Reviews and Ratings for Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade - 3243

Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Bladerated 4.667 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4 inch 420HC Blade

 

Price: $24.95

Save $13.05 (34%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bjack
Boston ma
Jul 18, 2010
Pros: Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great knife at a great price
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt E
Marietta Ohio
Jan 13, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

my buck fixed blade knives

I have the buck 679 model's one with guthook and the other without I am gonna be rabbit hunting with a good friend of mine at his brother's farm I plan on having both of them on my belt hve not had a chance to use them yet. I had a buck diamondback with guthook would not get sharp no longer due to bad steel sent it back got my new one but they sent the one without gut hook called them back talked to warranty department they said to keep one they accidently sent and they sent the correct one out that day . Only thing I had to do was order the extra sheath from buck and I was good to go. I also have the Buck 673 as well and it has been used squirrel and deer hunting and they are made from 420 HC steel that will get like a razor with a good Arkansas sharpening stone or one of the old razor hones if you can even find the I use a few of them my neighbor passed down to me they was in his family for years. I even have the Buck Omni with buck paklite guthook combo also. And now I also have a Buck 110 on the way that I just ordered cant wait to get it and put it to use . The Buck brand is all I carry and use in the woods rather I am hunting or just walking to look at different sites for my friend and I to go to on his mom's land in the woods. My friend has a Buck fixed blade as well but he always ends up using mine due to how razor sharp I can sit and get them sometimes I spend a 1/2 hour or mabe 1 hour sitting and sharpening them I don't have to touch them up to often it depends on how much they get used.
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
Missouri
Jul 10, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

5+ stars

Originally picked this knife up on a whim when I was getting something else. When I took it out and started playing around with it an using I was very, very impressed. Absolutely perfect size, blade, weight and design for all kinds of uses. If you add the price consideration - this knife really can't be beat!
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Patterson
Kentucky
Jun 06, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

An American made Mora

I use this for everyday carry and emergency preparedness. It cam sharp out of the box and with Buck's warranty and quality. The handle fits the hand well although I have small hands and the plastic does not feel cheap. THe cordura sheath has a great plastic insert to prevent the knife from cutting through the sheath. Its a lightweight, cheap priced, high quality knife made in the USA. You can't ask for much more.
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pete
Akron, Oh
Dec 14, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Solid Little Dandy

There is something about American made Buck knives. I got this as it is a great high value knife. The sheathe is decent but a bit too snug. The handle is comfortable and grippy. The spine has the best thumb choils I have ever felt. I would have no problem trusting this knife for all except heavy duty chopping. A bargain American made blade that should be in everyone's collection.
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
TX
Jun 19, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Excellent knife. Glad Buck is making this price range of knife in the USA.
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
marietta ohio
Jan 10, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

my buck max lite

I HAD A BUCK DIAMONDBCK WITH GUTHOOK HAD TO SEND IT BACK BECAUSE WOULD NO LONGER SHARPEN OUT. WHEN I GOT MY NEW ONE THEY SENT ME THIS ONE HERE INSTED OF GUTHOOK VERSION CONTACTED COMPANY TOLD THEM THEY SENT THE WRONG VERSION THEY TOLD ME TO SEND IT BACK I TOLD THEM THAT I HAVE ALREADY WAITED A MONTH TO GET IT BACK THE WARRANTY DEPARTMENT TOLD ME TO KEEP IT AND THEY SENT ME OUT THE RIGHT ONE. I USE THIS KNIFE FOR SQUIRRL HUNTING AND DEER HUNTING AND PLAN ON USING IT TO RABBIT HUNT AS WELL . I HAVE SEVERAL OTHER BUCK HUNTING KNIVES AS WELL THE BUCK BRAND HAS BEEN VERY GOOD TO ME . THIS IS THE ONLY BRAND THAT I USE TO HUNT WITH . I BOUGHT MY COUSIN A BUCK KNIFE THIS YEAR FOR HIS BIRTHDAY SO HE WILL HAVE A GOD KNIFE TO USE SQUIRRL AND DEER HUNTING AS WELL.
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Desert Hiker
New Mexico
May 06, 2011
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Great Value

Good knife. Very sharp out of the box. I use this knife as a general utility blade for camping and home improvement. Has held up well with medium duty use. For the price, and considering it's USA made, very hard to beat.
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard C
Bela Bela, South Africa
Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish

Very good

I am a ranger in Africa, being in the bush all day and working with animals you go through knives faster than socks this little knife has lasted me 6 months of continuous use. If you need a solid knife look no further...
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rna
Virginia
Sep 19, 2020
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Remarkable at this price point

I bought one of these awhile back out of curiosity. For a wide variety of products about 70%-80% of the manufacturing cost is fixed in the product's design. So if a company wants to reduce the manufacturing cost by, say 50%, it usually means a new design, with new materials and manufacturing processes. I wanted to see what Buck could do for < $25. It quickly became my new favorite belt knife (and I already had more than I need.) The blade has a classic, drop-point hunter shape with some rounded jimping on the back which provides a no-slip surface for your thumb or index finger. It's made of Buck's standard 420HC, with (I assume) their usual heat-treatment. It holds a edge pretty well but isn't particularly hard to resharpen -- unlike 154 CM or D2. The molded, rubber handle has a comfortable shape and texture. In my view, at least, you could spent 3 or 4 times as much and end up with a knife that is nicer to own, but not really any better in terms of what you actually _use_ an all-purpose belt knife for. Buy two of these and have a backup.
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rj
Australia
Dec 20, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

GREAT!!!

Bought this knife as a backup EDC, and must say it is a awesome knife for the price it is. Super easy to handle, and pleasure to use, sharp out of the box. I am not a fan of nylon sheaths, but this has probably the best quality make nylon sheath I have come across for a knife. Super value for money!
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
D.D
Matteson,Illinois
Apr 17, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Impressive

Great Skinner and general purpose camp knife. Super sharp and feels great in the hand. I think this knife is actually sharper than my Mora 2000. Sheath is so...so, would love a kydex option for this knife. The smell of the rubber scales reminds me of the toys I got for gifts, but really grippy to the touch. Can't go wrong with the Buck Large.
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Vmirocco
Stafford, VA
Jul 20, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Buck BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade

General utility and lite hunting use. This is a quality product that is a very good value. My objections to this knife are: 1) While it is one-hand opening, it is not one hand closing as the blade release is in the center of the backstrap. 2) The pocket clip is on the wrong end for quick opening. That being said, you can't beat the quality for the price!
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nick D.
New York
Feb 21, 2010
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Nice Knife, Poor Sheath!

This is a fine trail and camp knife. The blade was sharp as most Bucks are and is the perfect length for food prep and other camp chores. The handle is extremely comfortable and seems to warm up to your hand. The only drawback is the sheath. Although the sheath is durable, the plastic liner is too large for the blade and the knife can be rocked from side to side! The sheath offers no security other than the retaining straps which do a good job. This should not stop you from purchasing, as this is a great knife at an excellent price!
Buck 679 BuckLite MAX Large Hunting Knife 4" 420HC Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
William B
Key Largo, Florida
Dec 07, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

A Good Knife That Deserves A Real Sheath

I believe I'm in the majority when I say the sheath that Buck provides is close to useless, and well below what I've come to expect from Post Falls. Not only is it larger than it needs to be, resulting in the knife rattling around in the sheath if it's not snapped, the grade of materials used is ridiculous. The knife itself would be a great EDC, but it's actually able to cut through the thin, soft plastic liner. Once that happens the nylon begins to suffer. I had planned to use this knife for work, but will first have to find a decent sheath.