Reviews and Ratings for Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath

Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheathrated 4.467 stars out of 5 (30 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
10
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
1
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8 inch Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $89.23

Save $15.75 (15%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Francisco Xavier T
Cafayate, Salta, Other
Sep 08, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

Great for the money

It is a well constructed knife for the money and seems to be a good choper. Sheath is beatiful. Some kind of mix between a viking and gaucho style.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kent
arizona
Jun 01, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

awesome knife at excellent value!

Just bought it but I'm sure I will love using it!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nofx
California
May 20, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Matt Graham's Design is a Winner

The quality of this knife far exceeded my expectations. I usually shy away from wooden handles, but this one is superb. I really like the functional design of the sheath as well. The design allows you to easily place and remove it from your waist without have to adjust your belt. The scandi grind also means that the edge can easily be touched up in the field. I originally bought this knife based on Matt Graham's reputation and watching him use it in the field. Now I can honestly say I would have purchased it regardless.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt
Washington
Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None

awesome

Great knife did everything I needed it to an more.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Smc
Mentor Ohio
Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard

Well suited for all your outdoor needs.

I really enjoy this knife. It is a larger size, which really suits my camping needs. Well balanced and worth the money.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michel G
New Orleans LA
May 19, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Very Pleased

I don't usually buy knives that are designed by TV stars and I was concerned I would be disappointed with a poor quality gimmick sort of knife. BOY WAS I WRONG! I have purchased many Benchmade, Cold Steal, ESEE, Brushletto, Mora, Victorianox and other what I consider great quality knives but I have never fell in love so deep as I have with this knife. This knife will take the lead of my three knife pac including my Mora classic one, and my Victorianox Fieldmaster. With these three knives I will be able to accomplish everything in my path. Thank you Condor and Matt Graham for sharing with the rest of us!!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Waymon C
Texas
Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Condor and Matt Graham knife is a winner!!!!!!!!!!!!

this knife is great i have used it on only small limbs as of yet but would not be worried at all to use it on larger limbs up to 3 or 4 inchs if needs be. the blade weight is to the front end of the knife and the balance feels wonderful!!!It is every ting i thought it would be when i ordered it.Kudos to Condor and Matt Graham on this kick a** knife!By the way the sheath is very good quality leather and i personally like the slip in the belt idea instead of the belt loop like most knives have these days works great for building fire boards for a fire drill as well!!VERY IMPRESSED AS IF YOU COULDN'T TELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ricardo S
San Antonio, Tx
Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
This knife has a nice heavy weight and a very nice wooden grip. I plan on using it as a trail knife while hunting. I have wanted a carbon steel blade and the Condor delivers.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jackie E
Sebastian fl
Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Finish, None

Real nice!

Real nice knife. Looks good and is very functional. Good craftsmanship and it is priced right.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kevin
Northern Alberta
Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Finish, Sheath/Scabbard

Condor primitive bush knife.

I have not had a chance to take this knife to the bush yet but have used quite a few times in the back yard. I believe for summer use it will replace my belt knife and my ax. It does feather sticks , splits wood and does food prep very well. In winter I still want my ax and saw but for summer I really believe this is all I need. Overall the quality is pretty good for the price . The pins on the handle aren't all that smooth but a few mins with some sandpaper took care of that. The cutting edge seems to hold up quite well. So far I am very pleased with this purchase . Weight savings is approx. 2 lb. less than my winter tools.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brad
Wenatchee, wa
Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Finish, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, None

Bush craft champ.

I work for the forest service on a trail crew and this knife comes with me and helps clear small brush. I attended a survival school and learned bow drill and shelter building and lots of other bush crafting techniques and this knife is just what the doctor ordered! The first day I had it in rubbed out a coal easy peasy. It's light weight but 8 inches, it's amazing. I can't really think of too many cons! I guess that some people might be turned off at the fact that the sheath isn't a belt loop style it's a tuck away style but has a flap that makes it easy to tuck into your belt or pants or where ever, it actually makes it quite nice to store in my day pack while riding my motorcycle on the trails and bust out and go to work. I give it an A++. Oh yeah I guess it would be nice it it had a rounder handle and maybe composite with rubber rings like some condor knives have... but that's not bad, the wood handle is beautiful.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Matt's #1 Fan
Canada
Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Corbin's analysis

The Matt Grahm knife is a true beauty. You know it looks good if your rich friends are telling you that they want it. The wood handle fits perfect in my hand and its such a great sensation to swing it around. The tip is dangerously sharp and drills in fire boards like a legend. The sheath has an unmatched style, and I feel so confident when its on my belt. The blade length and thickness matches my outdoors style perfect because It is light weight enough that it doesn't slow me down and I can run and jump mostly the same, but its heavy and big enough to get the bigger tasks down like chopping small trees and thick tall bushes.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex H
Frenchtown, NJ
May 12, 2015
Pros: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Matt Graham-designed Bush Knife is a Solid Deal

The knife and sheath are a good value. It is shipped without a sharp edge so you can provide your own. It sharpened up nicely. Good heft. Sheath seems more than fine for the job. Will use for yard work and occasional camping/hiking. The item I received, at least, seems to be a decent product, and worth $70.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank B
Carrollton, Georgia
May 28, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
This is a great knife! Just the right weight. Not too small and not too large. It can be used camping or for any outdoor activity. I observed this knife while watching the Survivors series with Matt Braham. I think the knife is very practical for any situation. I would recommend it to all my friends!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
Port orchard, wa
May 29, 2015
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
Awesome, heavy duty, rustic. With a little tuning it takes a nice edge! The ONLY downside is there is no belt loop on the sheath, nothing your local saddle maker cant fix
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dustin
Missouri
Jan 11, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
Great knife and high quality sheath just no loop for belt. Knife holds a good edge.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Colorado
Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great knife! Very pleased with my first ever Condor purchase!

Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
White Plains NY
Jul 07, 2015
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: None

Great knife and great price

I am amazed with the design of this knife. Its a good chopper and when holding the blade in my hand by choking up on the knife it is a good skinner. The 1/8" thickness is strong for batoning and keeps the blades ability the cut. Im buying another as a backup. Matt Graham did a solid job with this design.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Idahogriz
Twin Falls, ID
May 28, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Finish, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard

Great knife

This knife has great balance, weight, and strength. 90 degree spine showers sparks from a fero rod. The handle is a little small for my average man's hand; wrapped is 550 cord it is perfect. The sheath fits inside of a belt; I plan to add a dangler for better practicality. Blade came sharp with a couple of rough spots that easily sanded out.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brian
Colorado
Aug 04, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Great bush knife

Great knife. Good wood processer. Awesome shieth. Only con is blade sharpness out of box. But easily fixed with a little work on the sharpening stone.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mason G
West Virginia
Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mason G
West Virginia
Dec 31, 2015
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Material
I got this knife for Christmas this year,and it was love at first site I loved the knife and still do, just wish they would've used a better steel such as 1075 like on most of their knives also the sheath was farely dry but nothing a little neetsfoot oil wouldn't fix when I was testing the tip for a bow drill the very tip broke off I just took a mill file and worked it back to a point and haven't had any problems with it since other than that an overall great knife.Great chopper,sharp 90 degree spine for a ferrocium rod,does also tend to want to slip out of ur hand when chopping.Over all great knife thank you Knifecenter shop here when u can
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Crist
georgia
May 27, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

MO

Preordered the knife came $72 total. Knife came and was bigger than I imagined, it has the feel of a bowie knife almost. Love the deisgn. Like a Scramsaex. Leather sheath has no belt loops, but a belt lip. It goes into the sheath a little funny and pulls out pretty easy. I also tend to avoid wooden handels for many reasons, like they rot and break, but the feel of this one is decent. The weight of this makes so chopping small things like branches would be a sinch, pretty long too. All and all I like it a lot. I would also compare it to some of my benchmades or the few custom/handmade knives I have, cheaper and looks like it could take a better beating without fear of damaging a more expensive product.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Doc Shotgun
Psychotic State
Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Nice knife. Needs a longer blade

Good cutter/ good for cracking coconuts open, driving tent pegs/ ferocerium. Tip is a little fragile. came sharp/ used diamond/ceramic stone to make it sharper stone. The sheath might be fine for Matt but I want a belt loop... Blade needs another couple inches too...it's big for a knife, but too small for use as a machete. LOOSE the signature on the blade!
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Wes A Sr.
Arlington,Texas
Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard
The knife sheith? Had no idea it had to be carried inside the pants or belt and not a belt loop. Knife size and design is good as is the quality also. Knife will be used in field work. Handle might be in different material to help grip in slippery situation. Blade sharpness is marginal.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dhump
California
Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Sheath/Scabbard
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Great blade

I use this knife allot around the yard and garden. It also says in my truck when not in use. You never know, I do allot of four Wheeling.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Marc G
New city New York
May 28, 2015
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Materials, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material

Great bush craft survival knife

Over all a really good knife, I think the handle should have a harder wood like African hard wood , and the blade could be a little thicker, but the weight is good for chopping and the sharpness is great for carving and wittling wood. The over all design is different but I really like it, can be used as a spear point. The sheath could be a little tighter but I understand why it was made the way it was so it can be used for left or right handed. I really like Condor knives, very affordable with good quality craftsmanship and materials. I would only use a different handle material or give the option.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rodger
Utah
May 15, 2020
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Practical Knife, Impractical Sheath

This is a great, if simple knife. I'm usually all about carbon steel in knives, but where I see this as a "You're left to survive and this is your only bladed tool" I chose the 420 HC version. 420 HC gets a bad rap, but it's simple, low maintenance steel that is functional, dependable and easy to work. It prepares food well, chops decently, and I had no problem making curls and fuzz sticks to start a fire. This is certainly not a top-of-the-line fighter, survival knife, bushcrafter, or game processor, but it's greatness is in its ability to be a practical, dependable, easy to use all-arounder. If there is a weakness, it's that beautiful but almost useless sheath. A sheath without a solid, DEPENDABLE attachment point is as useless as a promise from a lawyer or a politician. If you're living primitively, you've got to depend on your knife staying with you, and a "Slide it in and the tab holds it in place" barely qualifies as a silly joke, and in NO WAY qualifies as attachment. It's beautiful and well made, but it must have an attachment. Fortunately I work in leather a lot, and attaching a dangler loop wasn't hard.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Timbercruiser
Maine
May 17, 2015
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Finish

Good knife for the price

I preordered this knife, and when it arrived looking it over I found uneven grinds on an otherwise well built product, I was somewhat dissapointed but for the asking price I guess you can't expect perfection. The leather sheath is however outstanding.
Condor Tool & Knife CTK242-8 Primitive Bush Knife 8" Blasted Satin Stainless Steel Blade, Hardwood Handle, Leather Sheath
rated 1 stars out of 5
Paul C
Jackson TN
Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish

Poor quality for the money

Sheath looks good but does not fit the knife well. 420 is ground and dull. the point was bent. $25 would be a good price for the knife. Over-priced and poor quality makes me give it only 1 star.