Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade

Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Bladerated 4.812 stars out of 5 (16.0 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34 inch Blade

 

Price: $23.95

Save $16.04 (40%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
The Waltzing Gorilla
The Great Northwest
Jun 06, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None

An Excellent Training Tool

I purchased this for my 16 yr son as a companion to his Cold Steel Boken for sword practice and general exercise. It's perfect for the job. Balanced and weighted closely to a real hand & a half. Great for building grip and forearm strength as well as balance and speed. Vigorous use will ultimately wear out/break the unit but a similar wooden sword would have been slivers long before. Excellent product.
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe M.
Fredericksburg, VA
May 30, 2012
Pros: Materials, Usable, Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Fantastic training sword

Excellent training weapon. Sturdy enough for two person work and a good weight for beginning sword training. Highly recommended.
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shoota007
Northern, VA
Aug 13, 2009
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None

Well worth every penny

This sword is amazing. The sword's weight is great it is well balanced and you can easily fit two hands on the grip for a great work out and practice with a long blade. My friends and I each have one and do sparingly with them on a regular bases and you can't beat the cold steel Polypropylene line with anything on the marked.
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
James
Calgary Alberta
Feb 02, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None

Very nice

Exactly as advertised
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Edoardo
Italia
Jul 04, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None

Cold Steel

Nuff said
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ludwig P.
Los Angeles, CA
May 17, 2011
Pros: Materials, Usable, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great Product.

It is a perfect training tool.
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shane
Ireland
Jun 20, 2011
Pros: Usable, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish, None
Cons: Blade Material, Handle Material

Great Fun

I bought two of these swords essentially for some heavy play with a friend of mine. The swords are hugely durable, our best swings with them have only scuffed the plastic. The shape and look of the sword is great and for anyone who only had a bokken to practice with before this adds shape and context to play. At this price the value is good. On the downside, I'll have to wrap the handle in something as it gets slippy when sweaty and out of blade thickness necessity the weight is toward the blade. Knowing this going in I wasn't too upset and still give this product an excellent rating.
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gerry Hamrick
WA
Jul 06, 2009
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality, Usable
Cons: None

Tough

I bought this for my son and am impressed with how tough it is. We've beat the heck out of it with no ill effects. The quality of the molding is very good, particularly the handle details. It also has a good heft to it with out being overly heavy.
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Legion
Everywhere and no where.
Apr 13, 2013
Pros: Usable, Overall Quality, Blade Material, Finish, None
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard

Perfect tool

This weapon is very good at making you learn very quickly. However, buyers should be reminded that a hand and a half sword is also called a bastard sword. If you want to one hand this weapon it will require great strength. If you are hoping to play fight other people with this, you may want to seek a lighter sword. I also recommend some grip tape, because the hand will get very slippery when wet.
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
C.Key
Hawaii
Feb 08, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, Usable
Cons: None

Very Practical

This training sword is very realistic and useful. It has some serious heft to it, but can easily be wielded with one hand. The balance is excellent for such a large sword. I would highly recommend this item for anyone looking for an authentic training sword.
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Aun
Other
Mar 29, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: None

Training sword

Not wanting to practice with a live sword everyday, particularly sparring with others; we found this to be the perfect substitute. It's weighty--though whether that's a problem or not depends on your preference--I personally enjoy this, and i practice one and two-handed forms. As a side-note: I tend to wear (leather) gloves; if you don't, i might recommend wrapping the hilt for a more comfortable grip. ^_^
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Badoobie
Jackson, MI
Mar 15, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Usable, Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

So Cool!

My husband is so excited about his new practice sword. He has always been interested in this kind of stuff. When he guessed he was getting it for his birthday, he could not stop smiling. Now that he's got it, all he wants to do is practice with me (I got one, too, so we could play together).
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joseph Permann
Minnesota Fergus falls
May 17, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None

my review

i have a one handed sword and i use this sword for practice i like the length of it and the style the weight can get a little heavy but over all thin is a GREAT sword
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
9Fingers
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 27, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Usable
Cons: Finish, None

Heavy hitter

I bought 2 of each type of European medieval and Japanese style training swords Cold Steel produces. I've assembled several sets of "sports" armor (batting helmets, hockey gloves, shoulder pads, chest, rib & neck protectors, etc) and fence with friends using this gear with strict rules of engagement. It's a real workout due to the weight of these swordes. Sometimes we match European weapons vs Japanese, or 2 shorter weapons against one with better reach. This bruiser has the best extension, but requires a stronger arm to manage the considerably heavier weight. It also strikes harder, and much greater care needs to be exercised in wielding it to prevent injuries. While durable, these polypropylene training swords do scuff/ding immediately when parrying and are prone to abrasions when even gently brushing rough surfaces. They also deform VERY easily when left in hot areas. Despite these points, they are the best thing out there for the price, and hold up better than expensive LARPing weapons, though they are unsuitable for LARPING due to the likelihood of causing severe injury if not used with great care. Knife Center has the best price anywhere.
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Utahraptor
St Etienne, France
Aug 25, 2010
Pros: Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: Usable, None
A bit heavy in the blade, most notably if you intend to work on German longsword techniques, but still usable. (actually this is more of a problem for the Cold Steel one hand medieval trainer, which is way too heavy). However, good overall quality, at low prices too ^^.
Cold Steel 92BKHNH Hand-and-a-Half Polypropylene Training Sword 34" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Paul T
Idaho
Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Materials, Usable, Handle Material, Blade Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Definitely get 2.

I bought 2 for sparring and technique, I am more than pleased. Substantial weight and reach, good balance. The handle gets slippery, so grip hard when practicing. Also good for self defense. The rubber band needs to be watched closely, mine is beginning to crack from temperature change and weathering. Other than that great product.