Reviews and Ratings for Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle - DUKCD

Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handlerated 4.367 stars out of 5 (30 reviews)
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
11
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
0
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11 inch Polished Blade, Leather Handle

 

Price: $199.95

Save $89.05 (31%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Church
Spain, U. S. Navy
Feb 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

great

outstanding product, exactly what i wanted and what i saw online, no surprises.
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Fan
Quebec
Apr 10, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Finish, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

very nice Bowie

very solid and useful big knife,you can trust it in wild.
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andrew W.
Frankton,IN
Aug 16, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Awesome

I just received my knife today and its better than I could have imagine. Awesome!! Awesome! !!
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
David K
Plover WI
Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard
The knife has a good feel to it, and the blade is very sharp. The sheath fits a little too snugly, but that will hopefully wear in with some use.
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Seth O
Long Island NY
Nov 24, 2015
Pros:
Cons:

Great company

Had outback knife on display and misplaced the sheath. Contacted DUK to purchase a new sheath and they mailed me one free of charge!
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jimmy M
St-FranÇois De La RiviÈre Du Sud, Qc
Feb 02, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

That's not a knife.This is a Knife!

I just received my knife today and its better than I could have imagine. Exactly what I wanted and what I saw online, no surprises. A wonderful knife, the big one. Crocodile Dundee fan ? Buy this knife, you won't be disappointed. That's not a knife.This is a Knife!Thank you!
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Josh John
Greensboro, NC
Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Down Under Dundee

After having seen the movie and with years of occasional desire for this knife, I was pleased to discover that it was indeed being replicated in true useable form by Down Under. I always thought it would be neat to have one just to have it, and I always loved Paul Hogan--all the way back to his Benny Hill-type show. If I was going to have one, I wanted one that met the standards of appearance, style, shape, weight, and quality manufacture that the real movie ones had. I knew something about the real ones in the movie and their scarceness and value, but I didn't want a cheap imitation--I wanted the real thing, or as close as you can get. I am definitely satisfied and thrilled with this knife. I'll never test it in the field, but I can say that it is real, meets all my expectations, and is a prized possession of mine. Some reviewers have criticized the sheath, but I found it to be made of impressive thickness of leather, well-sewn, and well-fitted. Although the finish is not like a hand-rubbed saddle, I can take care of that myself. I'm delighted with this knife--the weight, the materials, the finish, the balance, the style, the quality--I couldn't have asked for more. Thank you.
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Deer Slayer
Fredericktown, MO
Dec 06, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

great Knife

this is a great knife! i used it this deer season to chop up a buck i killed, the knife cut the legs off the deer with one wack and ripped through the the rib cage like it was butter along with the head, also work well as a skinning knife, well made, very sharp held a edge, the scabbard was a little cheap looking.
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bill
Otto ny
Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material

A proper recreation

I bought this knife hoping it would be a usable crocodile Dundee knife I so fondly remember from my youth, and it does not disappoint. Very well made knife. Not a Busse or Stryder but heck who cares, it works. Great steel, reasonably sharp, sturdy construction, full tang etc. Lot of great features. I do recommend running it through a worksharp system or a crock stick set, the factory blade edge needs some attention
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Crosivka
Germany
May 14, 2015
Pros: Overall Quality, Materials, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness

The best for your money!

OK, it's made in Pakistan ,but there are very good knife producer over centuries!! The same knife (quality) produce in USA or Australia or Germany (Solingen) and you pay for shure about 450 until 600 $ ! This Bowie its a real bargain! More useful quality you can't acpect for the price. Take it and have fun!!! Only the sharpness is littel poor,but how cares....if you invest littel money to do it by a profesionell knife sharpener. 440C steel is a exellent blade steel!!
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Frank C
FL
Aug 20, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

Sturdy knife

Superior quality for the price. Real tool.
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
J. Townsend
Yucaipa, CA
Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness

Excellent Knife

Overall, very pleased with this knife. First of all, it's very sturdy. The blade is thick, which it ought to be in a knife of this quality, and the grinding is symmetrical. Many knives claiming to be high quality don't have this. While the blade was not razor sharp as claimed, who really honestly wants a razor sharp blade? The blade sharpness is adequate, but one part of the blade is not as sharp as the rest, which could be improved. The handle is beautiful--leather and dark hardwood, and the pommel and guard are beautiful as well. For such a long knife, it is surprisingly well-balanced. The sheath is fine and fits the knife well, but the leather stiching around the edge of the sheath makes it appear (to me, at least) to be lower quality than it is. Overall, a very excellent knife. I'm very happy with my purchase and would buy from this manufacturer again.
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Donald R. K.
Scarbro, WV.
Aug 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Crocodile Dundee fan ? Buy this knife, you won't be dissapointed.

I like this knife so well, I've now have two, one to use, the other to admire and display. The one I use has split kindling for campfires, hacked brush and tree branches from my path while riding unkept ATV trails. I've even been using it to thin out a Bamboo thicket on property thats becoming troublesome. And frankly can't find anything to gripe about.
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Hugo C.
Quebec City, QC, Canada
Jun 01, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

A wonderful knife, the big one.

A wonderful knife, the big one.
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Les W
95446
Jun 18, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

Knife review

Great knife, I bought it as an investment to pass down to the family
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bigbee
USA
Dec 21, 2017
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

The Outback Hunting Bowie

I read the other reviews of what I can only describe as Green horns/tender feet, everyone one said this blade was not razor sharp & the very front of blade where it curves up toward point is not as sharp as the lower edge toward hilt. Well, any one who claims to have a razor sharp blade and they are not talking about a razor is just!!! not very smart, a razor sharp edge on a Bowie of this size or any other knife wont last; a razors edge is for shaving not a working or fighting knife. Bowie knives traditionally have a working edge, which this Bowie has and as most of the cutting done with this Bowie will be along the edge right below the curve and heading toward the hilt; this Bowie will cut you to the quick and most importantly the edge will hold and provide you with a sharp cutting Bowie in what ever your doing, but shaving; and yes, all of the complaints mentioned by the green horns are on/in my blade but this is how a Bowie knife should be sharpened. If you have ever had to survive in the wilderness or a hostile environment and you depended on a Bowie as I have this is the Bowie you want, yes, it's not a Randall or a Bagwell but for the price it will do just as well as either of those and the price can't be beat. The balance is sweet for such a big long blade, and as I live rt now in a desert environment I soaked the handle in vegetable oil for 24 hours as directed. The sheath is well made and the sharping rod will keep a nice sharp working edge on the Bowie. I could find no where on the box or blade that said it was made anywhere but down under, I don't believe this is a China or Pakistani knock off but I could be wrong. I do know I like this Bowie and believe it will do everything i want from a working Bowie knife. My only complaint is the clip point is not sharpened, I was really disappointed to discover this but it is easily fixed with a nice metal file. I have another minor complaint but it is irrelevant as this is a working Bowie and not a true fighting Bowie knife. I would have preferred two forward facing guards on the hilt and not the hawk bill hilt it comes with, if you ever have to use this Bowie to defend yourself you want to fight with your edge upwards and use the top flat surface on top of the Bowie to deflect and attack an attacker with your Bowie protecting your edge and use the sharpened clip point for your reverse cut, this hawk bill hilt is not meant for fighting, you can use it in a clinch but your blade edge will be facing down. I don't mean to offend the green horns but anyone who carries a big Bowie knife with a razor sharp edge, well if they ever find themselves in a survival situation that edge will quickly dull in just a few chops, wacks, or cuts in just making a swizzle stick for a fire, there is no way that edge could be used to build a shelter unless they have a sharping stone with them, but a razor edge on a Bowie can really be used in shaving the hair on your arm to impress your mates in how sharp you blade is :-). Guns fail, People quit, Knives always work!!! BigBee
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Swede
Sweden
Jan 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Nice knife

Collectible item with defensive capabilites. Its all wicked except the ruststains or what ever it is. It came with discolorations on the blade. 4-5 1-2 mm spots on each side. Little disapointing. Other than that. I love it!
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Hunter
south america
Nov 03, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Ferocious knife

Extremely strong knife and good looking
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Steven
Texas
Oct 08, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

That's not a knife.THIS IS A KNIFE!!!

Great looking knife, only complaint it is not razor sharp as advertised.
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Reg H.
Mesa, Arizona
Feb 26, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

A fantastic Knife!

This is a great knife! Its over all quality seems to be top notch. Great weight and seems to be the only knife a person would need! I very glad I bought it! One problem though, after opening the package I noticed that the sewing on the sheath is comming undone! Not a major problem but one I do hope they will take care of!
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brian Walters
LaSalle MI.
Jan 15, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

a good blade

So before I got my outback I looked at a lot of reviews. Some bad some great. All I can say is its a knife not an ax or hatchet. I've used the blade to take down saplings and to make small fire wood.. I plan on making a trip to my property up by Mio here in MI. To really test it out. The only weak spot is right at the end of the handle at the point it all screws together. Thats the only weak point that I can fine. So far it's a great knife a beauty that's not a wall hanger. I like the sheath but it could have been better made but still will do the job.
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jimmy Jimmy
Michigan
Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Nice Knife

You could get a better knife in this style, but you would have to pay a good bit more. I am glad to have it, and I have used it for light chopping and cutting. I would rather it have a full tang and be a little sharper out of the box, but it is still a nice, huge knife. The sheath could be a little better as well, but I definitely am glad to own this one.
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Reg H.
Mesa, Arizona
Feb 26, 2012
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Materials, Blade Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

A fantastic Knife!

I love this knife! What I was wanting! After I recieved the knife in the mail I was looking it over and after pulling the knife out of the sheath, I noticed the sewing comming apart on the sheath. If this had been a much cheaper knife I would of just let it go but for a two hundred dollar knife I hope you can and will take care of the problem! Other than that I think anyone would really like this knife!
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark
Texas
Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Knife

I would give it 4.5 stars... the blade is sharp but not razor sharp... the sheath needs to have one corner stiched again... But overall a great knife. Big strong knife. Beautiful Sheath
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Siofer
Brazil
Feb 15, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, None
Cons: Weight, Finish, Blade Sharpness

A massive knife

A very strong knife.
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Mark
Texas
Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Materials, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great Knife

I would give it 4.5 stars... the blade is sharp but not razor sharp... the sheath needs to have one corner stiched again... But overall a great knife. Big strong knife. Beautiful Sheath
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Nathan C
texas
Apr 19, 2013
Pros: None
Cons: None

nathan c. texas cont...

After contact down under about the problem they were nice enough to send me a whole new knife at their expense. They do have very good customer service
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Michele
napoli( italy)
Sep 13, 2013
Pros: Finish, Blade Material, Handle Material, Materials, None
Cons: Weight, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness

disappointed

very disappointed! Pros: good materials, full tang construction and good fit and finish .Cons: quite sharp but far from " razor sharp", sheath is only quite good, very heavy. All in all more a collector knife than an outdoor " survival" knife for real use !!!
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Melky
England
Jun 07, 2012
Pros: Materials, Blade Material, Finish, None
Cons: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness

Disappointment

Real disappointment about this knife I already sent it back. Not really sharp out of the box(meant to be razor sharp), sheath poorly stitched. Handle to thin. Knife not balanced. Tip not finished looks more like bullet point. I wanted to swap mine, but customer service said, that all knives in the shop have same defects so I sent it back. Knife was good looking and had a nice mirror polish.
Down Under Knives The Outback Hunting Bowie Knife 11" Polished Blade, Leather Handle
rated 2 stars out of 5
Nathan C
Texas
Dec 13, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Weight, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material
This Knife is advertised to be dependable and rugged, to a very limited extent it is true. I don't like writing bad reviews but felt the need to about this product. The knife is OK but not for 200 dollars as some of the other reviews say the sheath is poorly made of cheap material, but the big flaw in this knife is the ebony on the handle. Even after oiling the handle as directed by the manufacture the ebony still cracks with no or minimal use and i have had more than one of these knifes that all had the same problem. The shape of the blade and the duel heat treatment are the only good things about this knife. In essence this knife as it comes is a 200 dollar DISPLAY piece! A good buy if all you want to do is look at it, but if you want to carry and use this knife as an all purpose outdoor tool like a bowie knife is intended to be used as you will need to take it to a good knife maker and have them replace the handle. I have chosen a stag handle for mine but to have the handle shaped,and put on cost more than the knife did.I just like the shape of the blade as I stated before and this is one of the only companies that makes a tip heavy bowie like this for that reason alone I chose to modify the knife but in retrospect I wish I would have had the whole thing made by a reputable custom Knife maker and saved myself a lot of headaches and time.