Reviews and Ratings for Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade

Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Bladerated 4.5 stars out of 5 (14 reviews)
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7 inch Blade

 

Price: $10.95

Save $1.04 (9%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jim
SC
Jan 10, 2013
Pros: Weight, Overall Quality, Materials
Cons: None
I must say, this is a nice stout and durable trainer! the only drawback is when your trainees say that you never cut them! Quick fix? at halloween, but the quart bottles of the non toxic fake blood, and brush the edges before every fight! the look on their faces is awesome when they say how did you even get me there?
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
P
C
Jul 15, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: None

Great!

Excellent tool for training!
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul
Anderson Hospital
May 03, 2013
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great knife

I teach a self defense class at my hospital and having knifes like this really help the students get the feel of having a knife against their throat and seeing that they can disarm or disable the person without getting cut.
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Freedom556
Vermont
Sep 08, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, Handle Material, Materials
Cons: None

Cold Steel Trainer Tanto

Well balanced, well built, very well finished.
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
G. Van Dyk
Toronto, Canada
Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Paintball knife

I personally use the trainer for a fun twist to put on a paintball match, the rubber blade is flexible so it wont hurt any kid or grown adult when stabbing or slashing, unlike plastic trainers which i have used in the past. Use this during paintball and you'll receive a lot of attention, good and bad. wish it came with a sheath of sorts.
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
American Chopper
Kansas City, MO
Apr 19, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great training tool

These knives are very important for knife fighters. It's one thing to swing a knife in the air and look cool, but it's another thing entirely to fight someone. These knives are very durable even when they are struck hard on concrete. The rubber has a decent amount of rigidity, but flexes when it needs to. I've got to tell you, when you get stabbed in the gut with one of these, you feel it! Great reminder of the pain of a real knife without the death thing. You can use these by yourself or challenge your friends to a dual. Awesome piece of equipment.
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
M. Helm
West Texas
Nov 25, 2011
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

My kid loves it.

I confess, I got this for my little boy because I knew I would have wanted it badly when I was a kid. It's stout, light, blunt, and perfect for him. The same things that would make it great for a trainer, too, I guess.
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade
rated 5 stars out of 5
Timothy G
Lake Worth, Fl
Nov 25, 2015
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Trainer

Perfect for what it's made for. I am very pleased.
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Joe Graves
Kentucky
Jun 22, 2009
Pros: Weight, Materials, Finish
Cons: None

Mr.

I bought two of these practice knives for a karate class I take with one of my sons. I didn't really know what to expect when ordering so I went on the shape alone. Some reviews I read said the knife was too light or too flimsy. I have found neither to be true. This product is VERY well made. It is not flimsy in the least. It does give enough to not be dangerous, but it's not like you could bend it in half real easy. Cold Steel did a nice job on the handle especially. The knurled grip fits well in your hand and will not slip easily. The only thing I would like to have in this product is better balance. It is slightly forward balanced. But all in all I would recommend it for martial arts training.
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Frank O.
Philippines
Sep 16, 2012
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Size and shape similar to the real thing

Lightweight and very similar to the real thing. Can use this to first practice the use of the real thing. They are identical except for the weight. Must buy this when buying the real recon tanto. altho you can also shadow fight with the real thing.
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jorge B
Montevideo, Other
Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Weight, None

Save fun... or trainning

The dimensions are consistent with the "CS Recon Tanto" not its weight. In general it is suitable for training. Las dimensiones son coincidentes con el "CS Recon Tanto" no así su peso. En general es adecuado para entrenarse.
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Bladeviewer
Mountain View CA
Sep 10, 2010
Pros: Materials, Finish
Cons: None

Good Training Knife

I have used the smooth wooding training knives and one day I went to a knife seminar and 3 people had these so I was able to experience both ends of this knife. The Cold Steel knife will stay in a karate gi belt without slipping out as my smooth wooden knife would do all the time. One person tied a red lanyard to thiers as in our style we have some nightime classes in local parks. The blade gives some, but is firm. The handle is realistic in size and design and the checkering allows good grip in wet training conditions.
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade
rated 4 stars out of 5
Frank O.
Philippines
Sep 16, 2012
Pros: Weight, Handle Material, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Size and shape similar to the real thing

Lightweight and very similar to the real thing. Can use this to first practice the use of the real thing. They are identical except for the weight. Must buy this when buying the real recon tanto. altho you can also shadow fight with the real thing.
Cold Steel 92R13RT Recon Tanto Rubber Training Knife 7" Blade
rated 3 stars out of 5
Redhawk
Youngwood,Pa
Dec 27, 2010
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Weight

trainer

Training will not harm any one gives size like feel not heavy as real knife but has length.