Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1259 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath

KA-BAR 1259 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheathrated 4.727 stars out of 5 (11 reviews)
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1259 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4 inch Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath

 

Price: $62.95

Save $21.71 (26%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1259 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joel
Baytown, TX
Jun 11, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Love this little knife.
KA-BAR 1259 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dave
CA
Apr 17, 2013
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Materials, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Perfect emergency backpack knife for the wife

Great quality, great materials, really can't best this classic fixed blade. I have the full-sized KA-BAR. Got this smaller, easier to handle version for her smaller hands.
KA-BAR 1259 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Skinnypit
San Antonio Texas
Apr 21, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

EXCELLENT

This knife is a perfect utility tool. Its semi serrated edge gives it extra cutting bite. I've only had it a short time but it appears to be durable and sturdy and designed to stay sharp for a long period of time.
KA-BAR 1259 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joel
Baytown, TX
May 09, 2011
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
Love this knife, I gave the first one to my son. I bought another for myself.
KA-BAR 1259 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Stevenl
Long Beach, CA
Jul 07, 2010
Pros: Blade Material, Finish, Handle Material, Weight, Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, None
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard

Great ka bar

The Handle grip feels really good. It is really light weight. I opened the package to see a really good looking Knife. The only draw back was the kydex sheath for the short version.Didn't like the double snaps on it.
KA-BAR 1259 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe
Electra, Texas
Dec 28, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Outstanding knife

Outstanding knife for hunting or just general use. It will last a lifetime with proper care.
KA-BAR 1259 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Paul Th
Tulsa, OK
Sep 29, 2011
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: Blade Sharpness, None
A bit smaller than expected but a great little knife. Perfect for backup to a full size combat knife and the sheath is very secure, you really dont have to worry about the knife falling out.
KA-BAR 1259 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Joe Parker
Texas
Jul 10, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None
outstanding knife-outstanding quality
KA-BAR 1259 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Pumpjackj
Electra, Texas
Jul 15, 2009
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Outstanding review for Kabar

Outstanding knife-well built-solid product
KA-BAR 1259 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Y Mamma
Sacramento ca
Oct 06, 2010
Pros: Sheath/Scabbard, Overall Quality, Handle Material, Blade Material
Cons: Weight, None

Ka bar short version fighting knife

Smaller overall size than I originally expected. Good Ka bar quality
KA-BAR 1259 Short Fighting Knife 5-1/4" Combo Blade, Kraton G Handle, Kydex Sheath
rated 3 stars out of 5
C Mc
Pa.
Jun 18, 2009
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Finish, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Still its a K-bar

My initial response to this purchase was one of disappointment because my expectations were for so long mislead by the term 'shorty' in the name of this knife. Ive owned two full versions of this knife for over fifteen years and have been promising myself a shorty version for over eight. Well when i got this knife I was surprised and disappointed by its size as the description shorty in its name is something of a misnomer. This knife is more accurately a mini version as everything is cut down - handle circumference,blade width,finger guards. I was pleased however with the surprising heft of this little knife. The quality of workmanship is definitely up to the K-bar standards and the knife leaves no doubt that it can cut. Once I committed to keeping this knife and began maneuvers with it I became even more impressed with its balance and weight. I experienced some early forearm/hand fatigue in using this knife and have had that experience repeated in subsequent usage. I have small hands so holding onto this mini should be easy but the non-ergonomic oval of K-bar and the share 'smallness' of this handle required choking up on the knife so much that it eliminates the function of the guards and may prove a frustrating experience for those with bigger hands.