Reviews and Ratings for Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle - 22-41830

Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handlerated 4.619 stars out of 5 (21 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
6
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7 inch Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle

 

Price: $15.00

View Product Details
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ric D
Essex, Md
Mar 04, 2018
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
Nifty little tool
Much of my work requires slicing through wires and cables of various grades/thicknesses, as well as cutting open boxes and packages. I love this neat little cutter that I can reserve for box-cutting, while reserving my EDC for heavier things. And on days where I may be wearing pants/slacks I can leave the EDC at home and just carry this mini. On "jeans" days I can fit this in the watch pocket and my EDC in the hip pocket - ideal carry scenario. I hope I can find blade replacements to fit this knife, as some reviews seem to hint that it is a bit challenging.
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chris
Europe
Sep 19, 2011
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
Cons: None
The one and only
use to have trouble finding a suitable knife for breaking tape and opening packages. I don't have that problem now...
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Charliedog
Clearwater,FL
Dec 19, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
the best knife is the one in your hand
this is the best all around tool/knife. it's size means that it is always there when needed.
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Red Wolf
Sydney, Australia
Jan 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Lock Type, Handle Material, Overall Quality, Pocket Clip, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material
Cons: None
Best Tool Ever
Light, easy to carry, easy to open. Used every day at work for opening boxes.
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Scrib
Syracuse, NY
Dec 26, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Type, Ease of Opening, Blade Material, Handle Material, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Sheath, Handle Feel, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
"my baby"
I dont go anywhere without it! its perfect for me, it fits right on my belt and it doesnt attract much attention. I'm a girl whose been buying knives since i was 14, and other folding knives are heavy and are super noticeable (not a good thing when your in highschool). this little gerber is great i've had it for years. the only problem i have with it is that the blade it comes with is SUPER thick (which is great, but), and i cant find replacement blades as thick, i've tried all the heavy duty blades and they are still too thin, and feel loose when you screw them in. i love this knife and really need a replacement blade as thick.
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Chip
buffalo N,Y,
Apr 02, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
nice and compact
easy to use, great construction and indestructible,owned one for years of construction use,best knife ive owned. just be careful not to lose the blade screw its small.
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Spudnuckle
sydney au
Apr 26, 2011
Pros: Pocket Clip, Overall Quality, Ease of Opening, Lock Ease of Use, Handle Material
Cons: None
great little blade
This is a great compact versatile piece of gear. Don't worry about some reviews stating u need to carry a screw driver to change blades, as one thinker said "use a penny" or i just use the back of the blade I'm switching to... you've got it there anyway...
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Satish
mumbai - india
Sep 30, 2009
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
utility knife
good pocket knife for opening cartons and other various cutting jobs. folding design and changing blades are added advantage
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jestr
Antwerp, Belgium
May 18, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Sharp, lightweight, Compact utility knife
We all know the good old Stanley utility knife, but if you're searching for a lightweight, pocket alternative the Gerber EAB is the one for you. A well thought out design that not only looks good but also works like it should.
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stephen
Alamo, TX
Apr 19, 2018
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Ease of Opening, Lock Type, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Blade Material, None
Cons: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Weight
review
I use it as a pocket knife
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
Benicia, CA
Mar 22, 2010
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Lock Ease of Use, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Handle Feel
Compact and functional
I enjoy that this cutting tool is compact, has a modern, sleek look and is totally functional.
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ralf Hernandez
indianapolis
Apr 10, 2012
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Feel, Weight, Pocket Clip
Cons: Ease of Opening, None
I work in a store where I need to cut box tops all day. Its sleek and durable. I love it.
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
John
Oregon
Jan 04, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
Nice
Use this for all sorts of around the shop chores - opening boxes, etc. Convenient, ergonomic, easy to use, great price. I bought several of these to stash around the shop, car, and house for convenience.
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 5 stars out of 5
R. J
St. George, UT
May 16, 2012
Pros: Pocket Clip, Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Pocket Clip
PERFECT!
Love this tool. I only wish the clip was stronger.
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Angus
New Zealand
Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Feel, Weight, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip
Nice Knife
Great knife for what it is. The only real con with this knife is its excessively strong pocket clip, I would go as far to say that it is more of a money clip. Another minor issue I had was with the locking mechanism, its a rather awkward liner lock (framelock?) because of its inset nature with the scale, if it protruded another mm it would be a more efficient lock and it would be significantly easier to operate one-handedly. Another thing that I found interesting is that the blade it comes with is twice as thick as that found on a standard utility cutter.
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Thomas Söd..
Sweden
Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Ease of Opening, None
Cons: Lock Type, Overall Quality, Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening
I like this little lock razor cutter
I recomend People to buy this razor cutter it locks and I just likes it is a good utilytiknife but i shop from a Phone and I cant find replesmentblades mayby you at knife center can help me to find the blades i would be very happy if you could do that for me.
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Luis
Oakland, Ca
Feb 19, 2018
Pros: Lock Ease of Use, Ease of Opening, Pocket Clip
Cons: None
It's great at what it is designed for
The blade comes razor sharp out of the box. Easy to open with a generous clip. Great knife to break down boxes and odds and ends around work or the home.
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Emsmedic1
Flushing NY
May 27, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Weight, Blade Material, Lock Type
Cons: None
Very Nice!!
Only complaint I have is the little screw that needs a screw driver to take off when changing the blade. If they could redesign that to not need a screw driver that would be perfect
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dylan
San Luis Obispo, CA
Dec 05, 2011
Pros: Lock Type, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, Ease of Opening, Handle Feel, Weight, Lock Ease of Use, Overall Quality
Cons: Pocket Clip, None
Great Everyday Knife
I use this knife everyday. I keep it in the "5th pocket" in my blue jeans. The blades it uses are thicker than the typical utility knife blades (uses the contractor grade). Pros: 1) It is very compact and the design includes only what you need. 2) If the knife gets dull you can just switch it around to use the other side. 3) If you travel a lot, you can leave the blades at home and buy some at any hardware store whenever you land for $2. 4) Locking feature holds and releases very well. Cons: 1) The belt clip is too stiff and deems very difficult to clip on and off stuff. However if you really need it to stay it would. 2) The belt clip actually broke on the second day of use (however I was trying to stretch it out a bit for easier use). The stainless steel for the clip is way to hard. 3) The screw is easy enough to operate, but does not accept quarters to loosen (must use a screwdriver). Honestly this one doesn't really bother me. I just wish they made it with a clip mechanism of some sort. All in all, I have owned many knives. Whether you get an expensive knife or some throw away tool, this Gerber would be my first choice when walking out the door. It is small, well built, has a very well built locking mechanism and body, offers somewhat easy blade changes, and is a fantastic every day use tool. Great buy.
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 4 stars out of 5
Komodo33
arvika. sweden
Sep 21, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Pocket Clip, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Handle Feel, Ease of Opening
moneyclip/utilityblade
i use it as a moneyclip most of the time, rest of the time it is just a convinient way to carry a very sharp allround blade
Gerber Exchange-A-Blade EAB Folding Knife 1.7" Utility Blade, Money Clip, Stainless Steel Handle
rated 3 stars out of 5
Bob S.
Washington DC
May 21, 2018
Pros: Pocket Clip, Handle Feel, Blade Material, Handle Material, Sheath, Ease of Opening, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Lock Type, Lock Ease of Use, None
Liner lock is way to tight!
After reading all of the reviews and seeing how this knife looks I was so excited. However, when I received it today I could barely close the knife, because the liner lock is crazy stong! I don’t know if I just got a bad one, or if I just need to break it in a lot, but I’ve never felt a liner lock this strong. The liner lock is literally digging into my thumb as I close it. Not too happy about that.