Reviews and Ratings for Parker Brass Metal, Nickel Plated Butterfly Safety Razor 4-1/4" Overall - 90R

Parker Brass Metal, Nickel Plated Butterfly Safety Razor 4-1/4" Overallrated 4.375 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Parker Brass Metal, Nickel Plated Butterfly Safety Razor 4-1/4 inch Overall

 

Price: $27.70

View Product Details
Parker Brass Metal, Nickel Plated Butterfly Safety Razor 4-1/4" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rodney S.
St. Louis, MO
Jul 27, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Shaving simplified
I have used inherited safety razors for the past several years, and as they seemed to be getting tired, decided to buy this to replace them. The decision was between this and the similar, evidently better-selling Parker with the 4 inch handle. I chose this one because of the longer handle and, to be honest, better looks. I have only one gripe, and it is that when twisting the handle to cinch the whole thing taut after installing or cleaning the blade, you need to twist it firmly and the attractive grooves near the top do not let you get a good grip, especially with wet hands. If it is not firmly twisted and snug, it tends to flex and move about between the head and handle. The fix? Use a towel to aid grip or make sure your hands are fairly dry. I have been using this for a month now and have no complaints. The finish is attractive, the balance is good, the non-adjustable blade is at an acceptable angle and it turns morning drudgery into something of an old-time, elemental, Y-chromosome ritual. This is by far the cheapest way to shave, too. Invest in this razor (or similar), add a pack of blades and some shave oil or shave soap, and you can save serious money over currently marketed, multi-bladed, lotion-stripped, buzzing, over-priced monsters hanging at the super-store.
Parker Brass Metal, Nickel Plated Butterfly Safety Razor 4-1/4" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Peter C
Vancouver, BC
Nov 11, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None
Replaced the Merkur Futura with the Parker
I just recently replaced my Merkur Futura with the Parker 90. I switched to a safety because the cost of the cartrdge razors was appaling, you are paying for marketing costs. The Merkur was a great razor, lasted me 7 years before the blades started to mis-align, never marred or scratched the entire time. I bought the Parker to try something new and was very impressed; it just gave my skin a much closer shave. The Merkur seems to be a "safer" razor, easy to use and smooth on the skin. The Parker more aggessive (in a good way for me at least) and cuts much closer. Especially better for around the lips, under the nose, and the edge of my chin. I have only used two safety razors and my choice is now the Parker.
Parker Brass Metal, Nickel Plated Butterfly Safety Razor 4-1/4" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Derick
Woodbury, MN
May 10, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very Satisfied
This razor has a good weight to it and the longer handle is nice for bigger hands. Shipping was fast and customer service was helpful and professional.
Parker Brass Metal, Nickel Plated Butterfly Safety Razor 4-1/4" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Uncle Moose
Doylestown, PA
Feb 03, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Old School... Best School
Great shave and I don't have to take a second mortgage to buy razor blade cartridges anymore. Love being able to strop safety blades to resharpen. Ten blades will last a very long time.
Parker Brass Metal, Nickel Plated Butterfly Safety Razor 4-1/4" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ola S.
Värmdö/ Sweden
Nov 29, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great Razor
I´m a European client from Sweden and I bought this razor after reading these reviews. This is my first Safety Razor and I´m really pleased with the Parker R90! The Butterfly razor are really easy to use and this is a steady and good looking razor. I chosed between a Merkur, but that model was without this butterfly reloading. It´s a great thing to be able to order over the net, and II find this deal smooth and without any problem. The logistics worked out nice and I thank you for the professional service you offer. It was a seven days wait to get the razor and the other stuff to Sweden, but now it´s here and I like it a lot! Thanks;)
Parker Brass Metal, Nickel Plated Butterfly Safety Razor 4-1/4" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rodney S.
St. Louis, MO
Jul 27, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
The proper way to shave
This razor works wonderfully. After using vintage safety razors for the past several years, I decided to try this razor, probably because it is shiny and looked pretty, and because my 1950's inheritances are getting tired. There is no blade adjustment, but the angle seems fine enough to work with and keeps the razor simple. The finish is good, it appears durable and tolerances are more than adequate. The only gripe I have is that the shaver needs to be twisted together firmly, otherwise the handle and head flex a bit when using it, and the attractive machined grooves near the handle top do not let you grip it well with wet hands when twisting it. Do not let that keep you from buying it, because using a towel (or dry hands!) solves that. As a benifit, it is gratifying to reduce shaving to a blade, some water and, for me, a shave oil ($3.80 at a superstore), a bit of patience and shaving becomes a civilizing ritual instead of a morning drudge. Shaving has become needlessly overpriced. Razors with two, three, or four blades, heads that flex and buzz with lotion strips and other gimmicks promise to make shaving easier or more comfortable, but paying for replacement blades requires it's own line in the monthly budget. To simplify your shaving, save money, shave like your forefathers (and a straight-razor is a bit too elemental), or if you just want to try something different, this razor is a great place to start.
Parker Brass Metal, Nickel Plated Butterfly Safety Razor 4-1/4" Overall
rated 3 stars out of 5
Chris U
Albuquerque, Nm
Mar 02, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
Very nice shaver for the price
This shaver is great for the price. Having a nice chrome finish, well design and nice weight. The only drawback to this razor is the handle. When it's wet it doesn't have any grip at all. The little grip at the bottom is not enough to secure the blade well. I find myself having to re tighten it often during each shave. I also noticed the head seems to be a little loose.
Parker Brass Metal, Nickel Plated Butterfly Safety Razor 4-1/4" Overall
rated 2 stars out of 5
Joe Mama
merica !
Apr 16, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
Well. I tried...
At $18.99 for 5 blades I wanted to get away from the razor I was using. I read reviews and purchased this razor and a pack of blades, thinking I would save money and have a sweet metal razor instead of the plastic abomination I was using. Well, I tried it for a week, and had to go back to a replacable cartridge razor . This razor did not work well on the thick, heavy hair on the chin, snagging and pulling the hairs out each time I used it. I also got several nicks and cuts that I just don't get with modern razors. Sorry guys, it looks cool and seems to be good quality, but it just did not work for me. YMMV...