Reviews and Ratings for DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground - 100 581

DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Groundrated 4.000 stars out of 5 (15 reviews)
4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
3
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8 inch Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground

 

Price: $79.95

Save $28.09 (26%) Off Retail

View Product Details
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bermuda Ben
pa
Mar 28, 2011
Pros: Durability
Cons: None

love it

this is my first straight razor and i have to say is great for first timers. the plastic handle seems cheap but it doesn't affect how well the razor performs in its intended job.
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Canada, B.C. near Vancouver
Apr 12, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Just learning

Iam new to shaving with a straight razor so iam still learning to sharpen and strop a straight razor. So iam getting better as it goes. Happy with the look of the razor. I thought the price was good too and Knifecenter also gave me a discount on the shipping which was nice.
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 5 stars out of 5
Kaplan
Arlington, VA
Apr 05, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

solingen

I used to have a changable straight razor which did not allow for any mistakes so this is a whole better instrument because you can literally feel your way as you shave. I like the handle, it is unassuming and looks better in real. Reading few previous comments about dovo, i got a leather strop as well, youtube videos will help you on how to do it properly. I know it is kind of biased to rate it 5 as this is my first, but overall very pleased.
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 5 stars out of 5
Josh
Bloomington, Il
Feb 26, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground

the blade came pretty much shave ready. all i had to do was strop it a bit and it gave a really close and clean shave. i would recommend it to those who are looking for a first straight razor and for veterans alike.
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 5 stars out of 5
Woz
Dallas,Tejas
Jun 03, 2011
Pros: None
Cons: None

best price for first straight razor

This is the first Strait razor I have purchased it seems good to me, its good because don't have much money tied up in it. The first one I purchased broke but I had it replaced it because I had not been used it. I bought a Thiers-Issard replacement handle incase the handle brakes some how on my replacement. The replacement handle I bought does not have the center stop pin as the original on the one I purchased. I’ve used it about three times now and haven’t had any problems shaving, just getting over the fact it’s a sharp object close my face. I will have to start look into buying a strop and water stone so when it starts to dull.
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 5 stars out of 5
Vernon Jenewein
Fennville, MI
May 08, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

Excellent straight razor - Hone B4 using

I honed it and stropped it and shaves excellent. It will not come fully shave ready from the factory, but a little time on a hone(s), which you can buy here, will get it shave ready in no time. I suggest honing at the 4,000 grit level with tape on the spine to protect it and then moving up to 8000 grit and 12,000 grit. Swaty Barber Hones and some Japanese hones are excellent to finish the razor with.
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 5 stars out of 5
Luis A
east haven ,CT
Nov 18, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

great shave!

this razor did come ready to shave however it did not pass the hanging hair test, i honed it with about 15-20 strokes each side on a very very fine paddle hone and it was all set.. it passed the hair test with out a sound..very close shave and awesome sharpness!
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 5 stars out of 5
Nm
CA
Jul 15, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: None

Satisfied

This is my very first straight razor, so take my review with a grain of salt as I do not have a lot of experience to gauge this item. After one week and a half of using it my shave is comfortable and precise. I did re-polish the blade on a 8000 grit whetstone after 4 days of use, and it seemed to improve the sharpness of the blade and the comfort level, altho my shaving skill has also increased a lot in that timeframe. The razor itself is nice without being fancy... Unpretentious and to the point. I can see myself sticking to this razor forever, which I guess is a nice compliment.
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 5 stars out of 5
Amber
Aliso Viejo, Ca
Aug 05, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None

great

This is a great razor for a beginner. I bought this for my boyfriend and he loves it. It came highly recommended by the art of manliness website. I don't think it came sharpened... or my boyfriend made it dull the first time he used it. But now it is sharpened and he gets a closer shave then he ever has. Very happy with my purchase.
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 4 stars out of 5
Robin
Gainesville, VA
Oct 24, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Very good value

Did not come ready to shave, but didn't expect it to. The excellent steel in this razor takes an edge easily and provides a fine shave. Overall it is very well made with jimps on top and bottom and a built-in 3rd pin stop. You definitely won't go wrong with this razor if you are looking for solid value and features. Blade had a cosmetic rough spot on the point that was no big deal.
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dave
western springs, illinois
Jun 13, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

good.

it is good, but the edge is very sensitive so be careful.
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 4 stars out of 5
Zach
KS
Jun 19, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality, Durability
Cons: None
really nice finish on this blade, comes almost ready to shave with just needs a little sharpening and the handle pin is nice and tight for a good feel when using it.
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 1 stars out of 5
Firefox2010
Texas
Dec 24, 2010
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Durability

get a grip!

Wasn't really shave ready it needed to be honed and the third time I shaved with it the scales broke. Now I need a new handle. Come on!
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 1 stars out of 5
Bill Kirkland
Canal Fulton, OH
Nov 24, 2009
Pros: Durability, None
Cons: Overall Quality

Poor quality

Razor was not honed properly.
DOVO Black Handle Best Value 5/8" Straight Razor Full Hollow Ground
rated 1 stars out of 5
Jklavs
Missouri
Oct 14, 2017
Pros: None
Cons: Overall Quality, Durability

Inferior handle

The steel and edge might be great, but it's waisted effort with the less than 3rd rate plastic handle. It broke from normal use within months. I regret buying this.