Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK235-9HC Moonshiner Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK235-9HC Moonshiner Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheathrated 4.455 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Condor Tool & Knife CTK235-9HC Moonshiner Knife 9 inch Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $67.98

Save $12.00 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK235-9HC Moonshiner Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
hone
Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
A New Classic
This is a great knife in general, and a fantastic knife for the price. If you like old world craftsmanship and practical design, you won't be disappointed with the Moonshiner (I actually know little of moonshining, but if you are a moonshiner you too might find use for a fine knife). Fit and finish out of the box were good to go. It arrived sharp (and quickly), but as I'll be doing a lot of chopping with it I out a convex grind on it. It takes a fine edge, is durable and tough, good looking with a mustard patina, and all in all a perfect knife for someone looking for a big knife with great weight and balance. Oh, the sheath is also typical Condor, which is to say that it's excellent.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK235-9HC Moonshiner Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Mirfield, Other
Oct 03, 2017
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None
Nice big camp knife, excellent fit and finish.
Had this a couple of weeks now and I am very impressed by it. Processes wood , chopping ,batoning and feather sticks. It is light enough to carry whilst hiking and will also do some food prep. Handle is a good utilitarian shape, which makes it usable in different grip positions, the wooden handle looks nice and is contoured.Fit and finish on this is excellent. The sheath is of super nice leather, with a dangler belt loop , I attach mine to a pack so not worn it on my belt. I have several condor knives and on some the finish is poor, but nothing that cant be fixed with abrasive paper and a good stone or strop. Have a number of similar sized Bowie and Kukri style knives all much more expensive than this which are now relegated to a cupboard. The retro look and design are very pleasing to me, a true classic..imho.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK235-9HC Moonshiner Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rod
Atlanta
Sep 01, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Sweet Beast of a knife!
Is it possible to get more knife for the money anywhere! I don't think so. The leather sheath is almost worth what I paid for this razor sharp thick piece of carbon steel.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK235-9HC Moonshiner Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ken J
Saskatchewan
Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness
Great Knife
Excellent design, materials and execution. Prefer this over my Bk9, though the edge could use some refinement.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK235-9HC Moonshiner Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason
oregon
Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
i dont evan own it yet but im drooling
I'm in love this knife and me are connected at the hip for life
Condor Tool & Knife CTK235-9HC Moonshiner Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Christian R V
Sofiemyr,
May 19, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Finish, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Great multi purpose woods knife.
For the price, this is perhaps one of the best full tang, high carbon steel big knives (for those who prefer that) one can buy for wilderness use. It is heavy enough to use for light chopping, and the shape of the handle makes a lot of different grips possible. The blade itself is like a hybrid flat grind with a scandi-grind at the end, which should make sharpening a breeze. It also has a guide notch for those who use more advanced sharpening tools The sheath is of typical condor quality, with thick leather and solid stitching, and also includes a swing swivel that should make the knife easier to keep in the belt when sitting down. Only negative I have found with the knife so far, is that it has (in typical Condor fashion) some kind of clear lacquer on the blade. While I understand that this is done in order to protect the carbon steel blade against rust, it doesn't take much use before it starts to look real ugly, so I generally remove this layer with standard paint remover whenever I recieve a condor product.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK235-9HC Moonshiner Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Craig
Auckland NZ
Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Nice large heavy use blade!
I really love this knife! Excellent for hard tasks such as chopping and batoning, batons like a boss! Not the sharpest out the box but no problem just a little time on the strop stick and was shaving sharp, nice convex edge! Handle is large, comfortable and the hardwood scales give it a classic look (if you want micarta get the Moonstalker). Leather sheath is awesome, very well made, knife is secure deep in there, the sheath can pivot so you can sit down comfortably with it on your belt. If wearing it on your left side the sheaths pivot ability makes it easy to cross draw so you can wear a smaller blade on your right side for finer tasks. Being leather the sheath is also quiet when drawing/sheathing the knife and no rattle like you get with some cordura sheaths. Real beast of a knife!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK235-9HC Moonshiner Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Harry T.
Atco, NJ
Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Condor knife
I bought this knife as a general purpose "big knife" to keep in the garage, one that I wouldn't be afraid of banging up/getting dirty. It appears to be a sturdy, decently made knife. It's just what I was looking for in the price range. It's very sharp, but as it hasn't seen a lot of use yet, I don't know how well it will keep its edge, or take an edge when sharpened. There are some cosmetic imperfections on the blade, mostly coloration, but for its intended purpose and what I paid, I'm not complaining. Overall, I'm very happy with it thus far. The sheath is quite nice.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK235-9HC Moonshiner Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Francois
Switzerland
Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
Yes, it is a BEAST !
Yes It is a beast to chop wood, a big camp knife, not for small work but not too heavy. The edge need to be refined and it is not even all the way. Now there is a false edge in the top (like on a KaBar on the first 4"). The shealt is very nice made. If you take care of it, it will outlast everything.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK235-9HC Moonshiner Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michele
napoli ( Italy)
Jan 01, 2015
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Finish, Weight
very good knife
This is a very good knife for every camping tasks. I have tried it in my garden( I have a very big garden)vbecause in next days I want to go for a three days trip outside in the mountains and this knife have done all the "big work" with ease. Not really perfect because it have a too big handle ( for my little to medium hand), is too heavy and I dont like the long false edge on the top but, overall, is a good knife and it will be with me in all camping trip. excellent sheat, very sharp( while not "razor sharp"), fit and finish so-so. Like it very much!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK235-9HC Moonshiner Knife 9" Carbon Steel Blade, Hardwood Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Rick
Florida
May 11, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Finish
Sad Example
Workmanship on my example of this knife was absolutely poor. I have ordered other knives from Condor that were fine, but this one is terrible.