Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle

Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handlerated 4.739 stars out of 5 (23 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2 inch VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle

 

Price: $99.95

Save $70.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gabor Dr. L
Szekesfehervar, Hungary
Feb 10, 2013
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Excellent blade

I bought it 6-7 years ago. Despite its blade's pretty thickness it is easy to get sharp because of its "V" cross section. Grip, weight and balance are excellent too.
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Roman299
Simi Valley, CA
May 22, 2017
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

durable knife

price and quality are good. durable knife
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Slayer
gulf coast
Sep 08, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

great all around knife

this knife has a laminated blade that comes razor sharp, and is easy to resharpen. the handle is a tacky, nonslip rubber, that feels great in the hand, making the knife feel like an extention of the hand. the sheath works well, but ive ordered a custom sheath from jre leather works. if your in the market for a plain jane knife, that you can carry every day this is the knife for you
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mbentley6
Indiana
Jul 06, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

sexy blade

I wanted to buy a knife that was under 6 inches, just so I could have a knife that wasn't too illegal. I decided on this knife mostly for the steel and handle. I have the Carbon V Cold Steel Recon Tanto and I love the handle. This knife has that handle.
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Japanese
Tokyo japan
Oct 22, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Practicable high performance

The saucer doesn't have the discoursed necessity in the much more about high performance of this knife now. For the person who buys it again.This is new specs of an old aus8 model, and thickness is more a little than old carbonⅴ models of the large.
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Lucky Lee
Colorado Springs, CO
Jul 07, 2010
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Cold steel Master Hunter

I bought this knife to use while hunting deer and elk. I really like the weight and feel of the knife. I was also impressed with the fact that the knife was sharp enough to shave with right out of the box.
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris The Train Guy
Falls Church, Va
Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: None

Sweet Knife!

This Master Hunter from Cold Steel,is one sweet knife! I am duly impressed with the overall quality and utility of this blade,at such an affordable price. It arrived in razor sharp condition,and has kept it's edge over many months of hard use! The included Kydex sheath is also well made,and well thought out. I especially like the lanyard hole at the rear of the knife handle,which is perfect for adding a length of bungee cord,paracord,or latigo lace.Buy it!
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Antonio
Spain
Sep 21, 2009
Pros: None
Cons: None

Very good

a very good knife
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Enthusiast
Queensland, Australia
Oct 02, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: None

Big Knife In A Small Package

Good strong little knife, it does all camp chores quite well. A very good close-quarter-combat-knife too! One of the all time great from coldsteel.
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jinliang Lin
Danshui Town, Taiwan
Dec 29, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

It's good for using.

Good quality at a fair price
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gary H.
Kansas City MO USA
Jul 27, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Perfect Little Brother to the SRK

I like hiking and camping. I need a solid knife that can take care of work in the outdoors. The Master Hunter is a slightly smaller version of the SRK. Same handle, same sharp thick blade, and same Cold Steel Quality! I love the smaller blade length from the SRK (which I have and love as well)
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tony
Vancouver B.C.
Feb 11, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Exceeds my expectations

Ordered this knife for its exact purpose, skinning large or small game. Cuts through tendons, muscles and ligaments like a hot knife through a tender butter. But what made me really surprised is its edge holding even after some industrial heavy use... Recommend it to anyone who needs a handy tool always ready at your hip...
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul C
Maryland
Jul 01, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

I bought this knife for heavy utility farm work

I bought this knife for heavy utility farm work. I have had good luck with abusing/rough use with Cold Steel knives and this will allow me to try the San Mai 3 in a shorter blade. The spine is extremely thick and have noticed that it does not cut through plant material as well as a thinner blade but has done well puncturing and slicing back and forth. It came with a very sharp edge and I decided on it over Fallkiven F1 due to price and my past history and good luck with CS knives.
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Travis U
jacksonville, fl
Jun 07, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

master hunter

great knife
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Robinson Bucci
Brazil
Jun 24, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

The best survival knife

 Has the proper size, great portability. Robust and very sharp. It is the knife I have chosen to spend my vacation in the Amazon forest. Thanks Knifecenter thanks Cold Steel!
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bushdoctor
Raleigh ,NC
Mar 12, 2013
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

fifteen year old Master Hunter

I own over thirty knives. Most are "Display Queens" but this is the one knife I use all of the time. It has travelled with me from Alaska to Peru. I did a two week survival training in Utah with this knife. Of all of the CS fixed blades and I own several, it is by far the most practical outdoors knife. Mine has the Carbon V steel which is easy to sharpen to a razor's edge. I can easily dry shave with it. Many who test my edge can not believe that a this knife like this can get so scalpel sharp. I do not know why they did not continue this steel, because it is the very best. Probably because it will rust and stain and many who buy knives just want them to look shiny and not do any work. My leather sheath has just about had it and I would like to try to find out how I can buy a Kydex sheath for it. I have ESEE's, Bokers, Busses, Moras and this is the best if you really want to hunt and camp.
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Internben
little rock ar
Jul 26, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

fanfriggintastic

i absolutely love this knife. i bought it for survival situations, just to have a badass knife that i knew could do almost anything. i am not dissapointed. as far as the knife is concerned, i of course took it out and tried to shave my arm hair with it. worked like a charm. the handle fits in my hand perfectly, not too thick not too slim. sheath is fantastic, i wish all knives came with this kind. great great buy.
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aleksei
Russian Federation
Sep 10, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None

Excellent knife

Excellent knife for hunting. Every time take it with me to the forest.Never let me down. Respect
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donald Palmer
DE
Dec 09, 2008
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Cold Steel Master Hunter

I've had my Master Hunter for three hunting seasons. When I first got it I thought the 3/16 thick blade and 4.5 in. length was going to be a hindrance. I don't split the pelvis in the field, I cut around the anus and cut the tissue loose by following the pelvis bone on the inside. The knife works fine by choking up on the blade and not using the full length. The thickness and length work very well when cutting through the breast bone. The Kraton handle is large enough to get a good grip and use both hands to pull up through the bone, tissue, and hide without slipping. I've field dressed six deer with this knife. I usually automatically touch up the edge after each use, but this year I noticed it was still hair shaving sharp after using it the first time, so I didn't touch it. It did the second deer just fine and is still sharp. Cold Steel knives are very sharp when you get them. I own several. Also, I love the Kydex sheath. It locks the knife in plus has a retaining strap. It can be taken on and off the belt without taking the belt off. Easy to clean the fat and blood off when you're done as is the Kraton handle. Notice I didn't check any "cons".
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael Vertorano
hillsborough nj
Jun 07, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

sharp knife

i own many high end knives, this one comes extremely sharp! perfect size for general use like hiking ,camping etc! comfortable handle! i love kydex sheaths !this sheath is designed very nice! knife is secure and safe! anyone looking for a midsize fixed blade thats sharp but not too thin ,this will serve you well!
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rakim
NL
Jun 29, 2009
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Overall Quality, None

Good investment

This is a knife you really like to have with you all the time ! Only bad thing was that the tip off the blade was a little bit damaged when it came out off the box. Nothing I cant fix but you know the feeling !!!!
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Doc Hammer
Princeton, WV
Apr 01, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None
i have not used this knife as yet so can make no comment. It is a good looking knife with a solid grip and balance. The blade was in need of sharpening and after a short time on a pair of arkansas stones became like a razor. I have confidence this knive will serve me well as I plan to use it in my garden and in the fishing world as well. You have to give this blade a 9 out of ten rating. Good job guys.
Cold Steel 36JSK Master Hunter 4-1/2" VG-1 San Mai III Blade, Kray-Ex Handle
rated 1 stars out of 5
Mike O
Orrtanna Pa.
Nov 03, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

master hunter plus

bought the knife new from knife center.pulled it out of the sheath.I was impressed.Until I tested it for sharpness.It was not sharp at all.It was actually DULL.Very dissapointed for my one hundred dollar knife.No more cold steel for me.All I am saying is the knife I got is a joke.