Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheathrated 4.0 stars out of 5 (16.0 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
9
3 star
2
2 star
1
1 star
0
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4 inch Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $55.23

Save $9.75 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Helomek
LV,NV
Sep 02, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Beautiful Blade

Great price for a well made knife. The blade's shape is awesome, never seen it before-#1 reason I chose it. Using it at work. Getting all kinds of comments. Shoulda gotten two.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Piotr F.
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Sep 23, 2011
Pros: Materials, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Finish, None

Condor Nessmuk - good bushcraft knife

Good value vs price. Useful tool at camping and in the woods
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jab
ADK
Aug 25, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Fantastic Knife.

You will not be disappointed with this knife.It's not the sharpest out of the box,but It takes and hold an edge incredibly well.It has a fantastic yet under-appreciated design that works well for most anything short of carving chess pieces.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Twinstick
Western NY State
Nov 14, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

This knife ROCKS !!!

AWESOME little knife. It just works. It took an incredible edge. Great little package for the price. Nothing but good things to say. Get you one.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
Jacksonville, NC
Jul 03, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, Finish, None

Awesome knife

Got this as a hunting/bushcraft knife. Did not expect much because of the price, boy was I wrong! This is one sweet little tool. It came very sharp and well balanced. The only reason I did'nt give it a full 5 is the handle scales. Made of very simple wood and roughly finished, I had to do some sanding to smooth out some sharp corners. It also would be nice if it had a lanyard hole. Overall very happy with this knife, and I have since purchased other Condor blades. If your looking for a simple no-frills hunting/camping blade, this is the one.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
D.C.
Missouri
Jul 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

great knife for the price

I first learned of this design while reading about nessmuk and the equipment he used. I saw and handled this blade at the Blade show in Atlanta 3 years ago along with a double bit axe that was similar to the one that nessmuk also had in the woods. Both of these along with a Case stockman is what I carry in the woods when I want to get back to semi-primitive. With these three tools and my backpack I have been able to get far back in the country and live comfortably for weeks on end. The edge is easy to resharpen when it does get dull and the pouch keeps the knife secure. These three items are also in my bug-out bag in the event I need to grab and go. The knife doees well on camp chores as well as being able to be used as a survival tool. I highly recommend this knife as well as more of the condor line as being very good for the price.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
J Dronet
Shreveport,La.
Jan 10, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material

Condor Nessmuk

I purchased the Condor Nessmuk because I am a big fan of the style and history of the knife and the man it was named for. I like the weight and the material the Condor Nessmuk is made from. This knife has but the potential for an extremely sharp edge once you break through the factory edge and establish a good bevel.The knife will dull with use but the edge is easily restored with a little honing.The Condor Nessmuk is a well balanced tool and for the price,an exceptional tool.I skinned a deer with mine this past deer season and had no problem.Try one!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike O.
Midway, FL
Mar 30, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish
Cons: None

A decent knife for what I pay for a box of .45 ammo

I like seeing an inspection sticker, signed by a human- and noted the care with which the bead-blasted 1075 steel blade has been packed, to prevent rust. Nessmuk shapes and sizes vary, but the Condor's longer handle has good user ergos.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Chris G
Alabama
Dec 27, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Very good all purpose knife.

I have been using this knife as a general purpose knife in my work as a maintenance technician and am pleased with it. The thick blade is very durable and holds and edge very well. The only reason I gave it a 4 instead of 5 is the sheath. Although very well made, is obviously for a different knife. But, hey for the price you cannot beat this knife!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Marty
waleska ga
Oct 26, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

the knife was just what i expected ...

the knife was just what i expected but the sheath was left handed. not so good for a right hander
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Henryrocks
Albuquerque, NM
May 27, 2014
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Blade Material, None

More of a Skinning Knife than a Bushcraft Knife

Actually, The 1075 Steel does not strike sparks well from a Ferrocerium rod. Otherwise, the knife is great: razor sharp right out of the box, good workmanship and polish on the Fhandle. Interesting blade shape. More of a skinning configuration than a Bushcraft Knife.For the money, it is awesome! Great quality sheath also.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
D.C.Missouri
Jul 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

great knife for the price

I first learned of this design while reading about nessmuk and the equipment he used. I saw and handled this blade at the Blade show in Atlanta 3 years ago along with a double bit axe that was similar to the one that nessmuk also had in the woods. Both of these along with a Case stockman is what I carry in the woods when I want to get back to semi-primitive. With these three tools and my backpack I have been able to get far back in the country and live comfortably for weeks on end. The edge is easy to resharpen when it does get dull and the pouch keeps the knife secure. These three items are also in my bug-out bag in the event I need to grab and go. The knife doees well on camp chores as well as being able to be used as a survival tool. I highly recommend this knife as well as more of the condor line as being very good for the price.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Davis A
NE Arkansas
Aug 04, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Condor Nessmuck

Haven't used it that much. Did need to be sharpened after receiving it, but overall appears to be a very good knife. Very impressed with the cost savings.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Don
Lexington, Ky
Nov 15, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness

condor nessmuk

a decent all purpose knife and not bad for the price, but does not compare to any of the more expensive knives that i own. only moderately sharp out of the box and will not hone to a razor edge. works fine as a camp knife, just not as a skinner.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
John Kilsby
Fort Worth, Texas
Jun 06, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Unsual Knife

Good sturdy skinner
Condor Tool & Knife CTK230-4HC Nessmuk Camp Knife 4" Carbon Steel Satin Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Nessmuk Boy
Arizona
Apr 12, 2019
Pros:
Cons:

Good Useful Knife, Overpriced

It is a good utility knife. Many of the reviews here were written year 2011 to 2016. At the 2011 price you got a good value. The last three years Condor has raised prices steadily without a change or improvement in design or quality. At MSRP or even a few dollars less you are paying too much, equal available for less. See Old Hickory for better steel, equally sturdy construction, not as well finished, for sure, but just as long lasting and useful. Condor products not things of beauty but tools for rough and ready. At MSRP for this Nessmuk, you are in Buck price territory. Give it some thought. And when you get your Condor, it wont be sharp.