Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1258 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath

KA-BAR 1258 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheathrated 4.600 stars out of 5 (10 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1258 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4 inch Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath

 

Price: $62.95

Save $21.71 (26%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1258 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Alex
Missouri
Feb 20, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Overall great knife very happy with it

Overall a good knife was smaller then I expected with is fine because I still liked the quality and build came nice and sharp I am enjoying the knife and will for many more years
KA-BAR 1258 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Tom
Austin, Texas
Mar 15, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Blade Sharpness, Finish

Strong and compact

I've purchased this knife as an all around tool for camping and around the house. The thickness of the blade gives it substance and a great feel. It was not sharp out of the box, and the point as very dull. After filing down the top guard level with the blade, and giving it a few passes with a sharpeninig stone, it has turn out to be one of my best knife ever. My father had carried a KA-Bar during WWII and always had one around the house. Even if this knife had cost 3 times the amount, it is worth it. The Kydex sheath is very durable and light weight. It is a perfect fit to this knife. The only suggestion for this knife would be to have it sharper out of the box.
KA-BAR 1258 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Shifty
Kobe, JP
Oct 12, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

I'm considering buying a second one!

This blade is PERFECTLY sized as a utility knife. And the Kydex sheath is equally as user-friendly and durable. That being said, it's actually a bit smaller then you'd imagine it to be. And while the handle fits me perfectly I'd imagine that if you have larger hands it may not be as easy to use. (the handle material is quite comfortable though.) It's extremely durable and doesn't seem like it'll break easily. The blade will also hold an edge very well. Mostly because it's 1095 high carbon steel, but the grind angles are perfect for both edge retention and sharpness. It's also surprisingly light. Making it very easy to carry around. It's small enough to be concealed but large enough to do just about any task. (short of what an axe would do.) It's well worth the price. Particularly the +$4.00 to get a Kydex sheath instead of a leather one.
KA-BAR 1258 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Knife Dude
PA
Dec 29, 2010
Pros: Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Great Knife

someone posted a review and said that this knife was a big disappointment. they said it was too small and the handle was also too small. how can you say something like that when it is called "KaBar Short USMC" and they also tell you it is 5 1/4 inch blade. did you not read that? giving this a 1 out of 5 is ridiculous.
KA-BAR 1258 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Andre Mb
Brazil
Nov 29, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Great blade from Ka-Bar and Knifecenter!
KA-BAR 1258 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joffa
Sugar Ridge, OH
Jan 09, 2010
Pros: Materials, Blade Sharpness, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Great classic knife

This is a great knife. The size is perfect for all sorts of jobs around the campsite or at home. The blade is very strong and withstands hard use even that bordering on abuse. I see no need for the large 7 inch blade unless you are trying to kill a bear or in the military and may need to use it in hand to hand combat.
KA-BAR 1258 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Jova
Sugar Ridge, Ohio
Feb 08, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

best utility knife for the price

I use this knife for about every thing except filleting fish. Very tough and sturdy. Might be nice to have a lanyard hole but otherwise a great knife.
KA-BAR 1258 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
J.D.
owego n.y.
Jul 28, 2012
Pros: Blade Material, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Weight, Materials, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

ka-bar short fighting knife

the knife is well made as is the full size green handled one i have.the knife could have been a bit sharper but is sharp enough.i would tell someone to buy it if they asked me.
KA-BAR 1258 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Brent
dallas Tx
Feb 09, 2013
Pros: Finish, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Blade Sharpness, Weight, Blade Material, None
Cons: Materials, Handle Material

KA-BAR short plain edge w/kydex sheath

I hunt,fish,camp,hike,climb, and consider myself to be an extreme outdoorsman that requires my equipment to handle extreme conditions(weather/utility),the only thing I downside attribute I say about this knife is the size of the handle, concerns about my hand slipping,compared my gerber Bg ultimate fixed blade approximately the same blade length and price,it makes the KA-BAR 1258 look like a toy,the size/width/ handle is a better fit than the 1258,though the overall quality and durability of the KA-BAR 1258 is fire superior,my Gerber has taken a lot of abuse,still performs fine, except for the piece of ***** sheath,I should have gone with the leather on the KA-BAR and found a new sheath for my Gerber. the only thing I would change is the length of the handle, other than that,its perfect for what i Need in knife THANKS, BRENT
KA-BAR 1258 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Plain Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 2 stars out of 5
Ricky
pa
Jul 29, 2009
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Handle Material, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Weight, None

Skip This One

Let me say that I love Ka Bar products. I have two 7” Ka Bar fighters and two Ka Bar Beckers, the 7” and 9”. Hands down the best knife values on the planet. The Ka Bar fighters are great for chores, hiking and self defense. The Beckers are heavier and are more chores minded but can serve as great hikers and defense blades if needed. The 5” Ka Bar was a big disappointment. Not in terms of quality but in size and scale. The handle is way smaller (in width and length) than on the 7” in knife. The blade just seems too small. The entire knife looks more like a collectable replica of the original than a real working knife. Skip this one and go to the tried and true 7”.