Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1251 Short USA Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath

KA-BAR 1251 Short USA Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheathrated 4.6 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1251 Short USA Fighting Knife 5-1/4 inch Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath

 

Price: $84.95

Save $28.49 (25%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1251 Short USA Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Yankee
Florida
Feb 03, 2011
Pros: Handle Material, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Good Buy

All pros ... no cons. What I wanted.
KA-BAR 1251 Short USA Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Clayton
Minneapolis
Jan 02, 2017
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Stout, Durable, and Strong little KA-BAR

This little 5" inch KA-BAR knife is so cool; for it's small compact size it is very solid just like the larger 7" inch blade model / style KA-BAR! This little 5" inch KA-BAR is my EDC fixed blade for choice. This little solid, strong, tough, durable KA-BAR will be a very wise choice for taking with you on hikes in the woods, or in the mountains; fishing, camping and other outdoor activities will be a great using this little 5" KA-BAR knife, and to have as a self defense weapon as well. This little 5" inch KA-BAR will definitely be solid enough to deal with any threat. Overall this is a well built, durable, solid little 5" inch KA-BAR knife that you will be pleased with! The blade will cut paper, rope, straps, or other things well and clean, but the blade could be sharpened sharper to the point where it is "touch your skin, and brush it, and you will be cut sharp." Speaking on the terms of this knife just coming out of the box sharp... it will cut well, but could it be sharper... yes! Out of the box though this knife will cut. A GREAT purchase for a great little 5" inch KA-BAR knife that will deliver the business. This knife is strong! I am very pleased and very satisfied and impressed when I grip this knife in my fist!
KA-BAR 1251 Short USA Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Blep*
Oct 07, 2011
Pros: Overall Quality
Cons: None

awsome

thx
KA-BAR 1251 Short USA Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Katy M
California
Jan 06, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

This was the perfect gift. My boyfriend loves it!

The knife is the perfect size and has a great appearance. I bought it for my boyfriend for Christmas and loves it. He actually wears it daily on his belt and has gotten a lot of positive feedback from others. It's mostly comments about how much they like it and wanting to know exactly where he got it from. Thanks guys!!
KA-BAR 1251 Short USA Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Psycho646
La Plata MD
Jan 02, 2012
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Best knife I own

Great utility/camping knife. It feels great in the hand with either standard or reverse grip. I got mine today and it already outperforms most of my knives. I am going to EDC this knife and after today I think the idea isn't so far fetched. In public I haven't had anyone gasp when I took it out to show my friends or to open things. Very high quality knife in my opinion.
KA-BAR 1251 Short USA Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Sky1950
Texas
Feb 11, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Perfect

Maintains the original balance and quality of the 7" version I used in the service 40 years ago... great camping knife
KA-BAR 1251 Short USA Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
D. Chavez
Rio Grande valley, TX
Aug 04, 2013
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Bare bones, but still the best.

What does one say about the classic KA-BAR, that hasn't already been said? It's cheap as far as fixed blades go, it has no frills or little aesthetic improvements. The blade steel is great, the handle is comfortable, it slices like a dream. These are all long understood attributes of a KA-BAR. I don't really have anything to add except that my first one came with a pitiful grind from the tip to about 3 cm down the blade. I sent it back and the new one is perfect. Buy this knife! At this price you cannot lose!
KA-BAR 1251 Short USA Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jim
Australia
Nov 24, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None
Handle a bit small for my liking, but pretty sharp out of the box. Not sure about edge holding but I suppose with more use I will find out!
KA-BAR 1251 Short USA Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Jt
Auckland NZ
Mar 22, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Does everything it says it would and more

Knife was shipped the day after I ordered and I got it in less than a week. Impressive since I'm in New Zealand ordering from the States. I've run the blade through the motions of cutting food and opening cans and it's performed really well. Everyone I've shown it too has been really impressed with it. Only thing preventing it from getting a 5 is the fact that it wasn't as sharp as I wanted. A little work on a diamond stone fixed that right up.
KA-BAR 1251 Short USA Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Leather Handles, Leather Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
James E
Texas
Feb 02, 2016
Pros: Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: Finish, None

Not grind right from the factory

I just expected better