Reviews and Ratings for Morakniv Garberg Utility Knife Fixed 4.3" 14C28N Blade, Black Polyamide Handle, Multi-Mount Sheath - 12642

Morakniv Garberg Utility Knife Fixed 4.3" 14C28N Blade, Black Polyamide Handle, Multi-Mount Sheathrated 4.75 stars out of 5 (8 reviews)
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Morakniv Garberg Utility Knife Fixed 4.3 inch 14C28N Blade, Black Polyamide Handle, Multi-Mount Sheath

 

Price: $89.99

Save $10.00 (10%) Off Retail

View Product Details
Morakniv Garberg Utility Knife Fixed 4.3" 14C28N Blade, Black Polyamide Handle, Multi-Mount Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Michael
Edgewood, Nm
Mar 21, 2018
Pros: Finish, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Worth It

I'm very happy with this purchase. Blade quality is excellent and was very sharp out of the box. Fits well in my hand. Has cut the few things I've tried with ease. Even did a little feather sticking on some dry Russian olive branches and it was easy as you like. My only complaint is the sheath. Works great using the leather belt loop and closure snap, but the molle setup isn't good. If you like carrying on your belt loop, this will work but I'd buy the spec with the leather sheath only if I had to do it again. Otherwise, great knife for the price.
Morakniv Garberg Utility Knife Fixed 4.3" 14C28N Blade, Black Polyamide Handle, Multi-Mount Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Brandon
Cedar Park, TX
Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Material

Amazing!

Best stainless steel bushcraft knife I own. Period. The handle could be a BIT better, but the steel is amazing.
Morakniv Garberg Utility Knife Fixed 4.3" 14C28N Blade, Black Polyamide Handle, Multi-Mount Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
Scottsdale, AZ
Sep 08, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Really nice knife

I love this knife. The scandi grind is just what my knife collection needed, which is razor sharp and easy to keep that way. I really like the sheath (I opted for the non-leather one for use in adverse conditions) which holds the knife securely.
Morakniv Garberg Utility Knife Fixed 4.3" 14C28N Blade, Black Polyamide Handle, Multi-Mount Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark
Lancaster, CA
Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great knife,,,,,, worth the wait!

Great knife and great customer service means one thing-LIFE LONG CUSTOMER!
Morakniv Garberg Utility Knife Fixed 4.3" 14C28N Blade, Black Polyamide Handle, Multi-Mount Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Cfl
SW MO
Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

One of the finest knives I've ever owned...

KnifeCenter makes it easy to get the best knives possible. The Morakniv Garberg is superb in design, manufacture, and quality. Though I did not use the multi-mount scabbard as Morakniv intended, I do have it mounted to my LBE. As a fighting knife, it's the right length for me, with the heft, balance, and strength that may be needed. I've had many knives in nearly 67 years, but this is definitely one of my favorites. Five out of Five Stars, though my next Garberg will be with the leather sheath, rather than the confusing multi-mount. They definitely need to include detailed instructions, and a good diagram... For the money, the best survival/combat knife out there...
Morakniv Garberg Utility Knife Fixed 4.3" 14C28N Blade, Black Polyamide Handle, Multi-Mount Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gil
California
Oct 12, 2016
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Another excellent Mora knife

First I'd like to thank the KnifeCenter for it's excellent service. I ordered my Multimount Garberg on a Monday, and it came across country, and was delivered on the following Wednesday! I've never written a knife review before, but I'm so impressed with the Garberg, that I'll review it. I must sadly admit that I'll probably fall short with my reviewing methods. I haven't used it to chop through cement blocks. I haven't pounded the blade into a tree, and then jumped up and down on the handle to see if it will break. Nor have I rammed the tip through the armor plate on an M1 Abrams tank, or dropped a nuclear bomb on it, to see if it can withstand the blast. I apologize for my deficiency. No, I've just used it to cut wood. Imagine that! I've used it for some carving, feathersticking, notching…general bushcraft/camp type stuff. I prefer stainless steel, because it's easy to maintain, and this newer Sandvik stainless is a very good working steel. It takes a very good edge, and holds if for a very reasonable amount of time. I can bring it back to a razor edge with a few strokes on a leather strop. Perfect. What I'm REALLY impressed with though, is the handle. This is the most comfortable handle of any knife I've ever owned, so amazingly, I actually use it. It doesn't sit in a drawer, or get given away. This delrin thermoplastic handle is a very impressive material. Very tough, but it doesn't feel like a hard plastic. To me, it feels like there is a very slight resilience to the material, and the surface texture is not smooth…it grips my hand. With the oval cross-section, and the grooves, and texturing molded into the handle, it feels very secure in my hand, even when my hand and the knife are wet. The slightly raised lip around the circumference at the front of the handle doesn't get in the way at all. I can choke up on the blade; the grip is comfortable, however I hold the knife. That slight lip actually acts as a kind of unique guard, that goes around the handle, but doesn't get in the way. Again, the knife feels very secure in hand. The weight of the knife is for me, perfect. My Bushcraft Black has always felt a bit light. The Garberg has a nice balance in the hand. There are many fine knife manufacturers out there, not to mention custom makers, but Mora has become my favorite. Their simple, clean designs offer great value for the money spent. Clearly, Mora spent a lot of time on the design of the Garberg, and it's accompanying sheath systems. It's well worth the money.
Morakniv Garberg Utility Knife Fixed 4.3" 14C28N Blade, Black Polyamide Handle, Multi-Mount Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
R Ridddll
Franklin OH
Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Blade Material, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Mora Garberg

First, buying from Knifecenter was easy and fast. The Garberg is a great knife. It is strong and it cuts great. Very sharp right out of the box. The tang coming sticking out of the handle is very sharp, as is the top of the blade. I only gave the knife 4 stars because of the sheath. I bought the multi mount sheath, and I think it has limited use. It is mounted on a pack to stay. I like the strap over the top, but their is no way to use it with a belt carry. I wish I had bought the leather sheath.
Morakniv Garberg Utility Knife Fixed 4.3" 14C28N Blade, Black Polyamide Handle, Multi-Mount Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Tony
Victoria, BC, Canada
Sep 09, 2016
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Great Blade, Decent Handle, Good Sheath

I received my Mora Garberg last night. Beautiful knife. The blade was decently sharp coming out of the box, and the spine and exposed tang at the butt were sharp. The blade has a true scandi grind with a micro bevel. Laser-engraved logo and decent finish. Very nice look upon first impression. Felt great to hold. The handle is an extremely solid, hard polymer plastic. It would be nice to have a little more grip, but it's by no means slippery to the touch. It seems that grip was sacrificed for durability, as this is an outdoors knife that is meant to take a beating. The handle is also symmetrical, allowing for the knife to be held in any way. The finish is nice, with just a little extra material remaining from what I think was the site where the needle was from the injection molding. I ordered the leather sheath with my blade. My knowledge of leather is limited, but the sheath feels solid to the touch. I gave the belt loop a few very hard tugs and there were no signs of looseness. Seems built to withstand some beating. Knife fits great in the sheath and comes out with a tug. The look of the sheath is sleek and unpolished. The weight of the blade is what really surprised me. Much heavier than you'd expect, but not too heavy. It feels like a very solid object in your hands. I was very pleasantly surprised to note that the blade was very well balanced, with a centerpoint where the index finger lies on the handle when grabbing the blade. When I purchased this knife, I was looking for an affordable, durable blade capable of rough backcountry use such as batoning wood. Additionally, I was looking for a stainless steel blade as I do a lot of hiking along the coast of Vancouver Island. While I haven't put it to the test yet, I am very pleasantly surprised with the blade as-is out of the box. Since I'm from Canada and our currency is worth the tune of a beaver's, I did end up having to pay the conversion rate, shipping, and duties. The total came out to roughly $130. For everyone down south, the Garberg is definitely a steal at $80.