Reviews and Ratings for KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4" Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheath

KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4" Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheathrated 4.583 stars out of 5 (12 reviews)
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4 inch Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheath

 

Price: $54.95

Save $15.61 (22%) Off Retail

View Product Details
KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4" Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dustin W
Pensacola, FL.
Mar 20, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

How in the Whatchamacallit

I have spent the last week putting this vlade through hell. I cut the hood of an old dodge truck in half, cut firewood, taught my nephew how to make his own shelter to go camping this summer. I chopped through a few dozen good size oak roots and it still acts like I just pulled it out of the box for the first time. A little use marks and maintenance sharpening, but it still looks and feels new. With a handle this big I initially thought it needed a tac light or a laser sight on it but it does well without them. There is also a decreased learning curve on throwing the new heavy Warthog. But, I learned throwing the Marine issued Ka-Bars about two decades ago.
KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4" Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Js
Georgia
Jun 15, 2020
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

Unique Design, Capable Knife

Used it for carving a single piece wooden cross out of a branch first thing, it was awesome and still cut nice after hours of shaving wood. The hook on the handle works great for me for chopping. Love the wide blade it’s easy to leverage. Sheath is great for the price and a dangler! One of my favorites now. Honestly this fits the bill for all my prospective outdoors and general cutting needs but let’s not tell anyone that so I can still buy knives haha. Oh and the handle, thought it would be crappy but it’s functional and rugged so no complaints there either.
KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4" Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Mark L
New Jersey
Apr 07, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

A Knife made for a Marine.

My brother a Sgt. in the marine corp swears by this knife as being unbreakable, it was said to be able to dig, pry, throw and pierce through tough protective material and not show an wear or tear. I had the pleasure of handling this knife from KA-BAR and it is great in feel and weight balance. i sharpened it for my brother and told him this knife sharps very quickly and he said it holds a sharp edge for a long time through mush abuse. The blade is also nice and thick and run all the way down the handle. Also the hand grip is so nice and comfortable to help in wielding this enemy silencer. If you have to go to Combat areas you would be wise to have this KA-BAR by your side or better yet in your hand. Great knife worth every penny. So you are aware there are different versions of the handle on the warthog, in the picture the handle rounds and curves, my brother warthog same knife by KA-BAR has that World War 2 Cammillus stacked leather look withe round flat bottom with the handle end tail visible at the bottom of the round flat bottom of the handle and his handle is the same color as the picture shown it just resembles the cammillus or old KA-BAR World War 2 stacked leather trench knife. Also my brother sheath is awesome grade durable plastic I grad and thick with a safety release, not sure if this is exclusive for military only, but it is so much better made and looking then the ugly one presented with this warthog, don't no why they would op for this crappy sheath it's a shame it does not come with the durable plastic safety release version my brother in the Marine Corp has. But all KA-BAR knives are great and it's the warthog Blade that is the same and is great the way it is. You will love this knife, you will sleep with it by your side no matter where you are. GOD BLESS the AMERICAN WARRIORS fighting for our FREEDOM!!!!!
KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4" Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dutchy Down Under
Australia Melbourne Victoria
Feb 27, 2012
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Blokes blade

This is my first knife made by Ka-Bar, and I am a fan! That wide mean blade, with that ultra tuff comfortable handle, makes this a must have blade. If you are after a nancy type bling bling thing nail clipping blade, than this is not for you! This blade just oozes character, it is sharp from the box, is light on the wrist, but just feels so great in the hand. But not all is so great! the sheath is the let down here, sure it does it's job, looks cool, but just restricts this blade for fast removal. But this blade is just perfect and really is a 10 out of 10, I am so happy with this product I even bought a BK2. Stay safe, stay sharp!
KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4" Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Dale
Mesa Arizona
Jul 14, 2020
Pros: Materials, Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Finish, Weight, Blade Material, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Handle Material, None

Beast of A Blade

This is my go to if some serious business is about to take place this blade my ar and my hk vp9 tactical keeps me ready for the apocalypse. I've owned for about 3 months. Came sharp enough to shave. I personally love the sheath. Holds an edge fine and seems easy enough to sharpen on the Arkansas stone N strop. Highly recommended. Do not recommend however as a EDC its just too big people will get scared.
KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4" Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Ringer459
Big Bear City, California
Jun 24, 2011
Pros: Materials, Handle Material, Blade Material, Finish, Weight, Overall Quality, Blade Sharpness
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

To China and Back!!

I spent the last two days prying, digging, splitting wood and cutting with this knife, and I remain impressed with K-Bars' newest version of the wart hog. As with all K-Bars' the friction coating goes quick, but the only fatigue this knife showed after fifty plus peices of wood and digging, was a bliuntness to the recurve eleading edge of the knife. It sharpened up with five minutes worth of work. good companion knife if ever there was one. Kudos to K-Bar!!!
KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4" Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 5 stars out of 5
Salvatore Criv
Poway, Ca
Jan 06, 2014
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Sheath/Scabbard, Handle Material, Blade Material, Materials, Weight, Overall Quality, Finish
Cons: None

My First KA-BAR!!

This is my first KA-BAR, and it's a monster, heavy, thick, and built to work. Also, the the blade was razor sharp out of the box and it just looks cool and impressive. I highly recommend this knife for your collection.
KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4" Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dougs
Upstate NY
Dec 24, 2015
Pros: Blade Sharpness, Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Sheath/Scabbard, None

Nice Blade

Had to have this knife. I needed an all around knife and the Warthog fit the bill. From fine cutting to chopping. Does it all. I'm a big guy so the size and weight of this knife did not frighten me in the least. It is just right. My only complaint is the sheath. A bit on the cheap side. Stitching is very weak. Would have been more comfortable with all leather or Kydex. I may end up making a replacement one myself. The knife itself is a winner... Good balance and tough as nails.
KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4" Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Kalle H
Sweden
Feb 08, 2017
Pros: Weight, Materials, Blade Sharpness
Cons: None

Overall great

KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4" Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
J. Davey
Northern Minnesota
Oct 21, 2011
Pros: Blade Material, Materials, Handle Material, Weight, Overall Quality
Cons: None

Excellent knife/meatcleaver with a point!

This is a compact chopper for sure. Nice, solid feeling. Came sharp, but I touched it up a little just to give it some extra oomph. The sheath is functional, but could be better, but that would obviously add to the price. The handle is very comfortable, and stiffer than most Kraton handles. The hardness could have been upped a couple points and still had excellent toughness. It's definitely a beast, though, and I'm very pleased with it. Excellent service by Knifecenter, too, as usual!
KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4" Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Dyess
New Mexico
Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Overall Quality, Sheath/Scabbard, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: None

Heavy Workhorse

I love the over all feel of this knife. It's weighty and nicely sized for my hand. Gripping the handle is no problem. You don't get a feel for what you order until it's hands on so I didn't know what to expect but I am loving it so far.
KA-BAR 1278 Heavy Duty Warthog 6-3/4" Plain Blade, Zytel Handles, Leather/Cordura Sheath
rated 4 stars out of 5
Rolls
Aug 09, 2013
Pros: Overall Quality, Weight, Blade Material
Cons: Handle Material, Sheath/Scabbard, None

tough steel

awesome knife. put it through all the normal camp knife tasks, it excelled. nearly a quarter inch thick is more than fat enough for batoning through small poles. i cut down six inch thick maple just to see if i could. only reason i didn't give it 5 stars is because i don't much care for the handle. i'd prefer it have the stacked leather instead.