Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK229-5HC Stratos Knife 5" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK229-5HC Stratos Knife 5" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheathrated 4.636 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Condor Tool & Knife CTK229-5HC Stratos Knife 5 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $63.73

Save $11.25 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK229-5HC Stratos Knife 5" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mr.A
Florida
Feb 23, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
super quality
Excellent knife super tough ...it feels great in the hand and comfortable when choking up on it. Very beefy all the way to the tip so no worries about damaging it. all around good design. Just remember to wipe the blade down with oil after use. As far as knife center goes I will definitely buy from them again and again super fast shipping and felt secure and confident using there website...thanks Knife center!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK229-5HC Stratos Knife 5" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
NC
Apr 02, 2018
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Awesome
Good bushcraft knife, especially for the price. Well made and heavy duty. The sheath is excellent.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK229-5HC Stratos Knife 5" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nadir
Italy
Dec 23, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None
good knife , very sharp
Condor Tool & Knife CTK229-5HC Stratos Knife 5" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Country Doc
South Central (North Dakota)
Oct 09, 2015
Pros: Materials, Finish, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
High value blade!
What a great knife. I hate buying blades online. There are a few things a person really should handle before they buy, and this includes knives. Super thick, scary sharp blade. The sheath is very nice too. I have a Ontario woodsman on backorder and wanted a smaller blade for fine work. This totally fits the bill. I have had a chance to play with a Tops bushcraft and the fit and finish of this blade is on par or better, and $100 cheaper. Buy one for your kid. Made in El Salvador (better than China, IMO).
Condor Tool & Knife CTK229-5HC Stratos Knife 5" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul K
Tucson, AZ
Oct 02, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Excellent value!
Very impressed with this knife. Fit and finish are impeccable, The handle leaves room to spare even for my large hands which allows for different grip positions. The blade takes a razors edge and as of now with the limited use it's seen, it seems to hold an edge well.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK229-5HC Stratos Knife 5" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mike B.
Stafford, Va
Aug 05, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
What else could be so nice for the price!?
I love this knife! It has heft without being heavy. And sharp! All I have to say is that I wasn't used to a knife this sharp, and I gave myself about 4 "paper cuts" from it during the first 2 days. :-) The price here at Knife Center is SOOOO excellent for the quality of the product. Now, the sheath it comes with is amazingly high quality too, but I am looking around for one that will also hold a sharpening stone and firesteel. I'm just a utilitarian kind of guy, that way....
Condor Tool & Knife CTK229-5HC Stratos Knife 5" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Thommie J.
Piteå, Al
Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
awesome blade
Its basicly the same size as condor rodan both bladewise and handle. even and good grinds that go aloto higher then the usuall condor blades. hefty knife. after some swipes of ceramic stone and stropping it was doing feathersticks like butter. its probably the best grind from condor so far..it take batoning and prying,and stilla great carver. buy it is my advice.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK229-5HC Stratos Knife 5" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kyle F
Wyoming
Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
great knife great price
Well I took this knife hiking and I loved it I chopped and hacked at a few trees trying to dull it best I could and it still maintained a great edge I really like the longer Handel the knife was cheaper than the msrp
Condor Tool & Knife CTK229-5HC Stratos Knife 5" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Country Doc
South Central (North Dakota)
Oct 09, 2015
Pros: Materials, Finish, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
High value blade!
What a great knife. I hate buying blades online. There are a few things a person really should handle before they buy, and this includes knives. Super thick, scary sharp blade. The sheath is very nice too. I have a Ontario woodsman on backorder and wanted a smaller blade for fine work. This totally fits the bill. I have had a chance to play with a Tops bushcraft and the fit and finish of this blade is on par or better, and $100 cheaper. Buy one for your kid. Made in El Salvador (better than China, IMO).
Condor Tool & Knife CTK229-5HC Stratos Knife 5" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Ken
New England
Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Very good knife but needs a smaller companion knife
I bought this knife for bushcrafting and foraging and it does very well for that. The Stratos is comfortable in my hand and the long handle helps make the knife a good light chopper. The back of the blade near the handle is flat and square and provides a good place to strike a ferrocerium rod. The knife came sharp from Condor and holds a good edge. I think Mors Kochanski said that a good bushcraft knife is a prybar with a sharp edge and this knife comes very close to that description. The heavy blade and stout point can handle about anything one would use a knife this size for. The point is a bit of a problem for somethings because it isn't very acute. I carry a Cold Steel Finn Wolf with this knife and the two cover just about everything I need a knife for in the woods. The overall finish of the knife and sheath is very good, especially for the price and I prefer a wooden handle to the various artificial materials out there. The sheath is the usual heavy leather Condor sheath but carries the knife higher on my belt than I like. I added a leather thong to drop the sheath a couple inches and I also thread the thong through the lanyard hole in the knife handle when chopping. I think this is a very good design for a bushcraft/all around woods knife.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK229-5HC Stratos Knife 5" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Cliff E
Grove city, pa
Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Got a bad one
The false edge is uneven, but who cares. The edge of the knife is uneven, when placed flat on a surface some parts of the edge touch while others do not making sharpening difficult, also at the tip the grind is really messed up , the left side is some how convexed and the right side remained scandi. This knife also came really dull. It tore paper instead of cutting it which wouldn't be bad if the knifes uneven edge wasn't so difficult to sharpen. After an hour on the rough side of my diamond stone the edge is slightly better but still has a long way to go. Very disappointed.