Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath

KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheathrated 4.7219999999999995 stars out of 5 (18 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11 inch Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath

 

Price: $57.95

Save $19.35 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
David
WV
Nov 14, 2019
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Great general purpose belt knife

I keep things simple, so I carry one knife. I pick one that comes closest to doing it all. This Kabar Cutlass is an excellent choice for the money. For under $60 it does everything a higher end knife will do. It is well balanced, with a belly-forward feel that you need to clear brush. It is long enough to serve as a short machete, but short enough for a powerful, accurate and quick thrust if you need to defend yourself. This is a good, tough tool. I have baton'd thousands of kindlings with this Cutlass and the handle is still tight, the steel spine has not suffered indentations. Easier to sharpen than a 1095 steel. Holds edge well. It also digs very well, important when you want to dig a quick cathole. The clods stay centered on the flat of the blade, you flip them away easily. You can't go wrong with this cutlass. I invested in a kydex sheath that cost more than the knife but this knife is worth it.
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Samuel Onofri
Italy, Rome
Apr 28, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Great!

The Kabar Cutlass is a perfect tool for survival and camp. His chopping power is excellent and his size too (not too long nether too short). Moreover the shape is grate to bit on for cutting smal pieces of wood from a bigger one (with kukri this operation is more difficult).The Kabar Cutlass is a strong and utility knife. One of the strengths of the knife is the handle made ​​of excellent material and the best shape to cut. A tip: when you cut beating, tighten the little finger and the ring and let the other fingers softer, and .... put the safety lanyard!
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
1
Haverhill, MA
Apr 29, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

knife

got the knife to split wood when camping and works excellent . the knife clean up well i am happy with it
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
C.R.
Southern AZ
May 12, 2018
Pros: Materials, Finish, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness, Blade Material, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

I wish I had more stuff to chop

I've had this knife for a few years now and it's awesome. I've used it on my property for general maintenance work and it has performed exceptionally, chopping up mesquites and willows and trimming branches of all kinds of trees. Comfortable to use for extended periods and the blade stays sharp for a long time and is easy to sharpen when needed. The coating has held up well and after seasons of use and the blade is still in excellent condition even with the hard use it gets. My only complaint is the factory sheath isn't that great and it isn't able to be set up for left hand carry, but I like this knife so much I had a custom kydex sheath made for it.
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Daniel
Greenville, South Carolina
Jul 02, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness

Great knife. Excellent service.

Love the blade! Well-balanced, fits easily in the hand in the handle offers a an excellent purchase. My only disappointment was the case, and would personally have preferred hey heavy duty nylon over leather. Ever although I'm very please with the quality of the blade and the quality of the service, having received the blade only a few days after placing the order. I will definitely deal with Knife Center again!!
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Bob B
San Antonio, TX
Feb 02, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

A Very, Very Good Machete

There are a lot of cedar trees in the Hill Country of South Texas. A lot of live oak, too. You are constantly trimming, cutting off suckers, or cutting off the branches of larger limbs that you lopped off with your chain saw. This is the best machete I have ever used and I have used many. The weight is perfect, the handle material is soft but firm. Put a leather cord on it for safety and you are ready to work. I love it. Can you tell?
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
T. El
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Mar 25, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joel F
Idaho
Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Hunting Knife

I bought this knife for elk hunting. It may seem a bit much for a skinning knife but it actually is the best tool for the job! It has a well rounded section for skinning, plenty of weight and length for chopping bone in half, and would make an ideal self defense knife if a wolf attacked. Can't say enough about what an excellent elk hunting knife this is!!!
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Whelenshooter
Juneau, Alaska
Jul 21, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Fantastic Machete!

This is the best cutting machete I've ever used! It cuts far better than my 24 inch Tramontina. The K-Bar Cutless machete has a relatively short, thick blade compared to other machetes. It came from the factory with an edge sharp enough to shave the hair off my arm. After clearing a patch of alder in my back yard, it was still sharp enough to shave my arm! It is made of very good steel and it holds an edge well. I used this machete to split some firewood, and it batons wonderfully well. The sheath isn't bad. It is well made, but it requires two hands to get it in and out of the sheath. If you don't use the upper snap you might be able to get the machete in and out of the sheath with one hand, but it would be likely to fall out of the sheath when walking in the woods. I wish Ka-Bar would offer an aftermarket Kydex sheath for this machete. I would buy one. I don't think it would be a good idea for a Kydex sheath to be standard equipment because it would raise the price of the machete too much. It is already more expensive than most machetes, but it is worth every penny! The handle of the Ka-Bar Cutless Machete is extremely comfortable.
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stevil
Idaho
Jan 14, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Great chopper!

Using this cutlass extensively for clearing camp areas and chopping small diameter wood for constructing impromptu shelters for survival school. This has been my favorite large camp knife. It's grip will not allow the tool to slip from your hands and is comfortable to use for extensive periods. A kydex sheath would top this product off nicely.
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Gene
Cornville AZ.
Sep 13, 2010
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None
As always with Ka Bar good practical quality for the price. I use this while hunting to hack through the Cat Claw and Mesquite. Excellent camp tool around the camp fire or on the four wheeler. The sheath has a belt loop and "D" ring at the end which makes it easy packing on the hip and strapped to the leg.The only complaint is it's made in Taiwan,no complaints about the quality or price,it should be made in the USA. It's sharp from the get go, might even buy one more for the pick up.Happy hacking
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
Alabama
Apr 18, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

KaBar Cutlass Machete

I purchased this cutter back in the Winter and now that it's gotten nice outside, decided I'd clear up some mess around the backyard. GOOD GRIEF! This thing couldn't wait to get of the box to do its work. I thought I'd use it on some of the smaller woody vegetation which I did, but this thing has the heft and edge to go through tree LIMBS! Ok, small limbs, 1" and smaller. The traditional long machete would still be more suited for whacking through honey suckle vines and the sort, but if you don't have much, this KaBar will handle it just fine.
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Flm7672
Sabah, MALAYSIA
Sep 24, 2009
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

My Favourite Machete Ever!

i just pick-up this machete today from post office (razor sharp out of the box!)and i trying cutting the wood behind my house, i was surprise, its so effective for cutting job even for chopping and batoning. i think this is my favorite machete ever...
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Buffalorider
Columbus Ohio
May 31, 2014
Pros: Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Small machete, or big knife?

I bought the kabar cutless machete about two years ago and have used it for chopping down saplings and clearing away brush. It does a great job at both and the size makes it easy to pack in my gear. It came sharp out of the box, I enjoy slicing through bottles of water with it for fun lol. I imagine it would be a great weapon to defend yourself with as well, one good hack could possible take a limb off or at least come close to it. My favorite part about the cutlass machete (as with all kabars) is the traditional handle that so many kabars use, I don't know too many other things that fit into my hand with that same kind of comfort. As others have mentioned the sheath is pretty bad, I sliced mine down the seam on accident my first day of using it. It has two buttons but you only need to undo one to pull it out which makes me wonder what the purpose of the second one is. Considering that the shape of the blade can be tricky to make a sheath that fits well and the fact that the machete itself is so nice for the price, I think it still earns five stars.
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Susan
Perth, Australia
Dec 12, 2010
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Nice knife.

I bought one of these and used it a few times while camping to clear the ground and chop light stuff and I was very happy with it. But then I used it at my mother's house to clear up some bushes. After about 2 chops, there was a 'zing!' and a piece of blade flew off. I wasn't very happy. Having a close look at the blade, you could see the black coating had penetrated into the crack, so obviously it was a manufacturing fault. I contacted Ka-Bar and they sent a new knife out to me straight away! I'm very happy now! I would certainly recommend not only the knife itself, but also Ka-Bar for their friendly and prompt service.
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Foxx
Orlando, FL
Aug 19, 2010
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Great knife/short machete

Excellent for camp knife. I love this thing! It's thick almost all the way down, there's about a 1" hollow grind down to the razor sharp edge. That gives it great weight. I'm glad it's not a full flat grind, then it would be too light. The weight is perfect. Mine is not ground perfectly, the edge is off nearing the tip. But, still sharp and effective. Great knife for the price. I would love to have a Kydex sheath, the existing sheath is just okay. I put some rubber O-rings on the handle, it's pretty fat but comfortable. The coating is a bit too textured, collects dirt, but seems sturdy.
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Michael
NJ
Feb 18, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None

Good Multi-Purpose Machete

This is a good blade buy for general use. It can easily get through brush, it's lightweight and the handle material will not slip even when you hand is wet. The only reason i gave this blade a 4 and not a 5 rating was because of the blade sharpness. It really took me a while, using multiple techniques, to get the blade razor sharp.
KA-BAR 1248 Cutlass Machete Fixed 11" Black Blade, Kraton G Handle, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
Storockov
Toronto CA
Feb 21, 2012
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Finish
Is not sharp enough Is not long enough in torny bush