Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 90AXG Axe Gang Hatchet 20.25" Overall

Cold Steel 90AXG Axe Gang Hatchet 20.25" Overallrated 3.750 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
3.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Cold Steel 90AXG Axe Gang Hatchet 20.25 inch Overall

 

Price: $24.95

Save $17.04 (41%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 90AXG Axe Gang Hatchet 20.25" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bradford
MICHIGAN
Aug 21, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Cold Steel HATCHET
This is a well balanced hatchet for throwing, as well as utilitarian tasks. i find the thick handle reassuring when i mess up on a throw, or miss my target when chopping. While this is not as maneuverable as my Norse Hawk, this does have alot more chopping and gouging power, and feels alot sturdier in my hand.. Another win from Cold Steel. When purchasing one must remember that it is marketed as a HATCHET, not a TOMAHAWK. Tomahawks are generally lighter and have thinner handles to make them maneuverable.
Cold Steel 90AXG Axe Gang Hatchet 20.25" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scott B.
Loudon, NH
Dec 24, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Balance, Construction, Weight, Handle Material
Cons: None
Great hatchet
Buyers need to understand this is a "hatchet" not a tomahawk. It's great for splitting kindling, cutting down small trees, and not a half bad thrower. Great quality product.
Cold Steel 90AXG Axe Gang Hatchet 20.25" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tyler
Maryland
Nov 23, 2012
Pros: Construction, Head Material, None
Cons: Balance
"Axe Gang"
A nice replica of the weapon favored by Chinese tongs in turn of the century San Francisco, as well as many Kung-Fu movies. Therefore, it doesn't bother me that the handle is a bit thick/longer than a hawk. If you've seen footage of gangs fighting with these, they look a little awkward to wield anyway....still wouldn't want someone swinging it at my head.
Cold Steel 90AXG Axe Gang Hatchet 20.25" Overall
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Illinois
Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Weight, Construction, Head Material
Cons: None
Great for the money
I find even though I have a lot of axes and hatchets. I always seem to grab this hatchet for most light to medium chopping around the yard. Fit and finish on mine was quite good. Keeps a fantastic edge. As with most Cold steel items you get a LOT of bang for your buck. Especially if you shop around for lowest price.
Cold Steel 90AXG Axe Gang Hatchet 20.25" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Lorenzo The Axe Thrower
Philadelphia, Pa
Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Awesome depending on what you are using it for
I am in an axe throwing league and this badboy is probably the most common axe in my axe dojo (not really called that :). Blade is super thin but the head still has good weight. The handle does relegate it to just a decorative piece if you don't mod it (cut the handle shorter, sand some finger grooves, etc). But that being said, its very well made especially for the price. If you are looking to chop some wood for a fire, probably not a good option though. If you are looking to throw an axe and have it stick, this is an excellent option.
Cold Steel 90AXG Axe Gang Hatchet 20.25" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Spike
Clermont FLA
Feb 26, 2018
Pros: Weight, Balance, None
Cons: Handle Material
Awesome thrower
For that price you can’t beat it. An excellent thrower with a perfect hit every time from 10 paces for me. But the handle did break after approximately 100 throws. A little bit of a disappointment but it was a bad hit that got a little sideways and slapped the target but I still think it should have been able to take that. But I had fun with it and I will replace the handle.
Cold Steel 90AXG Axe Gang Hatchet 20.25" Overall
rated 4 stars out of 5
Sam Oliverio
Putnam Valley, NY
Jan 04, 2012
Pros: Balance, Construction, Weight, Head Material
Cons: Handle Material, None
Too thick a handle
Great edge and great steel head. The handle though, is just too thick. The Cold Steel Spike Tomahawk handle would be a great handle for this awesome hatchet head. Even if Cold Steel were to just mill down the existing handle towards the lower grasp, it would be a 5 Star rating. Love the look, and heft...hate the handle!
Cold Steel 90AXG Axe Gang Hatchet 20.25" Overall
rated 1 stars out of 5
Rand
Sacramento, CA
Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Handle Material, None
Cons: Balance, Weight
Dont buy this product.
I am a huge fan of cold steel products and especially thier tomahawks. This item is the exception. It is awkward and poorly balanced. The handle is way too long and thick in proportion to the hawk. The head is small and the edge is thick and blunt. Get a riflemans hawk or a Vietnam hawk. They are top notch.
Cold Steel 90AXG Axe Gang Hatchet 20.25" Overall
rated 1 stars out of 5
Rand
Sacramento, CA
Apr 14, 2011
Pros: Head Material, Handle Material, None
Cons: Balance, Weight
Dont buy this product.
I am a HUGE Coldsteel fan but I hate this hatchet. The handle is too long and thick. The bit of the hatchet is too thick and blunt. Buy a riflemans hawk or a Vietnam hawk from same company. They are top notch.