Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles

Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handlesrated 4.680 stars out of 5 (25 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
19
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2 inch AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles

 

Price: $24.95

Save $16.04 (39%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex
Lexington
Jun 06, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
Great for odds and ends just when ever you need it. Great for kids hand size
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob
Nashua N.H.
May 17, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nice Toy
Nice little blade for all the small jobs that its big brother is to big for. My edc is the Recon 1 4" Drop point. Love the Recon series.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spkuse
Chantilly, VA
Apr 16, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Handle Material, Weight, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Mini is right!
Ok, I just thought it would be fun to see what this little knife is all about. It is so small I laugh at it compared to my XL Espada and Rajah II knives! It is a cute little guy that is easily carried in your pocket or even in your coin pocket in your jeans. Very light-you won't know that it is there. Sharp little sucker too.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Curt G.
South Carolina
Apr 20, 2012
Pros: Weight, Blade Sharpness, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great little blade!
Very convenient, easy to carry blade that came razor sharp!
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kurt H.
Largo, Fl
Aug 07, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Micro Thunder
This "micro" knife is just like it's big brother. From the razor sharp blade to the handle and lock. Works great as a box or letter opener, or even for larger tasks. I have mine looped onto my key chain and when ever I need a knife, it's ready for action. I also own the "micro" knife versions from "CRKT", "SOG", and "Spyderco". These are all great knives, however, the "Micro Recon" is the one hanging from my key chain.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jorge G.
San Antonio, TX
Apr 20, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, Overall Quality, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
This is a great pocket knife. Cold Steel did a great job with it. I use it everyday from opening boxes to cutting rip ties. It does a great job ever time. The only thing I don't like about it is no pocket clip. It gets a little annoying when I have to dig around my pocket for it.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Todd S
macomb, mi
Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
awesome knife
Awesome little knife...I have 3.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jesse
Tennessee
Apr 05, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Always wanted a little plain edged cold steel.
I've always loved the Cold Steel Super Edge. Such a useful little knife but the CS Serrations are frankly terrible after a few years. This knife has the same blade steel, a very similar blade style, is a plain edge blade, and is a folder. It's like everything I've wanted in a little all purpose knife. I can maybe get 3 fingers around the grip, but there is a very distinct edge on the bottom of the knife that I can rest my ring finger on that locks the knife in.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pat
Bucks County, PA
Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None
Micro Tri-Ad Awesomness
I rotate a dozen or so other larger blade knives, but this little guy rides along everyday, the epitome of an everyday carry knife. Small, super lightweight, good blade Steel, came super Sharp and great locking mechanism. In hand this knife feels about twice its size. The two-finger choiles really enable you to have a secure grip on this tiny knife. Nobody ever bats an eye when you pull this out of your pocket for a cutting to ask. Completely maintainable, just like all other Cold Steel Knives, you can disassemble to clean and reassemble with ease. The blades Steel is more than adequate for a knife this size. The aus8a cold steel uses takes and holds a great Edge.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anthony M.
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 17, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
The coolest keychain knife to date!
Never have I come across a key chain knife that is so small,slim, light weight, and sharp! The thumbstud allows for one handed opening and can be flicked open! No nail nic! Add the super strong cold steel triad lock and now you truly have the best key chain (IMO) ever! I have been carrying this knife everyday since I purchased it and received a lot of good compliments. This knife is perfect for opening packages and the little job that doesn't require a large blade.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Leon M
Johannesburg, South-Africa
Oct 03, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great EDC for office workers
Great option if you would like to carry a knife in a urban/office environment. Very light and very useful.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
riverdale
Aug 25, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
a keyrings best friend
a great little knife. shaving sharp right out of the box with an iron lockup., no keyring should be without one. i cant wait to buy the bigger recon now.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
A
MI
Apr 16, 2012
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Lock Type, Handle Feel, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Great little knife
Nice little knife. I bought two of these, one in each blade style. Great knife for the price. I used paracord to make a lanyard. Perfect for everyday carry and as a backup/extra knife.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Raider
Ohio
Apr 17, 2013
Pros: Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Perfect 2nd Knife
I almost always carry a full size Recon 1, Endura, Rat 1 or similar large folding knife. These are all great knives but can be somewhat intimidating to the uninitiated. I have often found myself with a small cutting task but reluctant to draw unwanted attention from passing sheeple by using my primary knife. This is where the mini Recon 1 shines. With a super thin profile, negligible weight, bomb proof lock, and amazing grip for such a small knife I find it to be the perfect 2nd EDC knife. It would also be a great choice to stash in a mini survival kit.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robert S
Johns Island, Sc
Jun 09, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None
Solid!
Great Knife. I wanted a small knife for utility purposes. This fits the bill. Good solid construction and very sharp out-of-the-box. Quick delivery. Thanks Knife Center.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Zane
Jurales NM
Apr 24, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Handle Feel, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: None
Perfect Micro!!
This little knife is as strong as it's bigger brothers. Holds an edge good and sharpens easy.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jason
Ohio
Jun 03, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Nice little knife
Nice little knife
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel
Morehead City, Nc
May 23, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Great little knife.
Use as a utility knife. Handy to use when a little pocket knife is needed. Keeps it's edge well, requiring very little edge maintenance. Great knife.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dan
nj
Aug 29, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
little badass
a keyrings best friend. very sharp and great lockup with no play at all.comfortable handle as well. no keyring should be without one.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Justin H
Mar 29, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality
perfect for everyday care. opens boxes like nothing.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Charlie
Buffalo
Jun 14, 2013
Pros:
Cons:
It's not the size of the dog in the fight...
I needed something small that would travel lightly, yet cut like a larger knife & the Cold Steel Recon 1 Micro delivers!
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bones
So Cal
Apr 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Lock Ease of Use
Great on a keychain!
First off...it is TINY! That being said, it is well made, sharp and a handy little knife for opening boxes and other small jobs. I practiced opening it with the thumb opener and can only say Good Luck. It takes practice. It's a keeper if you have use for a very small knife. Difficult to un-lock.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mike C.
San Diego, CA
Apr 18, 2012
Pros: Lock Type, Blade Material, Handle Feel, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Weight, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
When you speak of an EDC, the Micro Recon has to be in the conversation. I can think of no reason why this little beauty should ever be left behind. Granted, I have only carried it for the past two weeks, but it has been used daily on a multitude of domestic & business tasks.It is razor sharp,feels good in the hand and is of size that makes it impossible to justify leaving at home. The Micro Recon does not profess to be a tactical and that is a good thing, when using it in the company of the paranoid. I carry it in addition to a more full sized blade which is getting good pocket rest lately. For most daily light duty tasks the MR1 is most capable. This Gem of a knife deserves a 5 rating, but I give it a 4 because of it's manufacture location. Would gladly pay a few bucks more for a Made in the Good Old USA version!!
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
Michael Kl
Overland Park, Ks
Apr 09, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
Small and inexpensive
What can you say about a folder this size - it's small and inexpensive. On the other hand, it's small enough to carry all the time. Actually, I found it to be good value for the money. I thought it was well made with good materials. The handle is too small for more than two fingers and a thumb, but it's ergonomic for it's size and the back of the handle has a thumb rest.The G-10 handle is easy to hold on to. I thought the thumbrest was a bit slick because the back lock appears to have been polished before it was PVD coated. I had a bit of difficulty in opening the blade, but that's because the knife is so small it's difficult - at least for me - to access the thumb stud. You have to shift your grip to unlock the knife, but the knife is so small I can't imagine what other kind of lock could be used. The other thing to watch for is the split ring that comes with the knife and is intended to be installed through the lanyard hole. The split ring is too big and, if you're not watching, can flop around to the other side of the handle. If you're not careful when you close the blade the split ring can get between the blade and handle and ding the blade. There are two fixes: one is to always watch when you close the blade, which is a good idea anyway, or you can install a smaller split ring, which is what I did. I suspect I'll end up carry this knife a lot because it's so small.
Cold Steel 27TDS Micro Recon 1 Spear Point 2" AUS8 Plain Blade, G10 Handles
rated 3 stars out of 5
George S
Cape May, NJ
Jan 15, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Handle Material
Did not like it sending it back
This is not a critique on KnifeCenter as they always do such a great job. In fact, even though I am returning this one I purchased a different one I rec'd today. The knife was not at all sharp although the blade looked great in black. What I most disliked was the handle material. It was or felt too lite for the knife. It felt like a sugar cookie. There was no smooth edge around the body so the checkering felt rough and uncomfortable to hold. So, these three things deserved a rejection. I purchased a small SOG folder prior to this one and loved it. I purchased a Bear & Son to replace it.