Reviews and Ratings for Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles

Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.500 stars out of 5 (28 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
6
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125 inch Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $44.95

Save $25.04 (36%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stitch
Grand Island, NE
Dec 12, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
Real Beauty!
I added this model to my collection of tactical folders, and it is a real winner! High quality design, materials used and of course functions perfectly. I just wish they would have transfered this kind of quality to their larger Asian-type folder.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ronin K9
Al Nasiriyah, Iraq
Jan 27, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
10 out of 10!
One of the finest folders I have ever owned. Great balance style. Assisted opening is smooth. Extra safety on liner lock is a bonus as well.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cesar
São Paulo
Aug 31, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Material, None
Excelent EDC with Combat Inspiration!
I am knife fight instructor. I just bought this knife From KnifeCenter and this is a really good knife. It is small in size when closed, but when the blade is opened, you can see it is a serios knife. Razor sharp out of box and very (I mean VERY) sharp point. This knife is not for those who want a knife for hard work, but instead I think it was conceived for be in a business suit pocket. Ellegant, thin, lightweight and really agressive. The assisted opening is fast and when the liner locks, you feel the vibration of the steel. The sound of the assited opening is a bit scary. All the finish is well done, and the care of provide a small plate for the other side of the pocket clip was a good deal! The only thing I really don't like, is the polished G10 scale. It simply doesn't have grip no way! BUT, I think it is because the tanto (in this case a trully "iaito") blade blade style is conceived for maximum penetration, so the grip is not so necessary. In my case, slash is aways a better technique than stab with a no guard / no grip knife. For self defense, I recomend this knife strongly!
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Evan
everett, wa
Nov 05, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Blade Material
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, None
Excellent knife!
I carry it on me for self defense and its great. Small, concelable, and the blade deploys almost instantly when you need it. The only con is the lock, its great but i wish it was the auto lawks so you dont have to manually lock it when using, but overall a great knife, once blade is locked its a fixed blade and wont close on you.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Creole
Hutto Texas
Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath, None
Columbia River 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G1
Pros: Love this lil knife. I use it every day. I needed something that wasnt too scary that nurses at hospital im in wouls take it from me. I use it to open my mail letters & boxes and it’s still sharp.just a great EDC knife. Cons: Did not come with sheath or case. Wish it came in a king size model 4” to 5” blade.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Capt. Joe
Sailing Yacht "CEMI" Salinas, PR
Nov 12, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Columbia River Hissatsu 2 Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, Zytel Han
Feels great in the hand, very sharp and assisted opening is smooth as silk. The additional blade lock is very easy to operate. The light weight and clip top notch is really and excellent knife a ten all the way. I really can't find anything wrong with this design. I also own a full size locking and keep it as belt knife because of it's weight and size.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bowiecat
Missouri
Apr 14, 2011
Pros: Ease of Opening, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use, None
Solid collector addition, unique knife....fast opening.
This knife pops out fast, has a nice blade shape and is good for any collection...its like having an auto knife....no issues opening this thing fast....the locking LAWKS system on this one is manual and not automatic as in the larger Hissatsu folder. Overall, if you like the Japanese style blade shape designed by Samurai guru historian James Willians....get this blade. I think the collectability is high on this knife...the workmanship is nice, but for pure defense....get the larger one.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
William
Pennsylvania
Jan 02, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Effective design and execution
Designed with a japanese influence but made for the street. A nice assisted folder for everyday carry that has some style. The opening took a few dozen attempts and a couple drops of oil to get just right.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Rev. Bastille
Deer Creek, Texas
Mar 02, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
You'll Get Over the Weirdness...
As others have said before, yes, it is a little awkward to open. AT FIRST! I opened the box and was overjoyed at what rolled out into my hand. Then I went to open it, and I was less then overjoyed. I was disappointed in fact. Either the scales were to thick, or the cutouts to shallow, or the thumbstud too small, but something was throwing off my voodoo. Switching hands didn't help, sometimes a knife likes one hand better than the other, right? I was sad inside my heart because the knife really is effing AWESOME, with just the right size and weight to carry but still be useful, and that blade. I mean it when I say, this knife is sharp. After 20 or so minutes of fooling around with it, I found I could open it as easily as any other assisted opener in my knife drawer. The moral of the story is, don't let people's complaints of awkward opening dissuade you from getting this knife if you want it. Worth every penny at twice this price.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bo
henderson nevada
Jul 26, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type
Cons: None
i like the knive. its made very well.the hissatsu 2 great design
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alr
MI
Jun 05, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Such a great knife!
This is such a great knife! The deployment is extremely fast and the fit and finish is great. Since I've received it, it has been carried more than any of my other knives!
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gt
Canada
Oct 25, 2018
Pros: Ease of Opening, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Blade Material
Needs a little a little TLC
This is my go to EDC. Business suit, shorts, holidays. It’s so great I wish they would make one exactly the same with better steel. I drummeled out the thumb slide to make it longer. Sanded and oiled the dremmeling. Perfect. I have some very expensive knives but this always seems to be in my pocket. Love it.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kahu
C'sted, USVI
Aug 09, 2010
Pros: Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
I love this thing!
This was what I was wanting when I got the first Hissatsu. That was a little large for my needs but this is perfect! A little stiff out of the box but it's loosening up with use. 8^)
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris M.
Upstate NY
Sep 26, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
amazing quality for the price. beautiful G-10 scales, and blade finish
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Old Dawg
Metro Louisville
Aug 05, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Pocketable personal protection
This knife is obviously designed primarily for personal protection - it has a sturdy razor sharp blade, assisted opening with a lockable liner lock and Zytel scales that afford a secure grip. Size and weight make it ideal for pocket carry. Even if you never planned to use it for personal protection, it makes an near perfect multi-use pocket knife.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bones-13
DEN CITY -303-
Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
LOVE THIS KNIFE!!!
THIS KNIFE IS GREAT, FROM THE SIZE OF THE KNIFE TO THE BLADE IT IS EVERYTHING YOU NEED IN A EDC OR SELF DEFENSE KNIFE. I HONESTLY CANT FIGURE OUT THOUGH MOST OF THE OTHER REVIEWS, THIS KNIFE IS VERY EASY TO OPEN, JUST PUSH OUT ON THE THUMB DISK AND THE BLADE FLY'S OUT WITH EASE AND AUTHORITY. I'M PRETTY SURE THE PEOPLE HAVING DIFICULTY HAVE NOT USED AN ASSISTED OPENING KNIFE VERY MUCH IF AT ALL, BUT WIH ALL GREAT ASSISTED OPENERS YOU DO NEED TO GIVE A NICE MANLY PUSH ON THE DISK NOT A SOFT SUTTLE RUB, LOL,LOL! ANYWAY THANKS AGAIN CRKT AND JAMES WILLIAMS FOR A WONDERFULL KNIFE.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tactical Joe
Trinidad. WI
Oct 22, 2010
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great knife
The perfect seize knife, with an adequate assisted spring. I like how the pocket clip on my knife was blackened, unlike the ones I saw online. The clip rides really low as well
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dominc
Reno,Nv.
Mar 17, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Handle Feel, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Heiho design is stunning
It's probably one of the best designed self defense folders of it's size. It's not a whitteler. It's not a whittler.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rob
Sep 01, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Weight, Lock Type, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Very solid construction, when fully in place feels like a fixed blade. Trickier to open than some other assisted openers.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Big Pat
Roanke, VA
Dec 20, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Feel, None
smaller package, but same style
I originally bought the 1st model of this knife but it was way to big for me to carry around for everyday use, so I bought this model it's pretty much the same, expect in a smaller package, the only set back is the grip, which come to think of it that is the same set back to the first model
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike
GA
Apr 03, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
nice knife for the money
Nice knife for the money, blade is very sharp and has a fine point, takes some practice learning how to open it, has a great clip, stays very secure while attached to pocket.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charles
Bellevue, Wa
Jun 12, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Nice Knife
Nice knife, but it's difficult to open with the thumbstud before the assisted spring kicks in.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mr. Mutinous
Olympic Mountains, WA
Oct 21, 2010
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Handle Feel, Handle Material, None
solid and affordable
very solid and well built, weight and ergonomics are right. This is my first assisted opener, it works well, though like all others I have tried seems almost tougher to open than a standard one hand opener. Practice and a few hundred opening/closings later I have the feel for it most the time. I'm also not so sure how much faster the inverted "tip up" carry is, I'm so used to rotating my knife in my hand as I draw it I end up backwards with this one. My one real negative is the handle, it doesn't have much grip texture, could be slippery. A thumb ramp on the backside would be nice, but probably poorly effect the Japanese astetic of the knife.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mladenik
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Nov 02, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Weight, Pocket Clip, Lock Type
Cons: Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, None
CRKT 2900 Heiho folder
This knife is wonderful. Extremely sharp and agressive. I wish the handle wasn't so smooth and had a better grip or checkering on atleast one side of it. The thumb disk seems short as my thumb is having a hard time 'gripping' it to open it. Once, it does work, the assisted opening is wonderful and EXTREMELY FAST. This is a no nonsense fighting folder and is wonderful for the price of $44.95. I will have this in my pocket 24-7
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Dave
NW Ohio
Aug 08, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Handle Feel, None
Cons: Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Lock Ease of Use
Fun to Play with
I bought this knife merely for collector interest. However, the knife was extremely difficult to open, to point where I could tell something was definitely not right. I'm still not sure what the exact problem was, but I was able to resolve it. I disassembled the knife and polished the spring mating surface to the blade and cleaned everything up, and used a really good lubricant. Reassembled the knife, and now it flips open properly as it should.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Adam
Richmond, VA
Jul 27, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Ease of Opening
Nice knife with a couple of drawbacks
I really like the concept of this knife. The fit and finish was well done and it looks great but I found it a bit difficult to open. My thumb just slipped passed the opening disk. I returned it and purchased a Sypderco Tenacious. Knifecenter was great. I received both knives the next day. The return was hassle free.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Mike
Virginia
Mar 26, 2013
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Yes & No
The current Heiho has the potential to be a very good knife, but....the way it's coming out of the factory right now it's not. The pluses: very good blade & handle design, good materials, put together well and a good carry weight. The negatives: it's got opening problems ( either w/ the mechanism or the access to the thumbdisk), the G10 handle surface is too slick, and the blade's edge from the factory isn't even close to that of a Benchmade or Kershaw. Come on CRKT, send this back to your design department and spend some more time on it. You'll probably sell a lot more of them after you do.
Columbia River CRKT 2900 Heiho Folder Assisted 3.125" Satin Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Jeff
The Swampy Hell of Florida
Jun 06, 2017
Pros:
Cons:
An excellent design with some problems...
There is good news and bad news here. First the bad news. This knife was initially made in Taiwan out of AUS-8 steel. Now it is made in China and the quality is not as good., I am left handed, and when I went to swap the pocket clip (easy to do on my Taiwanese Hissatsu) I couldn't because the torx screws are soft, and the plate on the opposite side would come off without scratching or gouging it. To be clear I have tightened and switched things around on other CRKT knives from Taiwan, with no issues. I have had multiple problems with Chinese knives. The steel is decent, but seems more brittle too. Now the good news. This is a very solid, small knife with a wickedly efficient blade for self protection. The handle scales are slick, but this keeps the knife from snagging on the draw. The knife is so small that my palm wraps around the pommel end, thereby making checkering superfluous It is easily held in just about any grip. I can also manipulate this knife well with either hand because of its diminutive size. It is still large enough to be a decent point pressure tool. The assisted opening is swift and lockup is positive. You will need to practice this, but it is fun, so no big deal. The LAWKS system adds a bit of confidence for heavier work.The pocket clip allows the knife to ride deep in the pocket, and it is no longer brightly finished. Mine showed up black, with the CRKT logo. To be honest, I don't like being a walking billboard for a knife company, and putting a logo on a deep concealment clip seems a bit silly. Nevertheless, this is a solid knife for when you need protection in a neat and discreet package.