife in hand it will be hard to describe the quality again for the price. What was a surprise how sharp right out of the box. I used the knife a wk or so resharpened with steel did not take very much effort to resharpen. I have learned down through the years do not let a knife become dull (watch a butcher with his steel) Thank you very much ps This has nothing to do with the knife what is impressive was the shipping upps wow how that has improved.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe G. Nj
Lincroft, NJ
Mar 22, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Very well made.
I am very pleased with this knife. The blades are very sharp and the knife feels comfortable in the hand. It is small and light good for EDC. It is very well made, I really like this knife. One thing I wish they didn't stamp the blade with the word "CHINA" however.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill S.
Los Alamos NM
May 11, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Good practcal knife
This is a nice knife. The fit and finish are excellent. Spring tension is just right. The blades are sharp and tight in the bolsters. The canoe is fairly flat so it carries well for a knife of this size. It should be a very useful, long lasting, practical knife.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ed M
Hamilton Ont.
Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Beautiful Knife
I was a bit afraid of what this knife would be like given that it comes from China. No need to fear, the fit and finish are superb. This knife is small enough for easy carry and it looks really great.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard
Kawasaki, Japan
Jun 15, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
A solid tool
This is a great little knife. It is sturdy and well made. All the parts fit very well, with no gaps between the liners and springs, or between the scales and bolsters. And the wood scales look very nice. I'm very pleased with the quality and appearance. It's a solid tool.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Randel T
Lubbock, TX
Jul 02, 2012
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material
Cons: None
Really like this knife. Good for all around carry.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Timbo
Greeley, CO
Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Handle Feel, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Good general use knife
I use this knife as a light duty daily carry. I like it well enough that this is my second one! This is just a nice, traditional knife that is useful either in the office or around town. I own a number of hard use tactical knives, but most often I just need something to open a bag or a box and this does that fine. That's not to say that this wouldn't stand up to heavier use, but I bought it because of the pleasure of using and carrying a traditionally styled knife not because I intended it to be my main tough knife.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
David M.
Nashville, TN
Dec 24, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great quality knife and perfect customer service.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cudgee
Victoria. Australia.
Mar 04, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Made in China
This is a great little knife. Really good quality finish. Don't let made in China put you off. Lot of good stuff coming out of China. I have purchased knifes made in USA nowhere near good as this knife. Great value for money and easy to keep sharp.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
J.P.
Texas
Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight
Good buy
I purchased this folding pocket knife because I wanted a smaller pocket knife and it was a Buck knife. My experience with Buck knives has always been good. The knife came with a good edge. This folding pocket knife fits my hand well but is bigger and heavier than I anticipated. It rides well in my jeans but makes a bulge in khakis and dress slacks. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good sturdy pocket knife.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Randy
Riverton, UT
May 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Overall Quality
pretty good for the price
I like canoes and thought this would be a good addition to the collection. The price was attractive and the knife reflects the price. Generally it is quite good, it is Chinese made and the workmanship is about what you would expect. The blade sits a tad high in its folded positon. It is very sharp and quite useable as a kick around Saturday chore kind of knife but not on par with a Boker or a Case. Like I said, about what you would expect for the price.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rob H
UK
May 11, 2015
Pros: Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Good with a couple of niggles
I lile this knife a lot. It's small, very pocketable for everyday use, and it does a job perfectly well within the limitations of size and spec. It looks good. My version is not especially well put together - a couple of gaps between wood and metal which shouldn't be there - but the blades are set firmly, the action is crisp and easy. The squared off handle edges aren't great in the hand IMO, but othrwise this is a fine knife for the money.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tim
Boston, MA
May 04, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Buck Canoe Pocket Knife
This knife brings me right back to my boyhood! Just a simple all-around great pocket knife. I own a bunch of high-end knives and find myself carrying this more and more and I get a lot of compliments on it. Maybe I'm just having (another) mid-life crisis - ha!
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Smallieangler
Western PA
Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent Value
I've been carrying pocket knives daily for more than half a century. In that time I've gone from small knives to big knives to small again. For work I prefer medium to large knives, but at other times, such as when shopping or attending church, I like a small to medium size knife that won't weigh me down or eat holes in my pockets (Some knife is ALWAYS better than no knife!). A canoe knife, with its modest size and rounded ends, seemed to fit that bill pretty well. Never having owned one, and given the modest price of this one, I thought I'd give it a try. I wish it had brass liners like some of my other collectible folders, but given its price, this one looks and functions very well. As is my wont, I used a file and ultra-fine sandpaper to soften the corners even more. Mine showed no flaws in fit or materials. At this price point you get a very nice, useful and attractive tool.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bruinfriar
Denver
Jul 19, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material, Lock Type
Not Bad for the Money
General carry and not intimidating to those afraid of blades as it has that gentleman charm at not so much the defensive blades that people think we like carry are.
Buck 389 Canoe Two Blade Pocket Knife 3-5/8" Closed, Woodgrain Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Kevin S
Wisconsin
Feb 21, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Blade Material, Overall Quality
Good for a daily carry knife. I like the price..not a great loss if lost. Knives slide out of my pant pockets all the time. Lost a few real good knives this way so I bought two more spares. I was a bit disapointed in the overall quality, there are some eneven gaps between the springs and the liners. Liners are not brass. Blase material properties is questionable.