Reviews and Ratings for Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3" x 1" (MAP-13)

Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3" x 1" (MAP-13)rated 4.333 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0
Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3 inch x 1 inch (MAP-13)

 

Price: $2.98

View Product Details
Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3" x 1" (MAP-13)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brian B.
Santa Cruz, CA
Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Thumbs Up

Thumbs up for this product. Affordable, functional, high quality and so easy to pack on trips.
Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3" x 1" (MAP-13)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Eric C
Fort Smith, AR
Feb 09, 2015
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

great Stone

My father taught me to sharpen a knife on a stone by the time I was 12. There is no substitute. This stone is as good a stone as I have ever owned. I live just a few hours away from where this stone was quarried. Here in Arkansas, these stones are a tradition.
Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3" x 1" (MAP-13)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fredthewhale
New Jersey
Apr 19, 2020
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Very nice wet stone

This is a good medium grit wet stone. I use it to sharpen my axe and cary with me for touchups - does a great job. Just make sure to read the dimensions in the description - much smaller in person than online :-)
Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3" x 1" (MAP-13)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Anthony
Spring, Tx
Oct 09, 2017
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Love it!

I got a super sharp edge even on my most stubborn knives very quickly.
Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3" x 1" (MAP-13)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michelle
Washington
Oct 21, 2020
Pros: Effectiveness, Overall Quality, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Worth giving up a coffee for

I’ve been trying to sharpen my Kershaw Leek on various sharpening systems and I couldn’t get it right even with the built in angle guide. This little stone made it sharp in a couple of minutes. Now I’m not saying other systems don’t work, I’m no professional nor handy to begin with, and maybe that’s why I couldn’t get it right with them. But what matters is finding what works for you and THIS is what works for me. For the price of a coffee it’s well worth it.
Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3" x 1" (MAP-13)
rated 5 stars out of 5
Richard G.
Corona, CA
May 29, 2014
Pros: Durability, Ease of Use, Effectiveness, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Make Dandy Gifts

Excellent product at a VERY low price. I buy these, in quantity, to give to dental hygienist students, who clean my teeth, to sharpen their instruments. They all use a synthetic sharpening stone that takes huge chunks out of their very expensive tools. The soft Arkansas stone does a better job and doesn't prematurely require the tool to be replaced, thus saving them many thousands of dollars over the course of their careers.
Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3" x 1" (MAP-13)
rated 5 stars out of 5
David B
Beaver Falls , Pa
Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Pocket Stone

Nice stone
Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3" x 1" (MAP-13)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Thomas
Australia
Apr 26, 2018
Pros: Ease of Use
Cons: None

Great for the price

it is soft so keep that in mind but works well for what it is and the price, just for touching up a blade without a bench. small size makes for easy carry in a pack.
Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3" x 1" (MAP-13)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jonathan
PA
Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None

Amazing bargain

I "threw this in" to a recent order and am very happy with it. For the price, I cannot imagine a better alternative. In fact, I am considering buying a stack of them for my Scouts.
Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3" x 1" (MAP-13)
rated 4 stars out of 5
Andrew
Singapore, Other
Mar 04, 2019
Pros: None
Cons: None

It sharpen.

Ok. It's just a cheap stone. It's not fancy diamond or ceramic. It works on AUS 8 or 420. May work on O1. Have not tried on super steel like 3V, M360 or S90. Easy pack for a field trip. Diamond stones are better, but they are $$. My gut feeling is this is a water stone. If you are using it as an outdoor stone, done use oil. You cannot use oil and water.
Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3" x 1" (MAP-13)
rated 3 stars out of 5
Joseph
South Carolina
Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Effectiveness, Ease of Use
Cons: None
Fits my knife sheath
Genuine Arkansas Whetstone Pocket Stone, Medium Grit 3" x 1" (MAP-13)
rated 2 stars out of 5
Homam Z
Tampa, FL
Mar 04, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Effectiveness, Ease of Use

Don't bother with this stone

I used it to try and sharpen dull knifes, but it is honestly useless and you are better off buying a different sharpening tool than this one. It's difficult to use and requires oil as well.